10 Best Sleep Supplements
Please note that we participate in affiliate marketing programs. When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn a commission. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. This comes at no additional cost to you and helps support the resources required to provide valuable content.Advertising Disclosure
Top-rated Sleep Supplements Comparison
1
2
4
5
6
+
7
8
9
Sleep supplements: what to look for
Sleep supplements are intended to support falling asleep, sleep timing, relaxation, or perceived sleep quality. They are not all solving the same problem. Melatonin has the clearest role for some circadian-timing situations, such as jet lag or delayed sleep-wake phase disorder, and may modestly shorten sleep-onset time for some adults. Evidence for chronic insomnia is much weaker, and the supplied reviews repeatedly note that supplements should not replace assessment or evidence-based treatment for persistent insomnia, suspected sleep apnea, severe daytime sleepiness, or other underlying conditions.
The first question is whether the exact product and dose have relevant human evidence. A study of 200 mg L-theanine, 120 mg Shoden ashwagandha, 2 g Magtein magnesium L-threonate, or 28–30 mg standardized saffron does not automatically validate a different extract, dose, combination, or timing. A headline such as “500 mg magnesium” may describe the weight of a magnesium compound rather than elemental magnesium. Likewise, “6,000 mg valerian” or “4,000 mg ashwagandha” may reflect an extract equivalent rather than the amount of extract delivered. Buyers should look for the chemical form, extract ratio or standardization, serving size, timing, and dose of every active ingredient.
Formula design matters as much as an individual ingredient. Many supplied products combine melatonin with valerian, ashwagandha, GABA, 5-HTP, tryptophan, passionflower, chamomile, lemon balm, hops, or other calming ingredients. More ingredients do not mean more reliable sleep, and stacking can increase uncertainty about sedation and interactions. A single active or a short, fully disclosed formula makes it easier to judge the evidence and avoid duplicating ingredients. The product should also state nonactive ingredients, allergens, sweeteners, colors, and capsule materials; “sugar-free,” “vegan,” or “gluten-free” claims remain label statements unless independently verified.
Quality claims need more than “GMP” or “third-party tested.” The strongest batch evidence is a current certificate of analysis matched to the lot on the bottle, showing identity and potency plus relevant heavy-metal, microbial, contaminant, and undeclared-drug screening. A facility GMP listing is not finished-product certification. For external verification, buyers can check whether the exact finished product not merely the company or a different flavor is listed in the USP Dietary Supplement Verification, NSF Certified Dietary Supplements, Informed Choice, or Informed Sport registries. Some supplied products had stronger documentation: one had an NSF finished-product listing and a posted lot report; others had only manufacturer testing statements or reports for selected ingredients.
Finally, assess the advertising and the maker. Claims such as “deep sleep,” “all four sleep stages,” “wake refreshed,” “no grogginess,” or guaranteed insomnia relief are stronger than the evidence supplied for most formulas. Look for a responsible company name, address, lot and expiration information, customer contact, recall process, and a clean regulatory record. Packaging and sourcing claims should identify specific recycled, recyclable, refillable, or responsibly sourced practices rather than relying on words such as “natural” or “sustainable.”
Safety caveats recur across this category. These products are intended for adults and should be kept away from children. Melatonin and multi-ingredient calming formulas can cause drowsiness and may impair driving or machinery use; alcohol, sleep medicines, sedatives, and other calming products can add to that risk. Pregnancy and nursing require clinician guidance. Melatonin, ashwagandha, magnesium, 5-HTP, tryptophan, and botanicals such as valerian or chamomile raise different interaction concerns, including with blood thinners, antidepressants or other serotonin-active medicines, antiseizure drugs, thyroid medicines, immunosuppressants, diabetes or blood-pressure medicines, antibiotics, and bisphosphonates. Kidney disease, liver concerns, thyroid or autoimmune conditions, epilepsy, planned surgery, and unexplained daytime sleepiness also warrant professional advice. One supplied product carried a lead and reproductive-harm warning, and another category product had a documented Canadian recall; buyers should check the current label and lot rather than assume a general quality claim applies to every bottle.
Integrity
The topics below separate likely usefulness from formula safety, label clarity, batch verification, regulatory conduct, and environmental responsibility. Scores are used comparatively within this supplied group; a higher score indicates stronger assessed performance, not proof that a product will work for every buyer.
HHealth & Safety
Evidence-backed sleep benefit
This measures whether the exact ingredients, forms, timing, and daily doses sold have credible human evidence for the sleep benefit claimed. It matters because evidence for melatonin, L-theanine, magnesium, saffron, botanicals, and GABA varies sharply by dose and use. Supplied scores ranged from 56 to 81: higher-scoring products matched studied doses more closely, while lower scores relied on uncertain evidence or undisclosed amounts.
Safe-use guidance
This measures whether the label explains sedation, next-day impairment, driving, interactions, pregnancy or nursing, children, and relevant conditions. Sleep formulas need unusually clear warnings because many combine several calming or serotonin-active ingredients. Scores ranged from 50 to 80. Higher-scoring examples addressed driving, alcohol, medicines, or other practical precautions; lower-scoring products used broad consultation language without naming important risks.
Low-risk formula design
This measures whether dose, combination, and directions avoid unnecessary high-dose or multi-sedative stacking. It matters when melatonin is combined with valerian, ashwagandha, GABA, 5-HTP, tryptophan, or multiple calming botanicals. Scores ranged from 45 to 86. The higher end included a single mineral or single active, while lower scores reflected dense blends, high melatonin, excessive magnesium, or overlapping sedatives.
Batch-tested for what is on the label
This measures whether a current, lot-specific independent report verifies identity and potency and checks relevant contaminants, microbes, and undeclared drugs. It matters because a label or generic “third-party tested” statement does not establish what is in the purchased bottle. Scores ranged from 52 to 82. Higher-scoring products had a matched or more substantial lot report; lower scores lacked a current bottle-specific report.
