10 Best Whey Protein Powders
Please note that we participate in affiliate marketing programs. When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn a commission. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. This comes at no additional cost to you and helps support the resources required to provide valuable content.Advertising Disclosure
Top-rated Whey Protein Powder Comparison
1
2
4
5
6
+
7
8
9
Whey protein powder: what matters
Whey protein powder is a convenient way to add complete dairy protein to a shake, smoothie, meal, or recipe. It can help fill a protein gap around resistance training or between meals, but the powder itself does not replace an adequate overall diet. Across the reviewed products, labeled servings generally provide 20–30 grams of protein, an amount that falls within the commonly cited 20–40 gram range for a high-quality protein feeding. The useful question is not simply how large the number on the front is, but whether it represents clearly identified, intact whey protein.
Start with protein identity. A clear label should say whether the product contains whey concentrate, whey isolate, hydrolysate, or a blend, rather than hiding the source in a proprietary mixture. An amino-acid profile or independent protein-identity analysis adds confidence. Headline protein can mislead when collagen or added free amino acids contribute to the total, or when the serving size changes between listings and packages. One reviewed product also called itself isolate in the marketplace title while describing itself as concentrate elsewhere, showing why the package label matters.
The strongest product-level signal is recognized independent verification. Public NSF Certified Dietary Supplements, NSF Certified for Sport, or USP Verified listings can support identity, label accuracy, contaminant controls, and manufacturing oversight. Sport-focused buyers should check the exact flavor and, where available, the batch in NSF Certified for Sport or Informed Sport records; a general “third-party tested” statement is not equivalent. A facility’s GMP certification is useful manufacturing information, but it does not certify every finished product.
Contaminant transparency is a separate question. The most useful certificate of analysis is recent, independent, and matched to the lot in the buyer’s container. It should identify the laboratory and methods and report measured results and limits for lead, cadmium, arsenic, mercury, microbiological contamination, and relevant residues. A product-level purity award or a single tested lot may provide meaningful evidence, but neither proves that every tub has the same results. Public claims without a lot number, laboratory details, methods, limits, and measurements leave important uncertainty.
Read the full formula and allergen statement. Whey is milk-derived, including isolate and hydrolysate, and neither form should be assumed safe for someone with a milk allergy. Concentrate may be less suitable for people who need low lactose; even isolate products in this set did not consistently provide independently verified lactose amounts. Look for individually named sweeteners, flavors, gums, fibers, enzymes, probiotics, collagen, and added amino acids. “Natural,” “clean,” “grass-fed,” “lactose-free,” “gluten-free,” and digestive or immune claims should be treated as claims to verify, not automatic benefits.
The supplied reviews identified recurring cautions: milk allergy is a category-wide concern, and several products also contain soy, peanut, coconut, or wheat. Lactose tolerance cannot be assumed. Sucralose, acesulfame potassium, sugar alcohols, gums, fibers, flavors, and probiotics may matter for individual tolerance. Tested athletes need exact-product sport certification rather than a general testing statement. Buyers seeking unusually stringent contaminant control should require lot-specific reports. Proposition 65 warnings, including lead or reproductive-harm warnings on some products, deserve attention even where the supplied evidence does not establish the measured amount or affected lot. No category-wide contraindication beyond these recurring allergen, tolerance, certification, and contamination concerns was identified in the supplied data.
Integrity
For whey powder, health and sustainability claims are strongest when the exact product, formula, package, and testing evidence can be matched. The reviewed scores distinguish public, product-specific verification from manufacturer statements and distinguish a useful protein serving from proof of broader health benefits.
EEvidence
Recognized independent product certification
This measures whether the exact product is publicly listed by a credible independent program for identity, label accuracy, contaminants, and manufacturing controls. High-scoring products had matching NSF or comparable public listings. Lower scores reflected facility-level GMP information, product-family certification, or manufacturer claims that could not be matched to the exact flavor, package, or product record.
Real whey protein, clearly identified
This measures whether the product identifies concentrate, isolate, hydrolysate, or a blend and supports the protein claim with an amino-acid profile or identity analysis. High scores combined clear whey forms with stronger independent evidence. Low scores included opaque or conflicting descriptions, such as a marketplace title saying isolate while the product page said concentrate, or a total protein number that included collagen.
Claims match the evidence
This measures whether muscle, recovery, digestive, immunity, grass-fed, clean, and similar claims are proportionate to the formula and available human evidence. Higher scores came from specific protein claims and restrained labeling. Lower scores reflected broad benefits that a scoop alone could not establish, unsupported sourcing or processing language, or claims that exceeded available testing and certification evidence.
Regulatory and recall track record
This measures the named brand and manufacturer’s relevant recall, warning-letter, enforcement, and traceability record. A higher score indicates no identified relevant action and clearer responsible-party information, while a lower score reflects a warning, a company-level concern, or a more limited record. The absence of a located recall is not proof of product safety or lot-level quality.
Label-to-listing traceability
This measures whether the marketplace listing, package label, serving size, formula version, lot code, and responsible company can be matched without ambiguity. High-scoring products had consistent package and public-register details. Lower scores reflected conflicting serving counts, package sizes, flavor descriptions, or formula identities. This matters because certification or testing evidence is only useful when it applies to the product actually purchased.
