10 Best Vegan Protein Powders
Please note that we participate in affiliate marketing programs. When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn a commission. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. This comes at no additional cost to you and helps support the resources required to provide valuable content.Advertising Disclosure
Top-rated Vegan Protein Powder Comparison
1
2
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
Overview
Vegan protein powder is a concentrated way to add plant protein to shakes, smoothies, oats, baking, or other foods. It can help fill a dietary protein gap, but “vegan” alone says little about protein quality, contamination controls, digestibility, or whether the label can be trusted. A useful product starts with a clearly stated serving size and a meaningful protein amount. In this set, labeled servings range from moderate amounts such as 17–20 grams to larger servings of 27–30 grams. A large headline number is not automatically better: some products use very large scoops, mass-gainer servings, or blends with substantial carbohydrate and calorie loads.
Look first at the Nutrition Facts or Supplement Facts panel and the complete ingredient list. Protein from pea, rice, pumpkin, sunflower, hemp, fava, mung bean, or other plants can be useful, but a “complete protein” or “BCAA” claim does not replace disclosed amino-acid amounts, especially leucine, or information about digestibility. Protein research supports pea protein as a useful option alongside resistance training when total dietary protein is adequate, but evidence for an ingredient or category does not prove that a particular finished product contains its stated amount or produces every advertised outcome.
Formula simplicity and tolerance also matter. Products vary from one listed ingredient to blends containing inulin, psyllium, gums, sugar alcohols, MCT powder, enzymes, probiotics, botanicals, sweeteners, and added vitamins or minerals. These additions may be useful to some buyers but can make a powder harder to tolerate or harder to evaluate. Check added sugar, sodium, fiber, sugar alcohols, stimulants, and the amounts of extras. “Meal replacement” should not be assumed to mean nutritionally complete: several supplied reviews note that protein powders or large-calorie products may still lack the balance needed for a medically or nutritionally complete meal.
The most meaningful safety distinction is finished-product evidence. A credible current, lot-specific report should identify the lot, dates, laboratory, methods, and detection limits and cover protein identity or content, heavy metals such as lead, cadmium, arsenic, and mercury, microbiology, and relevant allergens. A brand statement that every batch is tested is weaker than a report a buyer can retrieve for the product in hand. “Pass” results without measured concentrations, named laboratories, or detection limits provide useful but incomplete information.
Independent certification must also match the use case. The exact product should be confirmable in a public NSF Certified Dietary Supplements, NSF Certified for Sport, USP Verified, Informed Sport, or Informed Choice register. NSF Contents Certified or Functional Foods status supports independent product review, but it is not the same as sport-specific banned-substance screening. For athletes, the exact product and current certification status matter; one supplied product was marketed with a sport-certification claim even though the current register said it was no longer certified.
Organic, non-GMO, “clean,” and sustainable claims should be checked separately from safety claims. USDA Organic certification can support agricultural-input standards, but it does not establish low heavy-metal exposure. Packaging claims should identify a material and a practical recycling or waste-reduction pathway rather than relying on vague environmental language.
Recurring safety cautions in the supplied reviews include missing lot-specific reports, especially for heavy metals and microbiology; California Proposition 65 lead warnings or documented lead concerns on several products; and historical contaminant actions involving some product lines. People with allergies should check the physical label and cross-contact statement because online allergen information conflicted for one product and several formulas process multiple allergens. Inulin, psyllium, gums, sugar alcohols, MCTs, probiotics, enzymes, and dense plant blends may cause gas or bloating. Children, pregnant or breastfeeding people, people trying to conceive, and those with kidney disease, medically prescribed protein limits, or heightened concern about lead exposure should not treat a general protein claim or certification as individualized safety advice. Tested athletes should use current sport certification, not a marketplace claim alone.
Integrity
## Health and Ecology The review weighs the protein dose, formula fit, contamination and allergen controls, independent verification, transparency, claim accuracy, and agricultural impact. Scores are comparative signals from the supplied assessments, not guarantees about every container or serving.
HHealth & Safety
Useful protein per serving
This measures whether the labeled serving supplies a meaningful, well-characterized amount of digestible protein rather than relying on vague BCAA language. It matters because plant blends can differ in amino-acid balance and protein concentration. Higher-scoring products in this set generally stated 20–30 grams per serving; lower-scoring products had smaller doses, unclear serving details, or undisclosed amino-acid and digestibility information.
Heavy-metal and contaminant control
Plant ingredients can concentrate lead, cadmium, arsenic, mercury, pesticides, or other contaminants. A high score requires current finished-product evidence at the labeled use, while a low score reflects warnings, historical actions, missing lot results, or only general testing claims. The supplied scores ranged from very low where lead findings or warnings were material to stronger results where a lot report documented metals, though several reports gave limits rather than measured concentrations.
Microbial and allergen safety
This examines pathogen and spoilage controls, undeclared allergens, and cross-contact statements. It matters because powders combine concentrated plant ingredients and may be made in facilities handling several allergens. Higher-scoring products disclosed ingredients and had stronger testing or certification evidence. Lower-scoring products lacked lot-specific microbial or allergen reports, had incomplete facility information, or showed conflicts such as listing a major allergen while also claiming it was absent.
Digestive and metabolic fit
This measures whether the formula avoids unnecessary amounts of added sugar, sodium, sugar alcohols, gums, stimulants, and poorly disclosed extras. A higher score generally went to simple or clearly labeled formulas with no added sugar and manageable nutrition panels. Lower scores reflected very large carbohydrate loads, high sodium, or blends containing inulin, gums, MCTs, enzymes, probiotics, botanicals, or sweeteners whose amounts or tolerability were uncertain.
