10 Best Magnesium Citrate

Unearth the secrets of Magnesium Citrate! Discover its myriad of health benefits and how it outshines other supplements on our comparison page. Your health journey starts here!

Top-rated Magnesium Citrate Comparison

1

Best Overall
aSquared Nutrition Magnesium Citrate 833mg Supplement
High-strength formula supports muscles, heart, and bones.
Vegan-friendly for diverse dietary needs.
Convenient 200-count bottle for extended use.
9.8

(701 reviews)

Ranking details

100+ bought in past month

available_at_amazon
aSquared Nutrition Magnesium Citrate 833mg Supplement
9.8

(701 reviews)

High-strength formula supports muscles, heart, and bones.
Vegan-friendly for diverse dietary needs.
Convenient 200-count bottle for extended use.

100+ bought in past month

available_at_amazon

2

Popular
Magnesium Citrate 500 MG High Absorption Supplement
Supports calm and relaxation effectively.
High absorption rate for better results.
Long 4-month supply for convenience.
9.6

(23,871 reviews)

Ranking details
Magnesium Citrate 500 MG High Absorption Supplement
9.6

(23,871 reviews)

Supports calm and relaxation effectively.
High absorption rate for better results.
Long 4-month supply for convenience.

3

Micro Ingredients Pure Magnesium Citrate Powder, 2 Pounds
Pure and free from any fillers.
Supports relaxation and nutrient absorption.
Suitable for vegan diets.
9.3

(4,562 reviews)

Ranking details

10% off

Micro Ingredients Pure Magnesium Citrate Powder, 2 Pounds
9.3

(4,562 reviews)

10% off

Pure and free from any fillers.
Supports relaxation and nutrient absorption.
Suitable for vegan diets.

4

NatureBell Magnesium Citrate 500mg, 480 Count
High purity 500mg elemental magnesium citrate.
Supports heart, muscle, and digestive health.
Non-GMO and gluten-free formula.
8.9

(7,567 reviews)

Ranking details
NatureBell Magnesium Citrate 500mg, 480 Count
8.9

(7,567 reviews)

High purity 500mg elemental magnesium citrate.
Supports heart, muscle, and digestive health.
Non-GMO and gluten-free formula.

5

Hot Deal
Magnesium Gummies Sugar-Free for Kids & Adults
Sugar-free formula, perfect for health-conscious families.
400 mg of magnesium per serving.
Suitable for both kids and adults.
8.7

(1,488 reviews)

Ranking details

15% off

Magnesium Gummies Sugar-Free for Kids & Adults
8.7

(1,488 reviews)

15% off

Sugar-free formula, perfect for health-conscious families.
400 mg of magnesium per serving.
Suitable for both kids and adults.

6

Clean Nutraceuticals Magnesium Complex 2285mg with Vitamins & Minerals
Comprehensive blend of multiple magnesium forms.
Includes essential vitamins and minerals.
High potency for effective supplementation.
8.5

(4,895 reviews)

Ranking details

6% off

Clean Nutraceuticals Magnesium Complex 2285mg with Vitamins & Minerals
8.5

(4,895 reviews)

6% off

Comprehensive blend of multiple magnesium forms.
Includes essential vitamins and minerals.
High potency for effective supplementation.

7

Best Affordable
Klaire Labs Magnesium Citrate Supplement
Highly bioavailable for optimal absorption.
Supports energy, muscles, and cognitive function.
Trusted brand with positive customer feedback.
8.3

(469 reviews)

Ranking details
Klaire Labs Magnesium Citrate Supplement
8.3

(469 reviews)

Highly bioavailable for optimal absorption.
Supports energy, muscles, and cognitive function.
Trusted brand with positive customer feedback.

8

BiOptimizers Magnesium Breakthrough 4.0 Supplement
Contains seven diverse forms of magnesium.
Supports natural sleep and brain health.
Designed for comprehensive magnesium absorption.
8.1

(19,074 reviews)

Ranking details
BiOptimizers Magnesium Breakthrough 4.0 Supplement
8.1

(19,074 reviews)

Contains seven diverse forms of magnesium.
Supports natural sleep and brain health.
Designed for comprehensive magnesium absorption.

9

DR. MORITZ Sugar-Free Calm Magnesium Gummies
Sugar-free, suitable for various dietary needs.
Raspberry flavor makes them enjoyable for kids.
Includes magnesium citrate for better absorption.
7.8

(5,827 reviews)

Ranking details
DR. MORITZ Sugar-Free Calm Magnesium Gummies
7.8

(5,827 reviews)

Sugar-free, suitable for various dietary needs.
Raspberry flavor makes them enjoyable for kids.
Includes magnesium citrate for better absorption.