HHealth & Safety
Lot-specific contaminant test transparency
This measures whether a buyer can see recent independent results matched to the finished product’s lot for lead, cadmium, arsenic, mercury, microbes, and relevant residues. High-scoring examples included a public tested lot, though not always one traceable to the buyer’s tub. Low scores reflected only “third-party tested” language without a laboratory, methods, limits, lot number, or measured results.
Useful protein dose for the stated purpose
This asks whether the serving provides a meaningful amount of complete whey protein for training or recovery without inflating the headline with collagen or free amino acids. Higher-scoring products supplied roughly 24–30 grams of identified whey in a serving. Lower scores generally reflected less independent support for the label amount or a blend where the whey-only contribution was unclear.
Milk-allergen and lactose clarity
Whey is milk protein, so clear “Contains: Milk” labeling is essential, while lactose-free suitability is a separate issue. Higher-scoring products clearly disclosed milk and gave more useful dietary information. Lower-scoring or ambiguous products left lactose amounts unverified or encouraged buyers to infer that isolate is automatically lactose-free. Milk allergy and lactose intolerance should not be treated as the same condition.
Straightforward, fully disclosed formula
This measures whether the product names sweeteners, flavors, gums, fibers, enzymes, probiotics, collagen, and other additions instead of hiding them in a proprietary blend. High-scoring formulas listed a short ingredient panel with named components and no opaque protein blend. Lower-scoring formulas had incomplete accessible details, added collagen or amino acids, or included ingredients that could affect tolerance or protein interpretation.
Athlete banned-substance assurance
This measures protection against prohibited substances in sport through a recognized program such as NSF Certified for Sport or Informed Sport. High scores came from exact-product listings and, in some cases, searchable batches. Lower scores reflected a general manufacturer testing claim, a product-family listing that did not identify the flavor or lot, or no public sport-certification record. Athletes should verify the container and batch where possible.
EEcology
Environmental footprint and packaging accountability
This measures product-specific evidence about dairy sourcing, manufacturing, transport, life-cycle impact, and packaging recovery. Scores were relatively close because most products had no independently reviewed life-cycle assessment, environmental product declaration, farm certification, or recycling plan. A higher score indicates somewhat stronger sourcing or accountability information, but none of the supplied products established a complete, independently reviewed environmental case.
Full reviews

Nutricost Vanilla Whey Protein Isolate Powder 2LBS
Overview
This is a vanilla-flavored whey protein isolate powder in a 2-pound tub with 25 labeled servings. The label information available through independent retail listings identifies 30 g of protein per scoop. It is intended to be mixed with water, milk, or another beverage as a food supplement, including after exercise. The disclosed formula is short, whey protein isolate instantized with sunflower lecithin, flavoring, salt, and sucralose. That supports a clear isolate-based protein claim, although no public amino-acid analysis or finished-product protein assay was found. Thirty grams is within the 20 to 40 g high-quality protein range supported by exercise-nutrition evidence for a feeding. Public certification registers did not verify this exact product, and no current lot-specific laboratory report was publicly available.
What works
- The ingredient list identifies whey protein isolate as the protein source, without collagen or added free amino acids listed.
- The manufacturer-stated 30 g serving fits the protein range commonly used for post-exercise muscle protein synthesis.
- Ingredients are individually named, with no proprietary blend obscuring flavoring or sweetener inputs.
- Milk is appropriately apparent from the whey ingredient, which helps consumers with a milk allergy identify the central allergen.
What does not
- No NSF, USP, Informed Sport, or comparable public certification record was found for this exact product.
- No public, lot-matched report was found for heavy metals, microbes, residues, protein identity, or amino-acid content.
- California lead exposure warnings are associated with Nutricost whey isolate vanilla listings. The public material does not provide a lot-specific lead measurement.
- The flavored formula uses sucralose, and lactose-free suitability is not established by a public finished-product analysis.
Who is it for
This product suits healthy adults who want a simple vanilla whey isolate powder for convenient post-workout or between-meal protein, and who are comfortable using a sucralose-sweetened product. A 30 g labeled serving is a practical amount for many active adults after resistance exercise, provided it complements rather than replaces an adequate overall diet. The 2-pound, 25-serving format also fits someone who prefers a smaller tub before committing to a larger container. Buyers should retain the package and lot details in case they need to request product documentation.
Who is it not for
It is not appropriate for people with a milk allergy, since whey is milk-derived. People with lactose intolerance or highly sensitive digestion should not assume isolate means lactose-free, because a product-specific lactose result was not located. Tested athletes and others subject to anti-doping rules should choose a product with a publicly verifiable sport-certification record. Pregnant people, people trying to conceive, and households seeking especially conservative heavy-metal exposure control should consider the California lead warning and the absence of a public lot-specific contaminant report with a clinician or dietitian.
Integrity
The health case is strongest for the basic nutrition role, not for unusually broad performance promises. Whey isolate is clearly named, the formula does not list free amino acids that could inflate the headline protein number, and the 30 g labeled serving aligns with evidence-based per-feeding protein ranges for exercising adults. The main evidence gap is verification. Neither a recognized finished-product certification nor a public lot-specific report for metals, microbiology, or protein identity was located. A California Proposition 65 lead warning is associated with Nutricost vanilla whey isolate listings. That warning is a meaningful exposure signal, but it does not by itself disclose the dose in a given tub. Milk remains the key allergen. Environmental accountability is also limited, with no product-specific life-cycle assessment, independently verified dairy-sourcing certification, or packaging recoverability documentation located. The plastic tub offers physical protection, but the available evidence does not establish a reduced environmental footprint.