Banned-substance protection
This matters for athletes because undeclared prohibited substances can affect eligibility and health. The strongest evidence is current certification of the exact product through NSF Certified for Sport or Informed Sport. The supplied scores were highest for products with active, exact-product sport listings. A general NSF or Informed Choice listing may address other quality or screening concerns, but it should not be presented as equivalent to every sport-certification program.
EEvidence
Independent certification
This asks whether the exact product appears in a public independent register that audits manufacturing and checks label accuracy or contaminants. It matters because a brand badge is not independently confirmable. Higher-scoring examples had current NSF, NSF Certified for Sport, or Informed Choice listings tied to the product. Lower-scoring products had only manufacturer claims or no current listing in NSF, USP, Informed Sport, or Informed Choice directories.
Open batch test results
A strong result lets buyers retrieve a current lot-specific finished-product report covering protein or identity, heavy metals, microbiology, and relevant allergens, with methods, dates, laboratory details, and detection limits. The best supplied scores went to products with accessible lot reports or lot lookup systems. Scores were lower when brands merely said they tested, published typical results, or gave pass/fail findings without measured concentrations or laboratory and detection-limit details.
Claims that match the evidence
This checks whether muscle, recovery, digestion, weight-management, meal-replacement, probiotic, enzyme, or “complete protein” claims fit the labeled dose and human evidence. Higher-scoring products made narrower claims supported by their disclosed nutrition. Lower scores reflected broad promises such as guaranteed digestion, absorption, recovery, or meal replacement without product-specific trials, adequate ingredient doses, or complete nutritional evidence.
Honest label and full formula disclosure
The label should consistently state serving size, protein amount, ingredients, sweeteners, flavors, added nutrients, processing aids, and any proprietary blends. Higher-scoring products named their protein sources and provided a complete current panel. Lower scores reflected conflicting package and online information, changing formulas, proprietary blends, undisclosed amounts, serving-size discrepancies, or claims that contradicted the ingredient list.
Traceability and recall readiness
This measures whether the responsible company, U.S. contact, lot code, expiration date, facility information, and recall path are clear. It matters when a buyer needs to identify an affected container or contact the manufacturer. Higher-scoring products supplied clearer company and lot information. Lower scores reflected incomplete accountability or limited public manufacturing details, even when no product-specific recall or warning-letter action was found in the supplied review.
EEcology
Verified plant and packaging impact
This measures evidence for certified agricultural practices, traceable principal protein crops, and lower-waste or clearly recyclable packaging. A higher score was associated with USDA Organic or other documented agricultural claims and more substantiated sourcing information. Lower scores reflected unverified “clean” or sustainable language, no product-specific certificate, and tubs or pouches without clear material, recycled-content, or practical recycling instructions. Organic status alone does not prove low contamination or low packaging impact.
Full reviews

EarthChimp Organic Vegan Protein Powder
Overview
This is a vanilla, plant-based protein powder in a pouch, sold as 26 servings. EarthChimp describes each serving as 120 calories with 20 g protein, 4 g fiber, 3 g total sugar with no added sugar, and Bacillus coagulans probiotics. It is designed to be shaken with water or plant milk, blended into smoothies, or used after exercise. The manufacturer identifies pea, pumpkin seed, and coconut proteins as the principal blend and states that the product is made in Dublin, Ireland. Pea protein has human resistance-training evidence, including trials using roughly 24 to 25 g doses, but this product does not publish an amino-acid profile, leucine amount, protein digestibility score, or finished-product protein assay. The probiotic is named, but its strain and viable count are not consistently disclosed on the current brand materials.
What works
- The labeled 20 g protein serving is a meaningful contribution to daily protein intake for smoothies or post-workout use.
- The manufacturer states there is no added sugar or sugar alcohol, and the listed formula does not include stimulant ingredients or gums.
- The product is marketed as dairy-free and gluten-free, which can suit people avoiding milk protein or lactose.
- The brand gives a named manufacturer location in Dublin and describes pouch packaging rather than a rigid plastic tub.
What does not
- No current lot-specific, buyer-accessible certificate of analysis was located for protein content, lead, cadmium, arsenic, mercury, microbiology, or allergens.
- No listing was found for this exact product in NSF Certified for Sport, NSF Certified Dietary Supplements, USP Verified, Informed Sport, or Informed Choice public directories.
- The brand pages do not provide a complete amino-acid profile or a digestibility score, so completeness and muscle-building quality cannot be independently assessed.
- Probiotic marketing is weakly specified. Bacillus coagulans is named, but the current product guide does not provide a strain designation or a viable count.
- Brand materials differ on nutrition and formula details, including fiber and listed protein sources, so buyers should check the physical package label.
Who is it for
This product suits an adult who wants a vegan shake powder for a convenient snack, smoothie addition, or post-exercise protein contribution, particularly if they avoid dairy, lactose, gluten, added sugar, sugar alcohols, and gum-heavy formulas. The 20 g labeled protein serving is practical for someone already eating balanced meals and aiming to add protein rather than replace food. It is also suited to buyers comfortable with a flavored plant blend containing fruit, fiber ingredients, natural flavor, monk fruit, and a named probiotic.
Who is it not for
It is not well suited to tested athletes or anyone whose job or competition requires documented banned-substance controls, because no recognized sport certification for the exact product was located. It is also a poor fit for people who need lot-level heavy-metal, allergen, or microbiology data before using plant protein regularly. Those with severe food allergies should not treat broad dairy-free and gluten-free claims as proof of dedicated-facility allergen control. People with sensitive digestion may also prefer a simpler powder, since added fibers and fruit ingredients can cause symptoms for some users.