Transparent additives and allergens
This measures disclosure of allergens, sweeteners, flavorings, colors, capsule materials, and other inactive ingredients. It matters because gummies and drink powders can contain polyols, flavorings, colors, or declared allergen exposures, while capsules may use gelatin or other excipients. Scores ranged from 68 to 87. Higher scores provided complete other-ingredient and allergen statements; lower scores left buyers with less detail.
EEvidence
Clear label, no hidden doses
This measures whether every active, chemical form, extract ratio or standardization, and per-serving dose is disclosed without a proprietary blend. That is essential for comparing a sleep ingredient with human evidence and spotting duplicate sedatives or serotonin-active compounds. Scores ranged from 52 to 90. High scores came from fully itemized labels; low scores reflected hidden blend amounts or conflicting product information.
Independently certified, not self-claimed
This measures whether the exact finished product appears in a credible independent certification registry. It matters because “GMP” and “third-party tested” may describe a facility or brand process rather than the bottle being purchased. Most supplied products scored 68–70 without a verified finished-product listing. The strongest score, 86, belonged to a product listed in the NSF dietary-supplement registry.
Honest sleep claims
This measures whether advertising stays within qualified, evidence-matched structure-function claims instead of promising deep sleep, all sleep stages, no grogginess, or treatment of insomnia. Scores ranged from 30 to 74. Higher-scoring products used more restrained wording; lower-scoring products made broad recovery or guaranteed-outcome suggestions, or had material conflicts between label and sales-page claims.
Traceable maker and clean regulatory record
This measures whether the responsible company, facility, lot identification, contact route, recall process, and regulatory history can be checked. It matters when buyers need to report an adverse event or determine whether a warning applies to their bottle. Scores ranged from 38 to 83. Higher scores reflected identifiable companies and facility records; lower scores reflected certification problems, warnings, or weaker traceability.
EEcology
Lower-waste, responsibly sourced packaging
This measures whether reduced packaging, recyclability, reuse, and botanical sourcing are specifically substantiated and independently checkable. It matters because a pouch, jar, capsule bottle, or powder tub has different material and end-of-life implications. Scores ranged from 68 to 78, but the reviews generally found little product-specific documentation. The higher-scoring gummy had stated recycled and recyclable pouch claims, while most others had unverified conventional packaging.
Full reviews

The Night Before Midnight Maximizer
Overview
This is a 120-capsule, 60-serving gelatin-capsule sleep supplement. The current manufacturer page directs adults to take two capsules 45 to 60 minutes before bed. Each serving is stated to provide 4 mg melatonin, 300 mg magnesium glycinate, 200 mg L-theanine, and seven further amino acid, phospholipid, botanical, and fruit ingredients. The manufacturer plainly lists active doses and does not use a proprietary blend. It also displays a California warning for lead exposure. Its public testing library contains a lot report manufactured in August 2025, but that report documents a different formula, including apigenin and no melatonin. It therefore does not verify the current melatonin-containing product.
What works
- The manufacturer discloses ten active ingredients and per-serving amounts rather than a proprietary blend.
- The 200 mg L-theanine dose matches the dose in the small human sleep-quality trial cited by the manufacturer, although that does not establish effectiveness of the full formula.
- The manufacturer provides a specific pre-bed schedule, adult-only direction, medication and pregnancy consultation advice, and child-storage guidance.
- A publicly posted older lot report includes microbial screening and quantified arsenic, cadmium, mercury, and lead results.
What does not
- The current formula has not been tested as a finished combination in the human studies presented by the manufacturer. The listed evidence is for selected individual ingredients.
- The product carries a California warning for cancer and reproductive harm from lead exposure, a material safety consideration for routine use.
- The posted lot report is not current-formula verification. It lists apigenin but no melatonin, while the live product page lists 4 mg melatonin but no apigenin.
- The website does not fully state the current other ingredients or allergen information, and no finished-product USP, NSF, Informed Choice, or Informed Sport certification was located.
- Marketing claims about deep restorative sleep, lower cortisol, and waking refreshed are broader than the cited ingredient-level evidence.
Who is it for
This product is most specifically suited to an adult who wants a capsule-based, multi-ingredient wind-down supplement and prefers to see the amounts of the ten listed actives before use. It may fit someone seeking occasional support for a consistent bedtime routine who can review the 4 mg melatonin content with a clinician or pharmacist, especially if they use medicines. The 120-capsule bottle is intended as a 60-night supply when used as directed. It is not a substitute for assessment of persistent insomnia.
Who is it not for
It is not appropriate for children or adolescents, and the manufacturer says it is not intended for people under 18. Pregnant or nursing people, anyone taking medication, and people with a medical condition should seek clinician advice before use. Avoid treating this as a low-risk add-on to alcohol, sedatives, or other sleep products because it already combines melatonin with multiple calming ingredients. People seeking a product without a lead exposure warning, a fully disclosed excipient list, or a current matching batch report should look for a more fully documented option.
Integrity
The live manufacturer page identifies a 10-ingredient formula and supplies active doses, use directions, an adult-only restriction, and a lead exposure warning. It says every lot is third-party tested and is made in a GMP-certified facility. A public report for lot 5H06031 records microbiological tests and heavy-metal results, including 0.234 ppm lead, but it is dated August 2025 and describes a formula with apigenin rather than melatonin. It cannot confirm the current formula or current retail batch. No finished-product listing was located in the major independent supplement certification registries checked. The published older lot report identifies an 8-ounce PET plastic bottle, a plastic closure, desiccant, shrink band, and gelatin capsules. The brand provides no specific, independently checkable recycled-content, recyclability, refill, botanical sourcing, or organic certification evidence for this product.