Naked Whey Vanilla Protein Powder
Overview
This is a vanilla flavored whey protein concentrate powder in a 2 pound canister with 24 servings. The listed serving is 37 g, or two scoops, intended for shakes, smoothies, baking, or use around training. The manufacturer states that each serving provides 25 g protein and 5.9 g branched-chain amino acids. Its defining quality-control fact is independently confirmed. NSF's current public Functional Foods listing identifies Vanilla Naked Whey as a 37 g, two-scoop powder product. The formula is also unusually short on the manufacturer label, grass-fed whey protein concentrate, organic coconut sugar, and natural vanilla. The manufacturer identifies it as whey concentrate rather than isolate, so it should not be treated as lactose-free.
What works
- NSF's public register currently lists Vanilla Naked Whey at the same 37 g, two-scoop serving size.
- The manufacturer fully names all three ingredients, with no proprietary blend or added free amino acids listed.
- The manufacturer states 25 g protein and 5.9 g BCAAs per serving. A 25 g high-quality protein serving falls within the 20 to 40 g range commonly used in exercise-nutrition guidance.
- Whey protein concentrate is explicitly identified, making the protein source clearer than an unspecified protein blend.
What does not
- No recent buyer-accessible, lot-matched laboratory reports were found that show measured heavy metals, microbiology, methods, and detection limits for a specific canister.
- NSF Functional Foods certification is not the same as NSF Certified for Sport. The public listing does not establish athlete-specific banned-substance screening or batch verification.
- This contains milk. Because it is whey concentrate and no lactose amount or lactose-free claim is provided, it may not suit people who need strict lactose avoidance.
- Several manufacturer statements about grass-fed whey, immunity, fat loss, heart health, and superior absorption go beyond what the product-specific certification demonstrates.
Who is it for
This product fits an adult who wants a simple vanilla whey concentrate for shakes or recipes and can consume milk. A 25 g labeled protein serving is a practical supplement to meals around resistance training or other exercise, particularly for someone who has trouble reaching daily protein targets with food alone. It also suits ingredient-focused users who prefer coconut sugar over non-nutritive sweeteners and do not require a lactose-free powder. The 2 pound canister supplies 24 listed servings.
Who is it not for
It is not appropriate for anyone with a milk allergy. People with lactose intolerance, irritable bowel symptoms triggered by dairy, or a clinical need to avoid lactose should select a product with a clearly stated lactose specification instead of assuming whey concentrate will be tolerated. Tested athletes subject to anti-doping rules should not treat the NSF Functional Foods listing as a Certified for Sport credential. Buyers who need lot-specific heavy-metal and microbiological results before use will also need a product that publishes those reports.
Integrity
The strongest health-control finding is the current NSF public listing for Vanilla Naked Whey, which confirms that this named powder is certified under NSF Certification Guideline 229 for Functional Foods. That is meaningful independent confirmation of the product identity and its certification claim. It does not provide a public, lot-by-lot certificate of analysis with numerical lead, cadmium, arsenic, mercury, or microbiological results. The formula is manufacturer-stated as whey protein concentrate, organic coconut sugar, and natural vanilla. It contains milk and is not represented as lactose-free. The brand's grass-fed, non-GMO dairy-farm, rBGH or rBST, cold-processing, and environmental statements were not backed here by a product-specific life-cycle assessment or a farm-welfare certification directory listing. FDA recall and warning-letter searches did not identify an action for this vanilla whey product. California notices located in the review concerned other Naked Whey products, including brown rice and plant-protein products, not this vanilla whey powder.

Nutricost Whey Protein Concentrate Vanilla 2LBS
Overview
This is a vanilla-flavored whey protein concentrate powder in a 2-pound container. The current product label reproduced by an independent retailer lists 25 servings, with a 36 g scoop providing 25 g protein, 130 calories, 3 g carbohydrate, 2 g fat, 3 g total sugar, and 300 mg sodium. It is intended to be mixed into a drink as a protein supplement. The protein source is specifically identified as instantized whey protein concentrate with sunflower lecithin. The short ingredient list also names natural flavors, salt, and sucralose, rather than using a proprietary blend. Nutricost states that products are independently tested by an accredited laboratory, while NSF independently lists Nutricost Manufacturing as certified to a GMP facility standard. Neither source provides a public, lot-matched finished-product contaminant report for this vanilla powder.
What works
- The labeled 25 g whey-protein serving falls within the 20 to 40 g per-serving range commonly used in exercise-protein guidance.
- The formula identifies whey protein concentrate rather than an unspecified protein blend, and does not list added free amino acids or collagen.
- Ingredients are individually named, including sunflower lecithin, flavoring, salt, and sucralose.
- Nutricost Manufacturing is independently listed by NSF for GMP facility certification covering powder manufacturing and packaging operations.
- Milk is clearly declared as the allergen, and the product is labeled gluten-free.
What does not
- The manufacturer posts a California warning that this vanilla product can expose consumers to lead. No measured lead amount, lot number, or public finished-product report is provided with that warning.
- The third-party-testing statement is a manufacturer claim. Publicly verifiable lot-specific results for metals, microbiology, and residues were not located.
- The product is not publicly listed as an exact-product NSF Certified for Sport, NSF dietary-supplement, USP Verified, or Informed Sport product.