Integrity
The health-positive features are the manufacturer-stated 20 g protein serving, no added sugar, and absence of sugar alcohols and gums. Pea protein itself has controlled human resistance-training evidence at doses near this serving size, although this product does not disclose the amino-acid details needed to confirm its protein quality. The added Bacillus coagulans is not enough to evaluate a digestive benefit without a stated strain and viable count. EarthChimp presents the product as USDA Organic, vegan, and packaged in recyclable pouches, and says it is made in Dublin. These are useful environmental signals, but I did not locate a public lot report or a publicly verifiable certificate tied to this exact product that documents contaminant screening, organic supply-chain handling, or pouch recyclability in U.S. collection systems. No FDA recall, safety alert, or warning letter specific to EarthChimp or the named manufacturer was located in the searched U.S. databases.

Garden of Life Organic Vegan Protein Powder
Overview
This is an unflavored, plant-based protein powder in a 560 g tub. The manufacturer directs adults to mix one scoop into water or another beverage, and presents it for adding protein around workouts or to everyday foods. Its current product page states 22 g of complete protein and 4 g of BCAAs per scoop, from organic pea protein plus 13 sprouted grains, seeds, and legumes. A dated finished-lot certificate for the unflavored formula reported 22 g protein, negative Salmonella, and low reported microbial counts. That document covered a lot made in February 2021 and expired in February 2023, so it supports historical quality control rather than a current tub. The formula also has no added sugar or stevia, but it includes guar and carob bean gums, a 1-billion-CFU probiotic blend, and an enzyme blend.
What works
- The manufacturer states 22 g of complete plant protein and 4 g BCAAs per scoop, a meaningful serving for supplementing dietary protein.
- A finished-lot report identified the lot and reported negative Salmonella, low microbial counts, 22 g protein, and low measured lead, cadmium, mercury, and arsenic for that 2021 lot.
- The exact RAW Organic Protein Original formula is listed in NSF's functional-food certification registry, and the manufacturer also states USDA Organic, Non-GMO Project Verified, gluten-free, vegan, and kosher certifications.
- The unflavored formula is manufacturer-stated to have no added sugar, stevia, artificial ingredients, dairy, or soy.
What does not
- The publicly located finished-lot report is old and expired in 2023. It is not a current, buyer-retrievable certificate with laboratory identity, methods, and detection limits.
- Garden of Life settled a 2015 California Proposition 65 case covering RAW Organic Protein powders over lead and cadmium, with requirements to reduce exposure or provide warnings. This is a historical regulatory concern, not evidence that a current tub exceeds a limit.
- The proprietary enzyme blend is only 20 mg total, and individual enzyme amounts are not disclosed. The digestion benefit is therefore not well dose-substantiated.
- This is not listed as NSF Certified for Sport or Informed Sport. Athletes subject to anti-doping testing do not have continuous sport-certification evidence for this exact formula.
Who is it for
This product suits adults who need a plain vegan protein addition for smoothies, oats, baking, or post-exercise drinks and specifically want to avoid dairy, soy, added sugar, and stevia. One scoop supplies a manufacturer-stated 22 g of plant protein, which can help close a dietary protein gap when paired with meals. It is also relevant for buyers prioritizing organic ingredient standards and an unflavored format over a sweetened shake. People who tolerate legumes and small amounts of gums are the most straightforward fit.
Who is it not for
It is not well suited to tested athletes who require a current NSF Certified for Sport or Informed Sport listing. It is also a poor fit for people with allergies or strong sensitivities to peas, legumes, sesame, nuts, or gums, since the product information notes potential naturally occurring traces of gluten, nuts, and sesame despite its gluten-free certification. Pregnant or nursing people, people taking medication, and those with kidney disease or medically prescribed protein limits should seek individualized clinician guidance before using a concentrated protein powder.
Integrity
The manufacturer states that this formula is USDA Organic, Non-GMO Project Verified, certified gluten-free, Certified Vegan, and kosher. NSF's public functional-food registry lists RAW Organic Protein Original under Garden of Life, supporting independent oversight for that listed formula. Organic certification is meaningful for ingredient production standards, but it does not by itself establish low heavy-metal exposure in every finished lot. A Garden of Life finished-lot report from 2021 measured lead at 0.020 ppm, cadmium at 0.022 ppm, mercury below 0.005 ppm, and arsenic at 0.015 ppm. That is useful historical product-specific evidence, though not current batch transparency. California records also show a 2015 settlement involving lead and cadmium allegations for RAW Organic Protein powders. FDA recall material located concerned other Garden of Life product lines, including a 2016 Raw Meal recall, rather than this protein powder.

Ora Organic Plant-Based Protein Powder - Vanilla
Overview
This is a vanilla plant protein powder supplied as 20 servings. A serving is two scoops, or 31 g, intended to be mixed into water, plant milk, or a smoothie. The current formula lists 23 g protein, 130 calories, 3 g carbohydrate, 2 g fiber, and 237 mg sodium per serving. Its protein and superfood blend includes organic pea and rice protein, coconut milk, fruits, greens, inulin, and five digestive enzymes. A current public vanilla batch report, manufactured February 12, 2026 and reviewed March 3, 2026, confirms at least 23 g protein per serving and reports that the batch met its heavy-metal, microbiological, allergen, pesticide, solvent, and nutrition specifications. The report is self-published by the brand but identifies ISO 17025-accredited third-party laboratory testing. LGC's public registry also lists the product for banned-substance certification, with newer tested batches described as Informed Choice certified.