MEDCHOICE 12-in-1 Melatonin Sleep Aid
Overview
This is a 90-capsule nighttime dietary supplement for adults. The label directs users to take two capsules with water at least one hour before bed, providing 45 servings. It combines 5 mg melatonin with 100 mg elemental magnesium from magnesium glycinate, plus L-theanine, valerian, chamomile, GABA, passionflower, lemon balm, ashwagandha, griffonia extract supplying 5-HTP, black pepper extract, and vitamin B6. A publicly accessible product-label image confirms the individual ingredient amounts and extract ratios, rather than a proprietary blend. That is a meaningful transparency strength. The same label carries manufacturer claims of vegan, non-GMO, gluten-free, cGMP-facility production, and third-party lab testing. No current lot-specific certificate or independently listed finished-product certification was located. Human evidence for this exact 12-ingredient formula was not located, and insomnia guidelines advise against melatonin, valerian, chamomile, and passionflower for chronic insomnia.
What works
- The product label clearly discloses all 12 active ingredients, doses, and several extract ratios.
- It provides a specific timing instruction, two capsules at least one hour before bedtime.
- The 5 mg melatonin dose is within the 2 mg to 10 mg range assessed in adult insomnia trials, although those trials do not validate this combined formula.
- The label lists only capsule and processing excipients, with no sweeteners, flavors, or colors listed.
- The label states vegan, gluten-free, and non-GMO, which may help adults screening for those attributes.
What does not
- No current lot-specific independent certificate of analysis was located to confirm potency, contaminants, microbes, or absence of undeclared substances in the purchased batch.
- No independently checkable USP, NSF, Informed Choice, or Informed Sport certification listing for this finished product was located.
- The formula stacks melatonin with several potentially sedating ingredients and includes 5-HTP, yet the warning is broad rather than specifically naming sedatives, antidepressants, driving impairment, thyroid disease, or autoimmune conditions.
- The promotional claim of energized mornings without grogginess is not well aligned with known melatonin-associated sleepiness and daytime drowsiness in some users.
- Evidence does not establish that this exact multi-ingredient serving improves chronic insomnia, and current VA and DoD guidance suggests against several of its sleep ingredients for that purpose.
Who is it for
This product is most suited to an adult who wants a capsule rather than a sweetened gummy, prefers a fully quantified multi-ingredient label, and has already reviewed the formula with a clinician or pharmacist. Its defined two-capsule, one-hour pre-bed routine may fit someone using melatonin only for occasional, short-term schedule disruption rather than as treatment for chronic insomnia. It is more workable for people who specifically want a vegan capsule and who are not combining it with other sleep aids, alcohol, or interacting medicines.
Who is it not for
It is not suited to children, pregnant or nursing people, or adults seeking treatment for persistent insomnia, sleep apnea, or unexplained daytime sleepiness. People using antidepressants or other serotonin-affecting medicines should avoid self-starting it because it contains griffonia-derived 5-HTP. It also warrants clinical review for people taking sedatives, blood thinners, anti-seizure medicines, thyroid hormone, diabetes or blood-pressure medicines, or immunosuppressants. People with thyroid or autoimmune disorders, liver concerns, or upcoming surgery should choose a clinician-guided approach instead.
Integrity
The accessible label identifies 5 mg melatonin per serving, 100 mg magnesium from magnesium glycinate, and separately quantified botanicals and amino-acid-like ingredients. It also lists the nonactive ingredients, which are a vegetable capsule, vegetable magnesium stearate, silicon dioxide, and rice flour. The bottle makes vegan, gluten-free, non-GMO, cGMP-facility, and third-party-testing claims, but these are manufacturer statements rather than independently verified finished-product certifications. Safety is the defining concern. Melatonin can cause sleepiness and may require medical supervision with epilepsy or blood-thinning medicines. Ashwagandha may cause drowsiness, has rare liver-injury reports, and can interact with sedatives, thyroid medicines, immunosuppressants, and some diabetes or blood-pressure medicines. The formula also includes 5-HTP, which needs professional review with antidepressants. No specific recycled-content, recyclability, reduced-packaging, organic, or responsibly sourced botanical documentation was located.

Relaxium Sleep Aid with Melatonin 5mg
Overview
Relaxium Sleep is a 60-vegan-capsule dietary supplement sold as 30 nightly servings. The manufacturer directs adults to take two capsules 30 to 60 minutes before bed. Each serving is listed with 5 mg melatonin, 500 mg L-tryptophan, 100 mg magnesium from oxide, citrate, and bisglycinate, 125 mg standardized ashwagandha, 100 mg GABA, plus chamomile and passionflower. The formula also contains 228.9 mg Valerest, a proprietary valerian and hops blend, so the individual valerian and hops doses are not disclosed. The maker publishes a 40-person study of a closely matching formula, but FDA's April 2025 warning letter raised concerns about the study being conducted without the required investigational application and about the data's validity and integrity. Melatonin has human evidence for modest sleep-onset help, while support for chronic insomnia and the full multi-ingredient formula is less certain.
What works
- The current manufacturer ingredient list gives amounts for melatonin, L-tryptophan, magnesium, ashwagandha, GABA, chamomile, and passionflower.
- The two-capsule serving supplies 5 mg melatonin, an ingredient with human evidence for improving sleep-onset latency in some settings.
- The listed directions include avoiding alcohol, driving, and machinery, and advise consulting a clinician during pregnancy, nursing, or medication use.
- The current manufacturer page discloses the capsule and other ingredients, including hypromellose, dicalcium phosphate, silica, and magnesium stearate.
What does not
- Valerest is a proprietary valerian and hops blend, so buyers cannot assess the individual doses of its two sedating botanicals.