- Whey concentrate is milk-derived and the product does not make a lactose-free claim, which matters for people with lactose intolerance or milk allergy.
- Vanilla flavor includes sucralose, which may not suit buyers avoiding non-nutritive sweeteners.
Who is it for
This product suits an adult who wants a conventional whey concentrate shake after resistance training or to help fill a protein gap in meals. Its 25 g labeled serving is a practical amount for many active adults, especially when total daily protein intake is planned across meals. It also fits buyers who prefer a short, fully named ingredient list and are comfortable with milk-derived protein, sucralose, and a flavored powder. The 2-pound container is suited to someone who wants to try a moderate supply before committing to a larger container.
Who is it not for
It is not appropriate for anyone with a milk allergy. People with lactose intolerance, dairy-triggered digestive symptoms, or a clinician-directed dairy restriction should seek a product specifically labeled for their needs, because this is whey concentrate and is not labeled lactose-free. Tested athletes, people subject to anti-doping rules, and buyers who require public batch-level contaminant documentation should choose a product with an exact-product sport certification and accessible lot reports. It also does not suit people avoiding sucralose or those concerned by the product's California lead exposure warning.
Integrity
The health picture is mixed. The label clearly identifies milk as an allergen and names the complete flavored formula. Its 25 g whey serving is consistent with an evidence-based single serving for many exercising adults. NSF independently confirms that Nutricost Manufacturing holds a GMP facility certification for powder operations, which supports manufacturing-process controls but does not certify this finished powder's contents or contaminant levels. A material safety limitation is the manufacturer's California warning for the vanilla 2-pound and 5-pound whey concentrate products, stating potential lead exposure. The brand also states that products are tested by an independent accredited laboratory, but public lot-specific reports with measured metals and microbiological results were not located. No product-specific life-cycle assessment, dairy-welfare certification, sourcing standard, or packaging recovery program was found. The container is a rigid plastic tub, but its material specification and recycled-content claims are not disclosed.

Naked Whey Isolate Protein Powder
Overview
This unflavored whey isolate powder is a 2-pound container with 28 servings. The label specifies a 32 g serving, 120 calories, 30 g protein, zero carbohydrate and two ingredients, whey protein isolate and sunflower lecithin. It is intended to be mixed into shakes, smoothies, or food to help increase dietary protein intake around training or across the day. The manufacturer publishes an amino acid panel that lists 4.576 g leucine and about 8.4 g total BCAAs per serving. That composition fits a useful protein dose for most active adults, although the amino acid results are manufacturer-published rather than a lot-specific independent report. The manufacturer also states New Zealand pasture-raised sourcing and 0.1 g lactose per serving. The product is plainly a milk product, despite an Amazon lactose-free claim.
What works
- The label clearly identifies whey protein isolate as the protein source and provides a full amino acid panel.
- A 30 g serving falls within the 20 to 40 g high-quality protein range commonly used in exercise-nutrition research.
- The formula is short and fully named, with no proprietary blend, added sweetener, flavor, collagen, or free amino acids.
- Milk is explicitly declared on the package label, which is important for household allergen screening.
What does not
- No public, lot-matched contaminant report was found for this product, including measured heavy metals and microbiological results.
- The exact whey isolate product was not found in the NSF dietary-supplement or Certified for Sport registers. NSF lists other Naked products and a separate Naked Whey product.
- The marketplace describes it as lactose free, while the manufacturer's product page states 0.1 g lactose per serving. That is a labeling clarity issue for highly lactose-sensitive buyers.
- Pasture-raised and grass-fed sourcing are manufacturer statements, without a product-specific animal-welfare certification or life-cycle assessment.
Who is it for
This fits an active adult who wants an unflavored, low-carbohydrate way to add about 30 g of dairy protein to a smoothie, oatmeal, or post-training drink. It is especially suited to people who prefer a short ingredient list and want to avoid sweeteners, flavors, gums, or a blended protein formula. Its 28-serving container is practical for regular home use. Buyers should treat the published amino acid and lactose figures as manufacturer-stated information rather than independently lot-verified results.
Who is it not for
This product is not suitable for anyone with a milk allergy, since the label declares milk and whey isolate is dairy-derived. It is also not the clearest choice for people with severe lactose intolerance, because the marketplace lactose-free wording conflicts with the manufacturer's stated 0.1 g lactose per serving. Tested athletes subject to anti-doping rules should use a product with exact-product sports certification. People seeking independently accessible batch results for lead, cadmium, arsenic, mercury, or microbes should choose a product that publishes those lot-specific reports.
Integrity
The health-positive feature is a plainly disclosed two-ingredient formula, with whey isolate and sunflower lecithin, plus a package amino acid panel rather than an opaque blend. The label declares milk. The stated 30 g protein and 4.576 g leucine content are consistent with a meaningful serving for exercise recovery, but the public evidence does not include a recent lot-specific laboratory report for contaminants or microbiology. NSF public listings show certifications for certain Naked products, including a separate Naked Whey product under its functional-food program, but not this exact isolate in the dietary-supplement or sports-testing registers reviewed. California Proposition 65 notices have involved other Naked products, including plant protein products. One 2024 brown-rice-protein notice was withdrawn in January 2026. No exact-product recall was identified. New Zealand pasture-raised sourcing is manufacturer-stated, with no public product-specific environmental assessment or packaging-recovery program found.