What works
- A current lot-specific report confirms at least 23 g protein per 31 g serving.
- The public batch report covers lead, cadmium, inorganic arsenic, mercury, pathogens, allergens, glyphosate, pesticides, and solvent residues.
- The ingredient list is relatively short for a flavored protein powder, with no added sugar, sugar alcohols, gums, or artificial sweeteners listed.
- LGC's public registry lists this product for banned-substance certification, giving athletes a verifiable monitoring route.
- The brand states the formula is USDA Organic certified and uses predominantly organic plant ingredients.
What does not
- The public metal report gives pass or meets-specification results, not the measured concentrations or analytical detection limits for the vanilla batch.
- The 100 mg enzyme blend does not disclose the amount or activity of each enzyme, so its specific digestion and anti-bloating claims cannot be assessed at the stated dose.
- Jerusalem artichoke inulin and pea protein can still cause gas or digestive discomfort for some people, despite the no-bloat marketing.
- Coconut is an ingredient and allergen, so this is not suitable for people who must avoid coconut.
- The product page describes a complete amino acid profile, but the accessible batch report does not publish the finished product's amino-acid quantities or leucine content.
Who is it for
This product suits adults who want a dairy-free, soy-free protein supplement for smoothies or post-training use and who value public lot documentation. Its 23 g serving is in the range used in human studies of pea and rice protein alongside resistance training. It is also relevant to drug-tested athletes who can confirm current certification status in LGC's registry. The 20-serving container is best suited to someone testing tolerance or using protein powder occasionally, rather than relying on it as a long-duration bulk supply.
Who is it not for
It is not for anyone with a coconut allergy. People with irritable bowel symptoms, sensitivity to inulin or fermentable fibers, or a history of difficulty tolerating pea protein should be cautious because the formula includes Jerusalem artichoke inulin and a substantial pea-protein base. It is also not a meal replacement, since one serving has modest calories and limited disclosed micronutrients. Buyers needing precise amino-acid or leucine dosing, or fully quantified heavy-metal results with detection limits, need documentation that this public report does not provide.
Integrity
The strongest health evidence is the available 2026 vanilla lot report. It identifies the lot, manufacturing and expiration dates, laboratory accreditation, and testing categories. It reports that the lot met the brand's specifications for lead, cadmium, mercury, inorganic arsenic, key pathogens, major allergens, glyphosate, pesticide residues, residual solvents, nutrition, and protein. Its limits are useful controls, though the report does not disclose measured metal concentrations or detection limits. The product is built around organic pea and rice protein plus organic fruit, greens, coconut milk, and inulin. The brand states that it is USDA Organic certified, which is a meaningful crop-input standard but does not itself establish zero heavy-metal exposure. LGC's registry lists the product under its banned-substance certification program, although the registry notes that batches tested after March 28, 2025 are Informed Choice certified rather than Informed Sport certified. Packaging-impact claims were not independently substantiated in the reviewed materials.

Naked Pea Protein Powder 5LB Unflavored
Overview
This is an unflavored, 5 pound pea-protein powder sold as about 76 servings. The labeled serving is 30 g, or two scoops, and the manufacturer states that it supplies 27 g protein and 120 calories. It is intended to raise protein intake in shakes, smoothies, and recipes, including after resistance training. Its defining feature is a one-ingredient formula of yellow pea protein, according to the manufacturer. The exact Naked Pea product is currently listed by NSF under its Functional Foods Guideline 229 program, which includes label-claim review and testing for contaminants and microbiological hazards. The product page also carries a California warning for lead exposure. That warning does not state the exposure amount, and no current lot-specific heavy-metal report was publicly retrievable during this review.
What works
- The current NSF public registry lists the exact Naked Pea product under NSF Certification Guideline 229.
- A 30 g serving with 27 g protein is a meaningful protein dose for adding to meals or post-training intake.
- The formula lists only yellow pea protein, with no added sweeteners, flavors, gums, sugar alcohols, or stimulants.
- Human resistance-training trials have used pea-protein doses near 25 g, including studies finding gains in muscle thickness during training.
What does not
- The current product page carries a California Proposition 65 warning for lead exposure. The page does not provide the exposure amount or a lot-specific result.
- No public, batch-specific certificate of analysis was found for this product showing metals, microbiology, protein testing methods, detection limits, and dates.
- The NSF certification is not a sport certification, so it does not provide the continuous banned-substance protection sought by tested athletes.
- Pea protein is not presented with a full amino-acid panel, and the manufacturer itself suggests pairing it with rice protein to improve methionine balance.
Who is it for
This product suits adults who want a plain plant protein for smoothies, oatmeal, baking, or post-workout drinks and prefer to control flavoring themselves. Its 27 g labeled protein serving is practical for people trying to close a dietary protein gap without dairy, soy, sweeteners, or stimulant ingredients. The large 5 pound format is most suitable for regular household use rather than occasional use. It also fits people who value a current, publicly checkable NSF product listing.
Who is it not for
It is not a good fit for people who need batch-by-batch contaminant results before using a plant protein daily, especially during pregnancy or when following clinician-directed exposure limits. The California lead warning deserves particular attention for those groups. Competitive athletes subject to anti-doping testing should use a product with a recognized sport-certification listing instead. People with pea or broader legume allergy should avoid it. Those needing a fully characterized amino-acid profile may also prefer a product that publishes one.