- This combines melatonin, valerian, hops, ashwagandha, L-tryptophan, GABA, and other calming ingredients, which raises avoidable interaction and next-day sedation considerations.
- No current lot-specific independent certificate of analysis or recognized finished-product certification listing was located.
- FDA issued the responsible company a warning letter on April 30, 2025 concerning its Relaxium clinical study, including concerns about regulatory compliance and study-data integrity.
- Marketing claims about reliably staying asleep, waking refreshed, and no dependency go further than the limited evidence for the complete formula.
Who is it for
This format fits an adult who wants a premeasured, capsule-based bedtime supplement and is specifically looking for a melatonin-containing product rather than a prescription sleep medicine. It may be most relevant for occasional difficulty falling asleep or a disrupted schedule, where melatonin's evidence is more applicable than it is for chronic insomnia. The 30-night bottle and two-capsule routine suit someone able to take it consistently 30 to 60 minutes before bed and who has reviewed medication interactions with a clinician or pharmacist.
Who is it not for
It is not suited to children or households where unsupervised child access is possible. Avoid it during pregnancy or breastfeeding. People with liver disease, thyroid or autoimmune disorders, planned surgery, or hormone-sensitive prostate cancer should discuss the ashwagandha component with a clinician. It also needs clinician or pharmacist review for people using blood thinners, sedatives, antiseizure medicines, antidepressants or other serotonin-active medicines, thyroid medicine, diabetes or blood-pressure medicine, or immunosuppressants. Do not combine it with alcohol or use before driving.
Integrity
The product uses a vegan hypromellose capsule and the current manufacturer page names its nonactive ingredients. Its label guidance warns against use with alcohol, driving, or operating machinery, and says to seek professional advice during pregnancy, nursing, or medication use. That is useful baseline guidance, but it does not fully spell out the interaction concerns relevant to ashwagandha, melatonin, and L-tryptophan. No current lot-matched independent laboratory report, USP verification, NSF dietary-supplement certification, or other externally checkable finished-product certification was located. FDA issued American Behavioral Research Institute, the listed distributor behind the formula, a warning letter dated April 30, 2025 over its conduct of a Relaxium sleep study. The company makes Made in USA and quality claims, but I found no specific, independently checkable packaging-reduction, recyclability, or botanical-sourcing program for this product.

NUTRAHARMONY GABA L-Theanine 900 mg Mood Support
Overview
This is a 120-capsule adult supplement intended for once-daily use, two capsules with water. The current product label and marketplace listing identify 750 mg GABA and 150 mg L-theanine per serving, plus magnesium, vitamin B6, and vitamin B12. The listing names magnesium oxide and pyridoxine HCl, and lists rice flour, cellulose capsule, and magnesium stearate as other ingredients. Its sleep positioning rests mainly on calming ingredients rather than melatonin. Human evidence supports a modest improvement in subjective sleep outcomes with L-theanine overall, but the research does not establish this exact GABA and L-theanine formula as a treatment for insomnia. The brand states that the product is laboratory tested and made in a GMP-certified facility, but a current lot-specific independent certificate of analysis was not publicly available for verification.
What works
- The formula provides clearly stated per-serving amounts of 750 mg GABA and 150 mg L-theanine, without a proprietary blend.
- Human meta-analysis evidence supports modest subjective sleep benefits from L-theanine, although not this exact combination.
- The current label includes adult-only and pregnancy or nursing warnings, a medication consultation warning, and a maximum daily direction.
- A 120-capsule bottle provides 60 days at the stated two-capsule daily use.
- The marketplace ingredient statement discloses rice flour, cellulose capsule, and magnesium stearate, with no sweeteners or flavoring listed.
What does not
- The label does not specifically warn about additive drowsiness with sleep medicines, sedatives, alcohol, or next-day impairment.
- GABA may lower blood pressure in some users, yet the product warning does not specifically flag antihypertensive medication or low blood pressure.
- The product-specific sleep claim is not backed by a publicly located human trial of this exact formula and dose.
- Laboratory-tested and GMP claims are manufacturer statements, not substitutes for a publicly accessible lot-matched independent test report.
- No exact finished-product certification listing was identified in the checked USP, NSF, or Informed Sport registries.
Who is it for
This product suits an adult who wants a melatonin-free capsule option for occasional winding down, and who prefers a simple GABA and L-theanine formula over a broad herbal sleep blend. Its 60-day supply may suit someone comfortable with a two-capsule daily routine and with reviewing supplements alongside a clinician or pharmacist. The evidence is most relevant to modest subjective improvements in sleep quality or sleep onset, not to diagnosing or treating chronic insomnia.
Who is it not for
It is not appropriate for children, pregnancy, or nursing, consistent with the product warning and the limited safety data for supplemental GABA and high-dose L-theanine in these groups. People using benzodiazepines, zolpidem, other sedating medicines, alcohol, or blood-pressure medicines should not treat the listing's general medication warning as sufficient individualized advice. It also is not a substitute for clinical assessment of persistent insomnia, sleep apnea symptoms, severe depression, or medication-related sleep problems.
Integrity
GABA has not been associated with serious adverse events in the clinical evidence reviewed by USP, but it can cause a transient blood-pressure reduction. L-theanine may add to drowsiness from sleep medicines. The product does state adult-only use, medication consultation, and avoidance in pregnancy or nursing, but it does not give targeted guidance for sedative stacking, blood-pressure treatment, or driving and next-day alertness. The current marketplace label identifies a vegan cellulose capsule and discloses rice flour and magnesium stearate. It also makes non-GMO, gluten-free, soy-free, dye-free, made-in-USA, GMP, and laboratory-tested claims. The responsible company is identified as Nutra Harmony LLC. No current lot-matched independent test report, finished-product certification registry entry, or substantiated reduced-waste packaging or responsible-sourcing documentation was located. No product-specific FDA recall or warning letter was identified in the checked public records.