10

SonoHealth Magnesium Complex Spectrum 5
Combines five types of magnesium for effectiveness.
High absorption formula supports energy and nerves.
Vegan and non-GMO for clean nutrition.
7.6

(1,960 reviews)

Ranking details

25% Coupon

SonoHealth Magnesium Complex Spectrum 5
7.6

(1,960 reviews)

25% Coupon

Combines five types of magnesium for effectiveness.
High absorption formula supports energy and nerves.
Vegan and non-GMO for clean nutrition.

Magnesium citrate: what to look for

Magnesium citrate is sold as capsules, powders, and gummies to provide supplemental magnesium. Whether a product is useful depends first on how much **elemental magnesium** it supplies not the heavier total weight of the magnesium citrate compound. A bottle may headline a figure such as 833 mg, 2,150 mg, or 3,300 mg, while the nutritionally relevant amount is much lower or is not clearly established. Look for a Supplement Facts panel that states elemental magnesium per serving and explains how many capsules, gummies, or scoops make that serving.

Serving size and daily directions should be easy to follow. A measured powder scoop, a clearly defined capsule serving, or a stated gummy routine reduces dosing uncertainty. Magnesium citrate is a soluble form that NIH materials describe as generally more bioavailable than magnesium oxide in small studies, but that does not establish that a particular product treats sleep problems, anxiety, constipation, pain, or another condition. Claims should stay within established nutrient functions and the product's actual dose.

The label should also address the practical risks of magnesium. Across the supplied products, magnesium may cause diarrhea, nausea, abdominal cramping, and, in some cases, dehydration. Warnings should address kidney impairment and explain when to seek medical advice. They should also provide usable directions for separating magnesium from medicines such as tetracycline or quinolone antibiotics and oral bisphosphonates. A product marketed for constipation deserves extra scrutiny: a dietary supplement is not automatically an OTC laxative drug, and laxative treatment requires the appropriate Drug Facts information and regulatory identity.

Ingredient transparency matters because formulas vary widely. Buyers should be able to see every magnesium form, added vitamins and minerals, sweeteners, colors, flavorings, gelatin or other animal ingredients, capsule materials, and relevant allergens. “Vegan,” “sugar-free,” “non-GMO,” or “free-from” statements are more useful when they match the complete ingredient panel. Conflicting product pages, incomplete panels, or unclear claims about elemental magnesium make comparison difficult.

Marketing statements such as “third-party tested,” “high purity,” or “GMP” do not by themselves prove that the finished product contains the stated dose or is free of heavy metals and microbes. Stronger evidence is a current, lot-matched certificate from an identified independent laboratory, showing methods, limits, date, potency, identity, and contaminant results. An active listing for the exact finished product in the USP or NSF certification registers is a separate, stronger form of verification; a certified facility or ingredient supplier is not the same thing.

Packaging evidence was limited across this set. A lower-waste choice would disclose package materials, recycled content, practical recyclability or disposal instructions, and any reusable or refill design. Without those details, buyers should not treat a conventional bottle, tub, pouch, or two-bottle pack as environmentally preferable.

Finally, adults should account for magnesium from supplements, antacids, and laxatives. NIH identifies 350 mg per day as the adult upper limit for magnesium from supplements and medicines. Several supplied products provide 400–500 mg per serving, and one provides 420 mg at its stated daily use; these products need particular caution and may require clinician or pharmacist guidance. Children have lower supplemental limits, and products with unclear elemental amounts or broad child-facing marketing should not be treated as age-appropriate by default. People with kidney disease or reduced kidney function, persistent diarrhea, dehydration risk, pregnancy or nursing, significant gastrointestinal sensitivity, or interacting medicines should seek individualized advice before use. No category-wide contraindication beyond these recurring dose, kidney, gastrointestinal, and medicine-use concerns was found in the supplied data.

Integrity

The topics below focus on whether a magnesium citrate product is understandable, usable, traceable, and supported by evidence—not simply whether it makes a strong claim or has many customer reviews.

HHealth & Safety

Clear elemental-magnesium dose

This measures whether the label states elemental magnesium per serving and daily use, rather than only magnesium citrate compound weight. It matters because adult supplemental limits and product comparisons use elemental magnesium. High-scoring products clearly state amounts such as 150, 210, 250, or 300 mg; low-scoring gummies and blends leave the elemental amount uncertain or conflict across pages.