Nutricost Grass-Fed Whey Protein Isolate 5LBS
Overview
This is an unflavored, five-pound whey protein isolate powder for mixing into water, milk, smoothies, or recipes. The current product label transcribed by an independent product database lists a 35 g scoop with 30 g protein, 130 calories, 1 g carbohydrate, 1 g sugar, and 65 servings. It lists grass-fed whey protein isolate with sunflower lecithin as the only ingredients, and identifies milk as an allergen. Nutricost states that the powder is cold processed, rBGH-free, gluten-free, made in a GMP-compliant facility, and tested by an independent accredited laboratory. Those are manufacturer claims, not public finished-product test results. Most importantly, the manufacturer product page for this exact unflavored five-pound option carries a California Proposition 65 warning for lead exposure. No current lot-matched contaminant report or amino-acid profile was publicly provided.
What works
- The label provides a substantial 30 g protein serving, which fits the 20 to 40 g range commonly used in exercise-protein research.
- The unflavored label has a short, fully named formula of whey protein isolate and sunflower lecithin, without sweeteners, flavors, gums, or proprietary blends.
- The package label identifies milk clearly and provides concrete serving size, nutrition, directions, and package capacity information.
- The official product page identifies the unflavored five-pound variant and states that it is gluten-free and made in a GMP-compliant facility, although these remain manufacturer statements.
What does not
- The manufacturer posts a Proposition 65 warning that consumption can expose users to lead. This is a material safety disclosure, especially for pregnancy, children, and frequent use.
- Despite a third-party testing claim, no public, lot-specific certificate of analysis was found for lead, cadmium, arsenic, mercury, microbiology, or residues.
- No current public listing was found for this finished product in major independent supplement verification or sport-testing registers.
- Milk allergy is explicitly relevant, and the label does not make a lactose-free claim or quantify residual lactose.
- The whey isolate identity and 30 g protein amount are clearly labeled, but no public amino-acid analysis was found to independently confirm intact protein content or the grass-fed claim.
Who is it for
This product suits adults who want a large-format, unsweetened protein powder for smoothies, oatmeal, baking, or simple water-based shakes. Its label-stated 30 g protein serving is practical for people trying to add a meaningful amount of complete dairy protein around resistance training or across the day. It also fits users who prefer to avoid flavored powders, sugar substitutes, thickening gums, and elaborate blends. Buyers should be comfortable treating the protein amount and quality-testing statements as label and manufacturer information rather than public batch verification.
Who is it not for
It is not suitable for anyone with a milk allergy. People with lactose intolerance should be cautious because whey isolate can be lower in lactose than concentrate, but this product does not claim to be lactose-free or disclose a lactose amount. Pregnant people, people trying to conceive, children, and frequent users who want documented low heavy-metal exposure should choose a product with a recent lot-specific contaminant report, given the posted lead warning. Tested athletes should also use a sport-certified product instead.
Integrity
The central health issue is the explicit California Proposition 65 warning on the manufacturer page, which says the product can expose consumers to lead. That warning does not disclose a measured concentration, exposure calculation, tested lot, or the other contaminant results needed to assess routine use. Nutricost says it uses an independent accredited laboratory and a GMP-compliant facility, but it does not publish a lot-matched certificate showing those results for this powder. The unflavored formula is simple, with whey protein isolate and sunflower lecithin listed on the label, but it contains milk. The grass-fed, non-GMO, rBGH-free, and cold-processed statements are manufacturer claims without a publicly identified farm-welfare certification, organic certification, or amino-acid report. No product-specific life-cycle assessment, packaging-material disclosure, or independently reviewed environmental reporting was found, so the environmental effect of dairy sourcing and the plastic tub cannot be quantified.

Garden of Life Sport Whey Protein Vanilla
Overview
This is a vanilla whey protein powder in a 20-serving container. One 33 g scoop supplies 110 calories, 24 g protein, 6 g carbohydrate, 0 g added sugar, and 0.5 g fat. It is intended for mixing into a drink around training or as a convenient protein serving. The most defining fact is independently confirmed, the exact vanilla product and multiple listed lots are currently in NSF Certified for Sport's public register for U.S. sale. NSF's label identifies the protein blend as 85% whey protein isolate and 15% milk protein. The formula also lists tapioca fiber, vanilla flavor, acacia gum, sunflower lecithin, stevia, sea salt, and 2 billion CFU of Bifidobacterium lactis BL818. Garden of Life's grass-fed, Irish-farm, cold-processing, probiotic, and carbon-footprint statements remain manufacturer-stated rather than supported by a public product-specific audit.
What works
- The exact product, serving size, nutrition panel, and multiple lot numbers are publicly listed by NSF Certified for Sport.
- Its 24 g serving of complete dairy protein falls within the 20 to 40 g per-serving range commonly used in exercise-protein guidance.
- The certified label identifies an 85% whey isolate and 15% milk protein blend, rather than an opaque protein blend or added free amino acids.
- Ingredients are individually disclosed, with no proprietary blend, and the label clearly states that it contains milk.
- NSF Certified for Sport provides independent checks of label contents, prohibited substances, contaminants, and GMP controls for listed lots.
What does not
- Public lot-specific certificates of analysis with measured heavy metals, microbiology, methods, and detection limits were not available to buyers.