Arrae Magnesium Complex, 250 mg, 90 Count
Overview
This is a 90-capsule magnesium supplement, providing 30 daily servings of three capsules. Its label lists 250 mg elemental magnesium per serving from magnesium L-threonate, magnesium bisglycinate chelate, and magnesium citrate. The manufacturer directs adults to take it daily, during the day or at night. The L-threonate portion is stated by the manufacturer to include 1,000 mg of Magtein, which matches the ingredient amount used in one small, 21-day placebo-controlled sleep study. That study supports a plausible, modest sleep-quality benefit for adults with self-reported sleep problems, but it does not establish treatment for chronic insomnia. A current Eurofins report for lot 250505 found 282 mg magnesium per serving and passed listed heavy-metal, microbiological, and selected adulterant screens. The individual amounts of bisglycinate and citrate remain hidden within a proprietary blend.
What works
- A current, lot-numbered Eurofins report verified magnesium above the 250 mg label claim for the tested lot.
- The posted lot report passed screens for lead, arsenic, cadmium, mercury, common microbes, and selected drug adulterants.
- The formula avoids melatonin, antihistamines, herbs, and other sedating ingredients that can complicate sleep-supplement use.
- The label identifies the three magnesium forms and fully lists the capsule and flow-agent ingredients.
- A human placebo-controlled trial used the same 1,000 mg daily Magtein amount stated by the manufacturer.
What does not
- The label uses a proprietary blend, so buyers cannot tell how much magnesium comes from bisglycinate versus citrate.
- The posted laboratory report is for one identified lot, not a certification program that continually audits the finished product.
- The safety panel advises pregnancy, nursing, people under 16, and people under medical care to consult a professional, but it does not specifically explain magnesium's antibiotic and osteoporosis-drug timing interactions.
- Magnesium citrate can cause diarrhea, nausea, or abdominal cramping, particularly in sensitive users.
- Sleep evidence is promising but limited, with a small, short magnesium L-threonate trial and mixed evidence for magnesium supplements overall.
Who is it for
This product suits an adult who wants a non-melatonin magnesium option for occasional poor sleep, relaxation, or general magnesium intake, and who is comfortable taking three capsules daily. It is most relevant for someone seeking the specific 1,000 mg Magtein amount stated by the manufacturer, since that amount was used in a short human sleep study. It also suits buyers who value a publicly posted, lot-specific lab report covering magnesium content, heavy metals, microbes, and selected adulterants.
Who is it not for
It is not a substitute for evaluation of chronic insomnia, sleep apnea, severe depression, or persistent daytime sleepiness. People with kidney disease, significant gastrointestinal sensitivity, or a history of magnesium-related diarrhea should seek individualized clinical advice. Anyone taking tetracycline or quinolone antibiotics, oral bisphosphonates, diuretics, or long-term acid-reducing medicines should ask a pharmacist or clinician about use and timing. Pregnant or nursing people, those under 16, and households where children could access capsules need extra caution.
Integrity
The most concrete quality finding is a manufacturer-posted Eurofins Certificate of Analysis for lot 250505, dated September 2, 2025 and expiring June 2027. It measured 282 mg magnesium per three-capsule serving against a 250 mg claim. It also reported low measured arsenic and lead, below the report's specifications, with cadmium and mercury below reporting limits. The same report recorded absent E. coli, Salmonella, and Staphylococcus aureus, plus low yeast, mold, and aerobic counts. The product uses an HPMC vegetable capsule and ground rice hull, with no sugar, flavoring, or color listed. The label also states vegan, gluten-free, and nut-free. The manufacturer provides a named distributor address and a lot code on the label. No finished-product listing was found in the NSF dietary-supplement registry, and no USP verification was established. No substantiated packaging recyclability, recycled-content, or ingredient-sourcing claims were found, so its environmental footprint cannot be meaningfully assessed from the available evidence.

Cortisol Balance Supplement for Women
Overview
This is a 60-capsule, once-daily herbal and nutrient product marketed for cortisol balance, mood, focus, and sleep. The bottle label identifies 150 mg ashwagandha root powder, 100 mg rhodiola root extract, 75 mg L-theanine, 40 mg holy basil leaf, 15 mg sunflower-derived phosphatidylserine, 20 mg magnesium oxide, and vitamins B6 and B12 per capsule. It also contains a 197 mg proprietary blend of licorice root, eleuthero root, and magnolia bark. The disclosed L-theanine and ashwagandha amounts are below the doses most consistently associated with sleep benefit in human reviews, and the ashwagandha is not identified as a standardized extract. The manufacturer provides an adult-use, pregnancy, nursing, and medication consultation warning, but no current lot-specific independent laboratory report or finished-product certification was located.
What works
- The label provides a practical one-capsule daily schedule and 60 stated servings.
- Most non-blend ingredients and their per-capsule amounts are printed on the label.
- The label identifies a vegetable-cellulose capsule and lists magnesium stearate and silicon dioxide as other ingredients.
- The label tells adults taking medication to consult a physician and excludes pregnancy and nursing.
What does not
- The 197 mg proprietary blend hides the individual amounts of licorice, eleuthero, and magnolia, which matters because licorice can be clinically significant for some users.
- Sleep evidence does not closely match the sold formula. Ashwagandha trials showing stronger sleep effects commonly used standardized extracts at 600 mg daily or more, while L-theanine reviews most often support roughly 200 to 450 mg daily.
- The warning is broad rather than ingredient-specific. It does not clearly flag ashwagandha concerns involving thyroid disease, autoimmune conditions, sedatives, anticonvulsants, immunosuppressants, diabetes drugs, blood-pressure drugs, or surgery.