Integrity
NSF currently lists Naked Pea under Guideline 229, a functional-food certification program that NSF says uses the same rigorous framework as its supplement standard. NSF describes the program as checking label claims and testing for contaminants, pesticides, aerobic microorganisms, pathogens, and mycotoxins. That is meaningful independent oversight, although it is not equivalent to a public certificate for the buyer's individual lot. The manufacturer states that the powder contains only yellow pea protein sourced from U.S. and Canadian farms and processed using water-based mechanical extraction. Those sourcing and process claims were not independently certified in the reviewed records. No USDA Organic certificate, Non-GMO Project listing, package recyclability verification, or public lot-specific metals report was located. The product page currently includes a California warning for lead exposure, so contamination transparency remains a material health consideration despite the NSF listing.

Micro Ingredients Pea Protein Powder 5 Pounds
Overview
This is an unflavored, single-ingredient pea protein powder in a 5-pound pouch. Its label, reproduced by an independent retailer, lists two scoops as a 33 g serving, 27 g protein, 120 calories, 2 g total sugar with no added sugar, and 110 mg sodium. The pouch is intended for mixing into drinks or foods and provides 68 labeled servings. The manufacturer states that the peas are North American farm-grown, vegan, non-GMO, gluten-free, and third-party tested. However, no current lot-specific finished-product report was publicly retrievable to confirm protein content, metals, or microbiological results. Most importantly, the product carries a California Proposition 65 warning for lead exposure. A September 2025 California legal notice also alleged PFOA exposure from this pea protein. The notice is an allegation, not a confirmed laboratory result or recall.
What works
- The plainly disclosed formula contains only pea protein powder, with no sweeteners, flavors, gums, sugar alcohols, or stimulant ingredients listed.
- The label provides a substantial 27 g protein serving, which is within the range used in human pea-protein training research, though the product itself was not tested in those trials.
- Nutrition disclosure is relatively clear, including serving size, calories, protein, sugars, sodium, iron, calcium, and potassium.
- An independent retailer reproduces consistent ingredient, nutrition, use, and warning information for this product.
What does not
- The product carries a Proposition 65 warning for lead exposure, with no public batch result available to quantify exposure at the labeled serving.
- A California notice filed in September 2025 alleged PFOA exposure from this specific unflavored pea protein. This is a pending allegation, not proof of contamination, but it warrants caution until current finished-product testing is available.
- No exact-product listing was found in NSF Certified for Sport, NSF Certified Dietary Supplements, USP Verified, Informed Sport, or Informed Choice public registries.
- The manufacturer states that it is third-party tested, but buyers cannot retrieve a current lot-specific report covering metals, microbiology, identity, and protein content.
- The complete-protein and amino-acid claims are not backed by a product-specific amino-acid profile or DIAAS or PDCAAS result.
Who is it for
It suits adults who specifically want an unflavored pea-protein ingredient for smoothies, oatmeal, baking, or recipes and who prefer to avoid dairy, soy, sweeteners, and flavor systems. The 5-pound pouch and 68-serving format may also fit households that use protein powder regularly and can store a large resealable bag in a cool, dry place. It is most appropriate for people comfortable treating it as a food ingredient, rather than relying on it as a fully verified sports supplement.
Who is it not for
It is not a suitable choice for people who are pregnant, trying to conceive, nursing, or otherwise seeking to minimize possible lead exposure without first discussing the label warning with a clinician. Competitive athletes and tested-service personnel should use a product with exact-product sport certification because no such certification was found here. It is also a poor fit for buyers who need publicly available lot testing for heavy metals, PFAS, allergens, pathogens, protein content, or amino-acid composition.
Integrity
The health profile is simple on paper. The listed ingredient is pea protein powder alone, and the nutrition panel reports no added sugar, minimal fat, and moderate sodium. Human research supports pea protein as a useful training protein when supplied in meaningful amounts, but this product does not publish its own amino-acid profile or digestibility score. Its claim of third-party testing remains manufacturer-stated because no buyer-accessible lot report was found. The key safety issue is the California Proposition 65 lead warning printed for this product. In addition, a California complaint filed in September 2025 alleged PFOA exposure from the unflavored pea protein. Neither item gives a current lot-specific exposure amount. The manufacturer states that its peas are North American farm-grown and non-GMO, but no organic certificate, Non-GMO Project listing, traceable crop documentation, or packaging recyclability evidence was located. The product is supplied in a large flexible pouch, with no verified end-of-life guidance found.

KOS Vegan Protein Powder Vanilla USDA Organic
Overview
This is a vanilla, plant-based protein powder sold in a 39.15 ounce jar. The labeled serving is two scoops, about 37 grams, mixed with 8 to 12 ounces of water or a non-dairy drink. Current retailer label information lists 20 grams of protein, 160 calories, 2 grams of added sugar, 290 milligrams of sodium, and 6 grams of fat per serving. Its protein blend combines pea protein with flax, quinoa, pumpkin seed protein, and chia. KOS states that the blend supplies all nine essential amino acids, but it does not publish the amino-acid amounts or a protein assay for this formula. A publicly available 2025 third-party report for KOS Organic Superfood Plant Protein Vanilla, though associated with different package codes, found lead, cadmium, arsenic, and mercury below 0.005 ppm and reported negative pathogen results for that lot.
What works
- Provides a meaningful 20 grams of plant protein in a two-scoop serving.
- A publicly available vanilla lot report documents very low reported metals and negative Salmonella, E. coli, and Staphylococcus results.
- The ingredient list identifies coconut and discloses broad shared-facility cross-contact risks.