- Milk is clearly declared, but the product is not labeled lactose-free. Whey isolate can still be unsuitable for people with milk allergy or substantial lactose sensitivity.
- The manufacturer claims 6 g BCAAs, 4 g glutamine and glutamic acid, and immune support from the probiotic, but public evidence tied to this finished product and serving was not supplied.
- The grass-fed sourcing and claim of half the average global carbon footprint are manufacturer statements, not independently reviewed product-specific life-cycle evidence.
- Garden of Life had an FDA-posted 2017 recall of an unrelated infant liquid supplement for a potential choking hazard. FDA states this whey product was not affected.
Who is it for
This product fits adults who use whey after resistance training or to help meet daily protein targets, especially those who need a portable serving around 24 g rather than a high-calorie shake. It is particularly relevant to tested-sport participants because the exact vanilla product and listed lots can be checked in NSF Certified for Sport's public register. It also suits people who want a sweetened vanilla powder with a fully named ingredient list, zero added sugar, and no gluten or GMO claims in the NSF listing.
Who is it not for
It is not appropriate for anyone with a milk allergy, since the product explicitly contains milk. People with lactose intolerance or dairy-triggered digestive symptoms should be cautious because it does not make a lactose-free claim, even though whey isolate is the main protein. It is also a poor fit for vegans and people avoiding animal-derived foods. Buyers requiring public, batch-specific heavy-metal and microbiological reports with numerical results, laboratory methods, and detection limits will not find that level of transparency here. The sweetened, flavored formula may also not suit people seeking an unflavored single-ingredient powder.
Integrity
The central safety strength is the current NSF Certified for Sport listing for this exact vanilla powder and named lots. NSF describes this program as checking label contents, prohibited substances, unsafe contaminant levels, and manufacturing controls. The label identifies milk plainly, and the formula uses whey isolate as the main protein, with milk protein also present. The product is not lactose-free. A completed 2017 FDA recall involved a different Garden of Life infant liquid supplement and a labeling-related choking concern, not this whey powder. Garden of Life states that the dairy comes from Irish pasture-based family farms, with no added hormones or antibiotics, and that those farms produce half the average global carbon footprint. Those environmental and farm-practice claims are not matched by a public product-specific life-cycle assessment or independently accessible sourcing audit. The product is sold in a rigid powder canister, but no verified packaging-material or end-of-life recovery information was found.

LEGION Whey+ Unflavored Protein Powder
Overview
This is a 30-serving unflavored whey protein isolate powder, sold in a 1.75-pound bag. The available product record lists whey protein isolate as the sole ingredient, making it suitable for mixing into shakes, oats, or recipes without added sweeteners or flavoring. The stated serving provides about 22 to 23 g protein, depending on the label version. Independent Labdoor testing of a recent Whey+ lot found 22.5 g protein against a 22 g claim, with free amino acids below 0.01%. That result supports intact protein rather than amino-acid inflation. The same tested lot passed Labdoor's reported heavy-metal and microbiology checks. It is evidence for the Whey+ line, but the public report does not establish that the bag sold through this listing is the identical flavor, formula revision, or lot.
What works
- A recent independently published test found 22.5 g protein in a Whey+ lot labeled for 22 g, with negligible free amino acids.
- The published tested-lot report includes lead, arsenic, cadmium, mercury, total plate count, yeast and mold, and specified pathogen results.
- The unflavored product record lists whey protein isolate as the sole ingredient, without a proprietary blend, sweetener, gum, or flavor system.
- A 22 g serving of high-quality protein falls within the 20 to 40 g per-dose range commonly cited for exercise recovery and muscle protein synthesis.
- The manufacturer states that its whey uses Truly Grass Fed dairy. That ingredient program documents a 95% grass-fed diet and average 250 pasture days, with farm auditing under Ireland's Sustainable Dairy Assurance program.
What does not
- Milk remains the relevant major allergen. A lactose-free or very-low-lactose whey isolate is not appropriate for people with a milk-protein allergy.
- The public Labdoor certificate identifies a Whey+ lot, but it does not show that it is the exact unflavored bag or lot sold through this listing.
- The unflavored version was not found in the current NSF finished-product listing. No USP verification or Informed Sport batch listing was located for this exact product.
- The published contaminant certificate reports results and limits, but does not disclose analytical methods or the laboratory's accreditation scope for those assays.
- The manufacturer says product labels carry a California Proposition 65 warning. That warning alone does not establish unsafe exposure, but buyers should read the package warning and lot details.
Who is it for
This product fits an adult who wants a plain whey isolate to raise daily protein intake with minimal formulation complexity. It is especially practical for people who prefer to add their own cocoa, fruit, coffee, or cooking ingredients rather than use a pre-sweetened powder. Its approximately 22 g protein serving is a useful building block around resistance training or between meals, although total daily intake matters more than timing alone. The public lot report is also useful for a buyer who values seeing protein, heavy-metal, and microbiology results rather than relying only on the label.
Who is it not for
It is not for anyone with a milk allergy, because whey isolate is a milk-derived protein even when lactose is reduced or absent. People with severe lactose intolerance should not treat the claim as a personal tolerance guarantee and should confirm the current package details with a clinician if needed. Drug-tested athletes should use a product with a current, exact batch record in an established sport-certification program. It is also not an appropriate substitute for a varied diet, or for children, pregnancy, nursing, or medically restricted diets without individualized professional guidance.