- No lot-matched certificate of analysis, contaminant panel, or externally checkable finished-product certification was found.
Who is it for
This product is most suited to a healthy adult who wants a once-daily capsule with modest amounts of several stress-oriented ingredients, rather than a high-dose single-ingredient sleep aid. It may also suit someone who values a vegan capsule and wants the label to disclose most active amounts and common capsule excipients. The user should be comfortable treating the sleep and cortisol language as tentative wellness positioning, because the available human sleep evidence does not directly validate this exact formula or these doses.
Who is it not for
It is not well suited to pregnancy or nursing, children, or people using prescription medicines without pharmacist or clinician review. In particular, people with thyroid or autoimmune disease, liver concerns, diabetes, blood-pressure treatment, seizure treatment, use of sedatives, or planned surgery should not rely on the general label warning alone. It is also a poor fit for anyone seeking a fully quantified formula, independently certified supplement, current lot-specific potency and contaminant results, or a sleep product whose ingredients match studied doses.
Integrity
The bottle names NUTRA HARMONY LLC in Casper, Wyoming and supplies a phone number, giving buyers a responsible party and contact route. Its manufacturer-stated features include a vegan capsule, non-GMO claim, and manufacture in the United States. The label also gives a specific facility allergen statement, noting processing in a facility that handles milk, eggs, wheat, soy, fish, tree nuts, and peanuts. The product image displays a GMP claim, but no externally checkable listing for this finished product was located in major supplement certification registries. No current lot-specific independent certificate was found to confirm identity, potency, microbes, heavy metals, or undeclared substances. FDA database searches did not identify a matching recall or warning letter, but absence from those databases is not product testing. The bottle is plastic, and no substantiated recycled-content, recyclability, refill, botanical sourcing, or other packaging-impact documentation was located.

Sleep Support Supplement with Magnesium and Ashwagandha
Overview
This is a 90-capsule, melatonin-free nighttime supplement. The bottle provides 45 servings, with directions to take two capsules with water at least 60 minutes before bed. Its disclosed formula supplies 70 mg elemental magnesium from 500 mg magnesium glycinate, plus L-tryptophan, valerian, chamomile, GABA, passionflower, lemon balm, L-theanine, ashwagandha, griffonia extract supplying 5-HTP, black pepper extract, and vitamin B6. The full Supplement Facts panel, extract ratios, excipients, directions, and broad safety cautions are visible on the manufacturer label. Evidence does not establish that this exact 12-ingredient combination improves sleep. Independent reviews and NCCIH describe the sleep evidence for valerian and several botanical sleep ingredients as inconsistent or limited. The bottle claims third-party testing and production in a cGMP-certified facility, but no current lot-specific report or finished-product certification registry listing was located.
What works
- The label itemizes all active ingredients, doses, botanical parts, and stated extract ratios, with no proprietary blend.
- The two-capsule serving provides 45 planned nightly uses and gives a specific timing instruction.
- The label cautions about drowsiness, driving, alcohol, pregnancy or nursing, medical conditions, and medication use.
- The product is explicitly melatonin-free, a concrete format choice for adults avoiding melatonin.
What does not
- Human evidence was not located for this exact multi-ingredient formula at its sold doses, and evidence for valerian and chamomile in insomnia remains inconsistent or inconclusive.
- This is a sedative and serotonergic stack, including valerian, GABA, 5-HTP, and L-tryptophan. NCCIH flags serotonin-toxicity concerns for L-tryptophan with medicines affecting serotonin metabolism.
- The caution panel is broad but does not specifically identify antidepressants, thyroid disease, autoimmune conditions, liver-risk concerns, or anti-seizure medicines relevant to ingredients in the formula.
- Third-party testing and cGMP-facility production are manufacturer claims. No current lot-specific certificate of analysis or independently certified finished-product listing was found.
- Marketing statements about faster sleep, no dependency, and waking without grogginess go beyond the demonstrated evidence for this formula.
Who is it for
This product is most suited to an adult who specifically wants a melatonin-free capsule for an occasional bedtime wind-down, values seeing each ingredient and extract ratio, and is not using alcohol, sedatives, or medicines that affect serotonin. The 90-capsule bottle is a 45-night supply when used as directed. It is most appropriate for someone who treats it as a supplement with uncertain sleep benefit, rather than as a treatment for persistent insomnia or a substitute for clinical sleep care.
Who is it not for
It is not appropriate for children, pregnancy, breastfeeding, or anyone preparing for surgery without clinician direction. People taking antidepressants, other serotonin-affecting medicines, sedatives, anti-seizure medicines, thyroid hormone, diabetes or blood-pressure medicines should seek medical advice before use. It also does not fit people with autoimmune or thyroid disorders, liver concerns, ragweed-related chamomile allergy, suspected sleep apnea, or chronic insomnia needing an evidence-based assessment. Avoid combining it with alcohol and do not drive after taking it.
Integrity
The manufacturer label identifies a responsible distributor in Alpine, California, provides a telephone number and email contact, and instructs users to check the bottle bottom for lot and expiration information. It also discloses microcrystalline cellulose, L-leucine, and hypromellose, and carries manufacturer claims of vegan, non-GMO, and gluten-free. The displayed magnesium amount is 70 mg elemental magnesium, below the adult supplemental upper limit of 350 mg. Important limits remain. The brand claims third-party testing and a cGMP-certified facility, but no lot-matched independent certificate of analysis was publicly available to verify identity, potency, microbial testing, contaminants, or undeclared substances. No USP, NSF, Informed Choice, or Informed Sport listing for this finished product was located. No product-specific packaging material, recyclability, botanical sourcing, organic status, or chain-of-custody evidence was provided, so environmental claims cannot be substantiated.