- The formula avoids dairy, soy, sugar alcohols, and artificial sweeteners, according to the manufacturer and current retailer labels.
What does not
- A current vanilla listing carries a California Proposition 65 warning for lead exposure. A warning does not establish that the product is adulterated, but it is relevant for frequent users and people who are pregnant or trying to conceive.
- The available vanilla batch report is not tied to this jar's exact package code, and it does not show protein content, amino-acid values, or allergen test results.
- Inulin and acacia gum amounts are not disclosed. These fibers can cause gas, bloating, or bowel changes in sensitive users.
- KOS markets it as a meal replacement and weight-management aid, but a 160-calorie serving is not a nutritionally complete meal by itself and the product-specific evidence for weight loss is not provided.
- No current NSF Certified for Sport, Informed Sport, USP Verified, or comparable public certification listing was found for this product.
Who is it for
This product fits adults seeking a dairy-free, soy-free protein powder for smoothies, oatmeal, or baking who can use a 20 gram protein serving as part of a regular meal or snack. It is particularly relevant for people who prefer an organic multi-source plant formula and want modest added sugar rather than sugar alcohols. Buyers who tolerate prebiotic fibers and coconut can use it as a convenient protein contribution, while supplying the rest of their calories, carbohydrate, fats, and micronutrients from food.
Who is it not for
It is not a suitable stand-alone meal for people relying on a powder to replace substantial meals, especially older adults, people with poor appetite, or anyone with high calorie needs. Drug-tested athletes should select a product with current recognized sport certification. Avoid it with coconut allergy, and use extra caution with severe allergy because the label says the facility may process multiple major allergens. People prone to irritable bowel symptoms may find the undisclosed inulin and acacia-gum amounts difficult to tolerate. Pregnancy, nursing, medication use, kidney disease, and other medical conditions warrant clinician input.
Integrity
KOS identifies the plant-protein line as USDA Organic and CCOF certified, and the ingredient lists use certified-organic plant proteins and food ingredients. That is meaningful agricultural verification, although the available materials do not document protein-crop origins or provide a package recycling instruction. The jar is plastic, and KOS states that BPA is not used in its plastic materials, but that remains a manufacturer statement rather than a packaging certification. The strongest safety evidence is a lot-specific 2025 report for KOS Organic Superfood Plant Protein Vanilla from Qalitex. It reported metals below 0.005 ppm and absence of tested pathogens. The report is encouraging but does not match this package code, so it cannot substitute for checking the lot on a purchased jar. Separately, a current vanilla listing displays a California Proposition 65 lead warning. That warning is an exposure disclosure, not a finding of an FDA recall or product adulteration, but it deserves attention for routine use.

Ultraverixian Organic Vegan Protein Powder Vanilla
Overview
This is a vanilla, plant-based dietary-supplement powder in an 800 g resealable pouch with 20 servings. It is intended to be mixed into drinks, oats, smoothies, coffee, or baking. The marketplace listing states that each serving provides 30 g protein, 150 calories, no sugar, and a six-source blend of pea, rice, pumpkin seed, chia, sunflower, and flax. The listing also states that it includes 20 billion CFU of Bacillus coagulans and Lactobacillus rhamnosus, plus vitamins, minerals, BCAAs, L-theanine, and L-tyrosine. Those are manufacturer-stated figures, not independently confirmed finished-product results. No publicly retrievable Supplement Facts panel, full ingredient list, amino-acid analysis, or lot-specific certificate of analysis was found during this review.
What works
- The stated 30 g protein serving is a meaningful amount for a post-exercise shake or for raising protein intake at a meal.
- The product is clearly positioned as dairy-free and the listing states it has no added sugar, which may suit people avoiding whey or added sugars.
- A six-source plant blend combines pea, rice, seed, and grain proteins, which is more plausible for amino-acid complementarity than a single-source plant protein.
- The 800 g pouch provides 20 stated servings and is suitable for routine shake, smoothie, or baking use.
What does not
- No lot-specific third-party report was found for heavy metals, pesticides, microbiology, protein content, or probiotic viability.
- No current listing was found in NSF, USP, Informed Sport, or Informed Choice public certification registers for this product.
- The probiotic species and total CFU are stated, but strain designations, per-strain amounts, and end-of-shelf-life verification are not disclosed.
- The broad focus, immunity, digestion, recovery, and meal-replacement claims cannot be matched to disclosed doses because a complete facts panel and ingredient amounts were not publicly available.
- The marketplace title calls the product organic, but no USDA Organic certificate or certifier listing for this product was located.
Who is it for
This product fits an adult who wants a convenient vanilla plant-protein powder and is comfortable treating the protein, sugar, dairy-free, and probiotic figures as manufacturer-stated label claims. Its stated 30 g protein serving may be practical after resistance exercise or when a smoothie needs more protein. It may also suit a person avoiding dairy who does not require sport certification, publicly available batch testing, or a fully disclosed probiotic formula. Buyers should check the physical package for the complete facts panel, ingredients, allergen statement, lot code, and expiration date before use.
Who is it not for
It is not well suited to tested athletes, people subject to anti-doping rules, or anyone who needs recognized banned-substance screening, because no sport-certification listing was found. It is also a poor fit for people with serious food allergies, highly sensitive digestion, pregnancy-related supplement restrictions, or a need to avoid a particular sweetener or additive, since a complete public ingredient and allergen panel was not available. Those seeking a verified organic product, independently confirmed contaminant control, or a true nutritionally complete meal replacement need documentation this listing does not provide.