Integrity
The strongest health evidence is a Labdoor certificate released March 6, 2026 for a Whey+ lot. It found protein slightly above the 22 g claim, free amino acids below 0.01%, and reported lead, arsenic, cadmium, and mercury below quantitation limits. It also reported low microbial counts and no detected Salmonella or Shigella in that lot. This is meaningful independent evidence, but it is not a substitute for confirming the lot printed on the purchased bag. The manufacturer links its whey source to Truly Grass Fed dairy. The ingredient program states its Irish supply is 95% grass-fed, averages 250 days on pasture, and is independently audited through Ireland's Sustainable Dairy Assurance program. That supports animal-source traceability, not a complete product environmental footprint. No product-specific life-cycle assessment, packaging-material disclosure, or end-of-life packaging program was located. Searches did not identify a current FDA recall or warning letter specific to this whey product or Legion Athletics, but FDA recall notices are not a complete lifetime enforcement record.

Wellah Vanilla Grass-Fed Whey Protein Powder
Overview
This vanilla powder is a 30-serving whey protein product intended for mixing into shakes, smoothies, or recipes. A retailer page matching this product states 20 g of protein and 100 calories per serving, and markets grass-fed whey isolate with prebiotics and probiotics. Those are manufacturer-supplied product claims, not independently verified finished-product results. Public product information is not fully consistent. Wellah’s current 30-serving grass-fed whey page describes 20 g protein with natural flavors, Himalayan salt, and stevia, while also displaying a California lead warning. No current lot-matched contaminant report, amino-acid analysis, or public sports-testing certification was located. NSF also publicly states that Wellah had no NSF-certified product and was not authorized to make NSF certification claims in advertising.
What works
- The stated 20 g protein serving fits the lower end of the 20 to 40 g range commonly used in exercise-nutrition guidance.
- The product is specifically identified as whey protein isolate rather than an opaque protein blend.
- A 30-serving tub offers a defined one-month daily-use format.
- Milk is identified as an allergen in the marketplace record.
What does not
- No public lot-specific certificate of analysis was located for lead, other heavy metals, microbiology, or residues.
- Wellah’s own product page carries a California warning for potential lead exposure, without publishing the measured amount or lot results.
- NSF issued a public notice that Wellah was not authorized to claim NSF certification for its whey product advertising.
- Public descriptions conflict on formula details, including whether prebiotics and probiotics are present and how the ingredient list is presented.
- No exact-product NSF Certified for Sport, Informed Sport, or USP verification was located.
Who is it for
This product is most suited to an adult who wants a vanilla whey isolate powder in a 30-serving format and treats it as a convenient way to add a manufacturer-stated 20 g protein serving to an otherwise adequate diet. That quantity fits the lower end of evidence-based per-serving guidance for many healthy, exercising adults. It is better suited to buyers who can tolerate dairy and who do not need documented batch testing, sports certification, or a fully published amino-acid profile.
Who is it not for
It is not suited to people with a milk allergy, dairy avoidance, or strict lactose sensitivity, because whey comes from milk and the available public descriptions do not provide a verified lactose amount. Competitive athletes and other drug-tested users should avoid relying on it for banned-substance assurance because no exact-product sports certification was located. It is also a poor fit for people who require lot-level heavy-metal and microbiological reports, especially given the lead warning displayed on Wellah’s own product page.
Integrity
The main health issue is evidence transparency. A California lead warning appears on Wellah’s public grass-fed whey page, but there is no linked, current lot-specific report showing the amount of lead, testing method, laboratory, or results for other contaminants. The product’s 20 g protein claim is compatible with established exercise-nutrition serving guidance, but its actual protein integrity has not been independently documented with a public amino-acid analysis. Certification claims require particular caution. NSF published a notice stating that Wellah did not have an NSF-certified product and was not authorized to make NSF certification claims in whey advertising. Public formula descriptions also vary, making it difficult to match a purchased tub to a disclosed formula. No product-specific environmental life-cycle assessment, independently verified grass-fed certification, or packaging recovery information was found.

Sports Research Whey Protein Isolate - Dutch Chocolate
Overview
This is a Dutch chocolate whey protein isolate powder sold in a 2.26-pound pouch with 25 stated servings. It is intended to be mixed into drinks, smoothies, or recipes to add protein around training or as a convenient protein food. The seller's product description states 25 grams of protein per scoop, less than 1 gram of sugar, vitamin D, added L-leucine, and 6.9 grams of BCAAs. The protein source is identified as whey isolate rather than an unnamed protein blend. A publicly archived label for a larger, earlier Dutch Chocolate version also identifies whey isolate, 25 grams of protein, 3 grams of MCT powder, and 1,000 mg L-leucine. That label does not cleanly match this pouch's serving count, so it cannot verify the current unit's complete formula. Public registers did not verify this exact product's claimed NSF or Informed Sport status.
What works
- The stated 25-gram protein serving falls within the 20 to 40 gram range commonly used in exercise-protein research.
- Whey protein isolate is explicitly identified, rather than hidden behind a proprietary protein blend.
- The available label discloses added ingredients individually, including cocoa, sodium caseinate, flavoring, gums, lecithin, and sweeteners.
- Milk is identified as an allergen, and the seller describes the current product as gluten-free and soy-free.
What does not
- The exact product could not be verified in the public NSF Certified for Sport or Informed Sport registers, despite certification language in the marketplace record.