Sports Research Sleep Complex Vegan Supplement
Overview
This is a melatonin-free, adult bedtime supplement supplied as 60 vegetarian capsules, or 30 two-capsule servings. The label directs users to take two capsules 30 to 45 minutes before bed with a light snack. Each serving lists 140 mg magnesium from hydroxide, glycinate, and citrate, plus 200 mg valerian root extract, 200 mg L-theanine, 125 mg PharmaGABA, and 100 mg 5-HTP. Its most consequential strength is that the active doses are disclosed rather than hidden in a proprietary blend. The 200 mg L-theanine dose overlaps with ranges assessed in recent human sleep reviews. However, the finished five-ingredient combination has not been independently shown to improve sleep, and evidence for valerian in chronic insomnia remains inconsistent. Retailer-hosted label information also provides substantial use warnings, but no current lot-specific independent certificate of analysis was located.
What works
- The full serving amounts for all five listed active ingredients are disclosed.
- The 200 mg L-theanine serving matches a dose range examined in human sleep research.
- The label gives specific bedtime timing and advises taking the capsules with a light snack.
- Warnings cover drowsiness, driving, machinery, alcohol, pregnancy or nursing, kidney disease, and prescription medicines including antidepressants.
- The product is melatonin-free and uses a vegetarian capsule, with gluten-free and non-GMO status stated by the manufacturer.
What does not
- The formula stacks several calming or sedating ingredients, including valerian, GABA, L-theanine, magnesium, and 5-HTP, which supports the need for its driving and alcohol warnings.
- 5-HTP can be problematic with serotonin-affecting medicines, and the label's broad antidepressant warning does not name drug classes or serotonin-syndrome symptoms.
- Valerian evidence for insomnia is inconsistent, and authoritative sleep guidance has recommended against it for chronic insomnia.
- No current lot-matched independent laboratory report was located to confirm potency, contaminants, microbes, or absence of undeclared drugs for a purchased bottle.
- The label names three magnesium forms but does not disclose how the 140 mg total is divided among them.
Who is it for
This product fits an adult seeking a melatonin-free capsule for occasional bedtime relaxation who can take it 30 to 45 minutes before sleep and does not need to drive, work, or drink alcohol afterward. It is most suited to someone who values a disclosed multi-ingredient formula and specifically wants 200 mg L-theanine, a dose with some human sleep evidence. It is not a targeted treatment for diagnosed insomnia, and the 30-serving container suits a short trial only when a clinician or pharmacist has cleared relevant medicines.
Who is it not for
It is not suited to children or to people who are pregnant or nursing. Avoid self-starting it if taking antidepressants or other medicines that affect serotonin, or when using alcohol, sedatives, or other sleep products, because 5-HTP and the calming ingredient stack raise interaction and impairment concerns. People with kidney disease should follow the label's instruction to consult a clinician. Those with chronic insomnia, sleep apnea, unexplained daytime sleepiness, or persistent sleep disruption need assessment and evidence-based care rather than relying on this blend.
Integrity
The label provides better-than-minimal practical safety direction. It limits use to adults, warns against alcohol, driving, and heavy machinery, advises against use during pregnancy or nursing, and flags kidney disease and prescription medicines, including antidepressants. That matters because the formula combines multiple calming agents and includes 5-HTP, a serotonin precursor. The active ingredients and their serving doses are visible, and the capsule uses hypromellose with a short other-ingredients list that includes vegetable magnesium stearate and organic rice hulls. The manufacturer states that the product is gluten-free, non-GMO, vegan, and made in the United States with domestic and international ingredients. These are manufacturer or retailer-hosted claims, not independently confirmed finished-product certification. No listing for this exact sleep product was located in major independent supplement-certification registries, and no current lot-specific certificate of analysis was publicly available. No product-specific recall or FDA warning letter was located in the searches performed. Packaging and botanical sourcing claims were not substantiated beyond the stated organic rice hull excipient.

BIOptimizers Sleep Breakthrough Supplement
Overview
Sleep Breakthrough is a 60-capsule, melatonin-free bedtime supplement. The manufacturer directs adults to take two capsules about one hour before bed, making the bottle a 30-night supply. Its current Supplement Facts panel lists vitamin B6, 35 mg magnesium glycinate, zinc, 588 mg L-glycine, 200 mg each of L-taurine and L-theanine, and 75 mg magnolia bark extract standardized to 2% honokiol plus magnolol. The most evidence-aligned component is 200 mg L-theanine. Human systematic reviews report modest sleep benefits at doses that include this amount, although the finished multi-ingredient product itself has not been clinically tested. The glycine amount is well below the 3 g used in small human sleep studies. The manufacturer fully discloses doses and excipients, but its product pages make unusually absolute claims about rapid sleep and deep sleep that exceed what the available finished-product evidence establishes.
What works
- The full two-capsule formula, ingredient forms, magnolia standardization, and excipients are disclosed without a proprietary blend.
- It supplies 200 mg L-theanine, a dose within ranges evaluated in human sleep trials and systematic reviews.
- The capsule formula is melatonin-free, which may suit adults specifically avoiding supplemental melatonin.
- The label identifies a vegetable capsule and simple excipients, with no sweeteners, flavors, or color additives listed.
What does not
- There is no publicly available lot-specific independent laboratory report for the bottle a buyer receives, so label potency and contaminant screening cannot be independently checked.
- No finished-product certification was located in the major NSF, USP, Informed Choice, or Informed Sport registries for this sleep capsule.
- The manufacturer’s U.S. caution is broad but does not specifically flag next-day impairment, sedative stacking, or particular medication classes despite its strong sleep-inducing claims.
- Marketing language such as falling asleep instantly, passing out on the couch, and reliable epic sleep goes beyond the modest, ingredient-level human evidence.