Integrity
The plant-protein sources stated by the listing are pea, rice, pumpkin seed, chia, sunflower, and flax. The product is marketed as dairy-free, gluten-free, sugar-free, and organic. The marketplace title also presents it as an organic product, but this review did not locate a corresponding USDA Organic certificate or public certifier record. No packaging recyclability instructions, material specification, crop-origin information, or traceable sourcing details were located. No FDA recall, warning letter, or safety alert specific to this product or named brand was identified in the public records checked. That is not the same as evidence of finished-product safety. No batch-specific report from an accredited laboratory was found for metals, pesticide residues, pathogens, allergen cross-contact, protein identity, or probiotic survival. The marketplace describes two probiotics and 20 billion CFU, but does not publicly identify the strains, their individual doses, or verification through the stated shelf life.

NAKED Vegan Mass Natural Weight Gainer Protein Powder
Overview
This is an 8-pound unflavored vegan mass-gainer powder, intended to be mixed as six scoops in 24 ounces of a non-dairy drink. The manufacturer lists 11 servings, with 1,230 calories, 50 grams of protein, and 248 grams of carbohydrate per full serving. Its disclosed formula is short, organic tapioca maltodextrin, yellow pea protein, and organic brown rice protein. The protein amount is meaningful for a mass-gainer serving, and Consumer Reports found that tested products in its 2025 investigation met or exceeded their protein-label claims. NSF's current public registry lists the exact Vegan Naked Mass product at a 315-gram serving. However, Consumer Reports tested the vanilla version across multiple lots and found 7.7 micrograms of lead per serving. The manufacturer also displays a California lead warning on the product page. Those findings are central to assessing this otherwise simple, very high-calorie formula.
What works
- The exact Vegan Naked Mass product is currently listed in NSF's public certified-product registry.
- A full serving supplies 50 grams of protein, and Consumer Reports reported that tested products met or exceeded their protein claims.
- The manufacturer discloses a three-ingredient unflavored formula, without listed sweeteners, flavors, gums, or stimulants.
- The 1,230-calorie serving can make a planned calorie surplus easier to consume when food volume is difficult.
What does not
- Consumer Reports found 7.7 micrograms of lead in the vanilla Vegan Mass Gainer per 315-gram serving and advised against use. This is a positive safety concern, not merely missing evidence.
- The manufacturer carries a California warning that consuming the product can expose users to lead.
- The large serving provides 248 grams of carbohydrate, mostly tapioca maltodextrin. That may be poorly suited to people managing glucose or carbohydrate intake.
- No current lot-specific certificate of analysis with numerical heavy-metal, microbiology, protein, and allergen results was publicly retrievable.
- The product page contains a formula inconsistency, one benefits line mentions roasted peanut flour while the ingredient list names only maltodextrin, pea protein, and rice protein.
Who is it for
This product fits an adult following a vegan diet who has a clinician-supported or personally planned need to raise calorie intake, has difficulty consuming enough food volume, and specifically wants an unflavored shake base. Its large 315-gram serving provides substantial energy and a labeled 50 grams of blended pea and rice protein, which can be useful around resistance training or between meals. This use case requires particular attention to the lead findings and to total daily dietary exposure, rather than treating the product as an everyday default food.
Who is it not for
It is not appropriate for children, pregnant or breastfeeding people, or anyone trying to minimize lead exposure, because the product carries a California lead warning and Consumer Reports found high lead in the closely matching vanilla product. It also does not fit people with diabetes, impaired glucose tolerance, or a clinician-directed carbohydrate restriction, given the 248 grams of carbohydrate per serving. Competitive athletes needing documented prohibited-substance screening should use a product listed in a recognized sport-certification program, not simply an NSF certified-product listing.
Integrity
The product has two meaningful verification points. NSF's public registry currently lists Vegan Naked Mass at its 315-gram serving size, and Consumer Reports found the tested protein products met or exceeded label claims. The formula is also unusually short for a mass gainer, with tapioca maltodextrin, pea protein, and brown rice protein listed by the manufacturer. Organic status is stated for the tapioca maltodextrin and brown rice protein. The main health issue is lead. Consumer Reports tested multiple lots bought from retailers and reported 7.7 micrograms of lead in the vanilla Vegan Mass Gainer serving. The manufacturer page for the unflavored product carries a California warning for lead exposure. NSF listing does not substitute for publicly available, current lot-specific numerical results, and no such report was retrievable. There is no verified packaging recyclability information, and the brand's broader sustainable-farming statements are not backed here by a crop-level certification or packaging evidence.

Naked Shake Vegan Protein Powder Strawberry Banana
Overview
This is a strawberry-banana flavored vegan protein powder in a 30-serving canister. The listed serving is two scoops, or 33 g, mixed into water, smoothies, or recipes. Its stated role is to add protein around workouts or during busy days. The manufacturer lists 20 g of pea protein and 3 g of sugar per serving, alongside MCT powder, coconut sugar, fruit ingredients, natural flavors, Reb-M sweetener, and vegetable juice color. The defining independent fact is that NSF currently lists the exact Strawberry Banana Naked Shake as NSF 229 Contents Certified. That program evaluates label accuracy and contaminants, including toxic elements and microbial hazards. However, the manufacturer page also carries a California warning for lead exposure. No buyer-accessible, lot-specific finished-product report with the actual lead result was located.
What works
- The exact strawberry-banana product is currently listed in NSF's public Functional Foods registry.
- Its 20 g pea-protein serving is a meaningful post-workout amount, and human resistance-training research supports pea protein as a useful protein source.