- No recent, lot-matched public certificate of analysis was found for heavy metals, microbiology, or residues.
- Formula traceability is limited. An archived label describes a 56-serving version with sucralose and acesulfame potassium, while the current 25-serving retailer description says no artificial sweeteners.
- It contains milk, and the available label also identifies coconut. Lactose content is not quantified, so lactose-free suitability is unproven.
Who is it for
This product fits an adult who uses whey as a practical way to add about 25 grams of protein after resistance training or between meals, can consume milk ingredients, and prefers a flavored powder instead of plain unflavored isolate. The 25-serving pouch is also better suited to someone trying a relatively short supply before committing to a larger bag. It is most appropriate when the powder fills a gap in total dietary protein, rather than being treated as a substitute for a balanced diet or training program.
Who is it not for
It is not appropriate for people with a milk allergy, and those avoiding coconut should confirm the package allergen statement before use. People with lactose intolerance should not assume an isolate is lactose-free because this product does not provide a lactose amount. Tested athletes, military personnel, and others subject to anti-doping rules should use extra caution because the product's current public certification status could not be confirmed. People taking levodopa or medicines affected by calcium, iron, or high-protein meals should ask a pharmacist about timing and suitability.
Integrity
The main health-positive feature is a stated 25-gram whey isolate serving, which is a useful single-meal amount for many exercising adults. Human exercise-nutrition guidance commonly places practical high-quality protein servings around 20 to 40 grams. The formula is not a collagen or amino-acid blend presented as protein. However, the stated protein content has not been independently verified through a publicly available finished-product analysis. The available label identifies milk and coconut-related ingredients, and older label information lists sucralose and acesulfame potassium. Public product-version differences make the physical package the controlling source for ingredients and allergens. No public lot-specific contaminant reports were located. No relevant FDA recall or warning letter for this product was found in the searches performed. Environmental accountability is limited, with no product-specific life-cycle report, verified dairy-welfare certification, or packaging recoverability information located for this pouch.

Instant Whey Protein Powder Concentrate
Overview
This is a 2 pound pouch of unflavored instant whey powder for mixing into shakes, smoothies, coffee, snacks, and baking. The brand directs users to mix three scoops daily. Its own product page describes a two-ingredient whey protein concentrate formula, not an isolate formula. The reported serving is 32 g, providing 26 g protein and 5.8 g naturally occurring branched-chain amino acids, according to retailer-captured label data and product descriptions. That protein amount falls inside the 20 to 40 g high-quality-protein serving range commonly cited for exercise recovery. However, the marketplace title identifies the product as whey isolate, while the manufacturer and other sellers identify it as concentrate. No public, lot-specific certificate of analysis was located for protein identity, heavy metals, microbes, or other contaminants.
What works
- The stated 26 g protein serving is within the evidence-based 20 to 40 g range commonly used after exercise.
- The manufacturer describes an unflavored, two-ingredient concentrate formula, without a proprietary blend.
- The stated 5.8 g branched-chain amino acids appear to be naturally present in the whey rather than separately added.
- The powder format is intended for flexible use in drinks and recipes, according to the manufacturer.
What does not
- The product is described as whey isolate in the marketplace title but whey concentrate on the manufacturer page, which creates a material identity and traceability conflict.
- The manufacturer says it uses third-party testing, but it does not publish recent finished-product, lot-matched reports with results for metals and microbiology.
- No current public listing was located in NSF Certified for Sport, NSF Certified Dietary Supplements, USP Verified, or Informed Sport registers for this product.
- Lactose quantity and a clearly captured milk-allergen statement were not available in the reviewed product materials. Whey is milk-derived and is not appropriate for milk allergy.
- No product-specific environmental report, dairy-sourcing certification, or packaging recoverability information was located.
Who is it for
This product suits an adult who wants an unflavored whey powder for occasional or routine shakes, oatmeal, smoothies, coffee, or baking, and who tolerates dairy. Its stated 26 g serving is practical for someone trying to add a substantial amount of complete protein around resistance training or to help meet daily food protein targets. It also fits buyers who prefer to flavor a plain powder themselves and accept whey concentrate rather than requiring a clearly verified isolate.
Who is it not for
It is not suited to anyone with a milk allergy, because whey is milk-derived. People with lactose intolerance should be cautious because the verified manufacturer description identifies this product as concentrate, and no lactose amount or lactose-free claim was located. Tested athletes and others subject to anti-doping rules should use a product with publicly verifiable sport certification. It is also a poor fit for buyers who require lot-specific heavy-metal and microbiological reports, or who need an unambiguous isolate product.
Integrity
The manufacturer says its products are third-party tested for heavy metals and microorganisms, but it does not provide public certificates tied to a finished-product lot. That means the claim cannot verify the actual pouch in hand, the laboratory methods, detection limits, or measured contaminant results. No public certification record was located for this product in the main independent supplement and sport-testing programs reviewed. The product is dairy-derived whey concentrate according to the manufacturer, despite the marketplace title calling it isolate. Milk-allergic households should avoid it, and lactose-sensitive users should not infer that it is lactose-free. FDA recall and warning-letter resources were reviewed without locating a relevant product-specific action, though public database searches cannot establish absence of all historical issues. No product-specific life-cycle assessment, certified dairy-sourcing claim, or packaging recovery guidance was found.




