Who is it for
This product is most suited to an adult who prefers a capsule over a flavored drink, wants a melatonin-free evening supplement, and understands that the most supportable sleep ingredient is 200 mg L-theanine rather than the formula as a whole. It may fit someone seeking a simple 30-night trial for occasional difficulty winding down, provided they are not combining it with alcohol, sedating medicines, or other nighttime supplements and can discuss use with a clinician if they take medications.
Who is it not for
It is not appropriate for children or for anyone who needs to drive, work, or remain alert after taking a sleep supplement. Pregnant or nursing people, people with serious medical conditions, and those using prescription medicines should seek clinician advice first. People using benzodiazepines, sleep medicines, anti-anxiety medicines, alcohol, or other sedating products should avoid self-stacking this formula. It is also a poor fit for someone seeking a product backed by lot-specific independent testing, finished-product certification, or a clinically tested formula for chronic insomnia.
Integrity
The official label is unusually clear for a multi-ingredient sleep product. It identifies magnesium as glycinate, vitamin B6 as pyridoxal-5-phosphate, zinc as picolinate, and magnolia bark as a 2% honokiol plus magnolol extract. It also lists hypromellose, microcrystalline cellulose, and ascorbyl palmitate. The product is described as vegan, gluten-free, and soy-free, and its official product information identifies BIOptimizers USA Inc. in Reno, Nevada as the responsible business. The manufacturer states that the product is made in a GMP-certified facility and backed by a certificate of analysis, but no current lot-matched report or independent finished-product certification was publicly verifiable. No specific recycled-content, recyclability, refill, botanical sourcing, organic, or third-party environmental certification evidence was located for this bottle. The plastic capsule-bottle format therefore has an unsubstantiated environmental profile.

Sports Research Magtein Magnesium L-Threonate 2000mg 90 Count
Overview
This is a 90-capsule magnesium L-threonate supplement. The labeled daily serving is three vegan capsules with food, providing 2,000 mg of Magtein magnesium L-threonate and 144 mg elemental magnesium. The bottle supplies 30 daily servings. It is positioned for cognitive health, rather than marketed on its label as a treatment for insomnia. The form and sold dose match a six-week, randomized placebo-controlled trial of 2 g daily Magtein in 100 adults with self-reported dissatisfied sleep. That study found improvement in sleep-related impairment, but not in overall sleep disturbance, restorative sleep, or wearable-measured sleep outcomes. The study was funded by Magtein supplier Threotech. The formula is unusually simple, with hypromellose, rice flour, and rice hulls as the only listed inactive ingredients.
What works
- The disclosed 2 g Magtein daily amount matches the dose used in a randomized six-week sleep study.
- One active ingredient avoids combining magnesium with melatonin, antihistamines, botanicals, or other sedatives.
- The current label clearly states elemental magnesium, source form, serving size, and all three inactive ingredients.
- The label identifies a responsible US distributor, gives a phone contact, and says the lot number and best-by date are printed on the bottle.
- Sports Research is listed by Vegan Action as a company authorized to use the Certified Vegan logo, and the product label states vegan, gluten-free, and non-GMO claims.
What does not
- Sleep evidence remains limited. The matching-dose trial found no overall advantage for sleep disturbance, restorative sleep, or wearable sleep measures, and it was funded by the Magtein supplier.
- The label's broad advice to consult a clinician for prescription medicines does not name key magnesium timing interactions with tetracycline or quinolone antibiotics and oral bisphosphonates.
- The label says third-party tested, but no current lot-specific certificate of analysis for this finished product was publicly available to verify potency, metals, microbes, or undeclared substances.
- No current finished-product listing was located in the NSF Certified Dietary Supplements registry, USP verification program, or Informed Sport registry.
- The manufacturer states that this form uniquely crosses the blood-brain barrier. That comparative mechanism statement is stronger than the sleep evidence established in human trials.
Who is it for
This product fits an adult who specifically wants the patented Magtein form at the 2 g daily amount studied in a short sleep and cognition trial, and who prefers a capsule without melatonin or a multi-sedative blend. It also suits people who need a vegan capsule and want every active and inactive ingredient stated plainly. The 90-capsule bottle is a 30-day supply at the labeled three-capsule daily use, so it is most practical for someone comfortable taking multiple capsules and tracking response over several weeks.
Who is it not for
It is not a substitute for evaluation or evidence-based care for chronic insomnia, sleep apnea, severe daytime sleepiness, or a new change in sleep. Children and households where children or pets could access supplements need extra caution because the label says to keep it out of reach. Pregnant or nursing people, people with kidney disease or another diagnosed condition, and anyone using prescription medicines should seek clinician or pharmacist advice first. People taking tetracycline or quinolone antibiotics, or oral bisphosphonates, need individualized timing guidance because magnesium can reduce absorption.
Integrity
The label documents 144 mg supplemental elemental magnesium per day, below the NIH adult upper limit of 350 mg per day for magnesium from supplements and medicines. It has no added sugar, flavor, or color, and uses a hypromellose vegetable capsule with rice flour and rice hulls. Magnesium can still cause gastrointestinal effects, and it can interfere with absorption of tetracycline and quinolone antibiotics and oral bisphosphonates when taken too close together. The product label carries Certified Vegan, NSF Gluten-Free, and Non-GMO Project claims. Vegan Action confirms Sports Research Corporation is authorized to use its Certified Vegan logo, but a current public finished-product certification listing for this exact magnesium product was not located in major supplement certification registries. The bottle is labeled recyclable HDPE, number 2, and BPA-free. No product-specific evidence was found for recycled content, refill options, life-cycle impacts, or responsibly sourced ingredient certification. No relevant FDA recall or safety alert was located in the current public recall listings checked.




