- The listed formula avoids caffeine and sugar alcohols, which can be useful for people sensitive to stimulants or polyols.
- NSF certification includes ongoing review of label claims, contaminants, and relevant microbiological hazards.
What does not
- The manufacturer posts a California lead warning for this product, so a buyer cannot assume that plant-based ingredients are free of lead exposure.
- No public, lot-specific certificate of analysis was located with numerical results for lead, cadmium, arsenic, mercury, protein content, or microbiology.
- The product is NSF Contents Certified, not NSF Certified for Sport, so it does not provide the same recognized banned-substance protection for tested athletes.
- MCT powder, acacia, natural flavors, maltodextrin, and sweetener are disclosed, but their individual amounts are not provided.
Who is it for
This product fits an adult who wants a flavored vegan protein powder with a practical 20 g protein serving, especially someone avoiding dairy, soy, caffeine, and sugar alcohols. It is suited to routine smoothies, post-training drinks, and recipes where strawberry-banana flavor is welcome. The current NSF listing is meaningful for buyers who prioritize independent oversight of label contents, contaminants, and microbiological quality, while recognizing that it does not replace access to a batch-specific report.
Who is it not for
It is not a strong fit for competitive athletes or people subject to anti-doping testing, because the product is not listed as NSF Certified for Sport. People who are pregnant, trying to conceive, or especially concerned about cumulative lead exposure should take the product's California lead warning seriously and seek clinician guidance or a product with a current lot-specific metals report. It also may not suit people with pea or legume sensitivity, or those who want an unflavored, single-ingredient powder.
Integrity
The clearest health-strength finding is the current NSF 229 Contents Certified listing for the exact strawberry-banana powder. NSF says this functional-food program uses the same rigorous process as its supplement certification, with review of labeled contents and testing for toxic elements and microorganisms. The formula is plant-based and lists pea protein as its principal protein source, with no dairy or soy ingredients listed. There is an important counterpoint. The manufacturer itself displays a California warning that consuming the product can expose users to lead. The public certification listing does not provide a lot-specific numerical lead result, and no open finished-product certificate of analysis was located. The manufacturer describes U.S. and Canadian farms, but no USDA Organic certification, crop-level sourcing certificate, or verified packaging-recyclability evidence was located for this product.

Be Amazing Vegan Protein Powder, IHOP Cinn-A-Stack
Overview
This is a 25-serving, scoopable vegan protein powder in an IHOP Cinn-A-Stack Pancakes flavor. The independently posted retail label lists 130 calories, 20 g protein, 3 g fiber, 0 g added sugar, and 370 mg sodium per scoop. Directions call for mixing one scoop with water after a workout. Its listed protein sources are PURIS pea protein concentrate and pumpkin seed protein. The label also lists acacia, apple, and blueberry fibers, cocoa butter powder, natural flavors, stevia, and monk fruit. Human trials support pea protein as a workable training supplement, although this product does not publish an amino-acid analysis or finished-product protein verification. The brand's generic product page instead describes 120 calories and 2 g fiber, so buyers should use the container label for the current formula.
What works
- The exact retail label provides a meaningful 20 g protein serving, with zero added sugar.
- The ingredient list avoids dairy and soy, and the retail listing identifies the product as milk-free, soy-free, and wheat-free.
- Three grams of fiber per scoop may help increase daily fiber intake without sugar alcohols.
- The formula identifies its protein sources and sweeteners rather than using a proprietary blend.
What does not
- A California lead exposure warning appears on the brand's product page, while no current lot-specific metal results for this flavor are publicly available.
- The brand's generic page lists 120 calories and 2 g fiber, but the exact retail label lists 130 calories and 3 g fiber.
- No public registry listing was found for a recognized independent supplement or sport certification for this product.
- At 370 mg per serving, sodium is 16% of the Daily Value, which can matter for sodium-restricted diets.
Who is it for
This product fits healthy adults who want a flavored, dairy-free and soy-free powder to add about 20 g of plant protein to a snack or post-workout drink. It is most practical for people who tolerate pea protein, added fibers, stevia, and monk fruit, and who value a pancake-style flavor over a minimal-ingredient powder. The 25-serving container suits regular users who will check the current package label, especially because the brand's general web listing does not match every nutrition detail shown for this flavor.
Who is it not for
It is not a strong fit for competitive athletes who need a publicly verifiable banned-substance program, or for buyers who require public lot-specific testing for lead, other metals, protein content, and microbiology. Pregnant or nursing people, children, and people managing medical conditions should follow the package caution and consult a clinician. People on sodium-restricted diets should account for the 370 mg sodium per scoop. Anyone with a severe food allergy should seek direct manufacturer confirmation of cross-contact controls.
Integrity
The Cinn-A-Stack retail label identifies pea and pumpkin seed proteins, no added sugar, and no dairy, soy, or wheat. It also lists 3 g fiber per serving from acacia, apple, and blueberry fibers. Those are useful formula details, but neither an organic certification nor a public Non-GMO certification for this exact product was confirmed. No verified packaging recyclability or crop-sourcing documentation was found. The principal health concern is transparency around contaminants. The brand's product page displays a California warning for lead exposure and says it can provide third-party tests on request, but it does not make current lot-specific reports publicly retrievable. Separately, a November 21, 2025 California Proposition 65 notice alleged lead exposure for a different Be Amazing vegan protein flavor, Brown Sugar Oatmeal. That notice is not a finding about this Cinn-A-Stack product, but it reinforces the importance of obtaining the actual lot report.




