Laxative, kidney, and medicine-use safeguards

This measures warnings about diarrhea, cramping, dehydration, kidney impairment, and separation from interacting medicines. Magnesium citrate can affect bowel movements, and magnesium can interfere with some antibiotics and oral bisphosphonates. Higher-scoring labels include medication-spacing and kidney precautions; lower-scoring products provide only general consultation language despite high doses or constipation claims.

Heavy-metal and microbial safety

This measures evidence that the finished product—not merely its ingredients or facility—is controlled for toxic elements and microbiological contamination. A high score requires current finished-product evidence rather than an unsupported purity statement. Among the supplied products, the strongest support came from a tested lot with reported heavy-metal and microbiological results; most others relied on manufacturer testing claims without public reports.

Reliable delivery in its stated form

This measures whether capsules, powders, and gummies have practical directions and evidence that the stated dose can be delivered consistently. Clear scoop sizes, serving counts, capsule directions, and usable mixing instructions help. Higher scores went to products with straightforward, verified routines; lower scores reflected unclear serving information, conflicting package details, or uncertainty about what a gummy's headline strength represented.

Transparent ingredients and dietary fit

This measures disclosure of magnesium forms, added nutrients, sweeteners, colors, flavors, capsule materials, gelatin, and allergens. It matters because citrate products range from single-ingredient powders to multi-mineral blends and gummies. High-scoring products show a complete, consistent panel and identify vegan or allergen claims; lower scores include incomplete lists or conflicts such as vegan marketing alongside bovine gelatin.

Correct regulatory status and traceability

This measures whether the product is accurately presented as a dietary supplement or, when used as a laxative, as an OTC drug with appropriate Drug Facts information, lot coding, expiry, responsible-firm details, and recall traceability. Higher scores reflect clearer identity and traceability. Lower scores include constipation treatment language without OTC Drug Facts or confusing regulatory badges and product descriptions.

EEvidence

Claims match the human evidence

This measures whether claims about sleep, calm, stress, muscles, heart health, constipation, absorption, or disease treatment match human evidence, the actual elemental dose, and the product's regulatory category. Higher scores stay closer to established magnesium functions. Lower scores accompany broad claims for sleep, ADHD, blood sugar, immunity, cognition, or treatment outcomes without product-specific human evidence.

Current batch test results

This measures whether buyers can obtain a recent, lot-matched report from an identified independent accredited laboratory covering potency, identity, and relevant contaminants. A high score requires the report, methods, limits, date, and matching lot—not merely “third-party tested.” BioEmblem stands apart in the supplied set because a matching lot report stated magnesium potency and reported heavy-metal and microbiological results; most products had no public batch report.

Verified finished-product certification

This measures whether the exact finished product and formulation appears in an active independent USP or NSF register. Facility GMP status, an ingredient certification, or a withdrawn program listing does not substitute for finished-product certification. The strongest supplied example was a product listed by NSF for the finished capsule; other products lacked an active exact-product listing or had only facility-level evidence.

EEcology

Lower-waste packaging with honest green claims

This measures material efficiency, reuse or broad recyclability, recycled-content disclosure, and supportable environmental marketing. It matters because capsules, gummies, powders, and multi-bottle packs create different packaging demands. Scores were generally similar because the supplied reviews found little product-specific information: no verified recycled content, material specification, refill system, or disposal guidance was established for the products.

Full reviews

aSquared Nutrition Magnesium Citrate 833mg Supplement
#1 - Best Overall

aSquared Nutrition Magnesium Citrate 833mg Supplement

Buyer Score 98/100Integrity Score 74/100aSquared Nutrition

Overview

This is a 200-capsule magnesium citrate dietary supplement. The recorded label directs adults to take two capsules daily with a meal, providing 833 mg magnesium citrate and 250 mg elemental magnesium, or 60% of the Daily Value. That makes the bottle a 100-day supply at the labeled dose. The 250 mg figure is the meaningful amount for magnesium intake, while 833 mg is the weight of the citrate compound. The formula is unusually simple on the recorded label, with magnesium citrate, methylcellulose capsule material, and rice flour. The manufacturer describes it as vegan, preservative-free, made in the USA, GMP quality assured, and third-party tested in an ISO 17025-certified facility. Those manufacturing and testing statements were not accompanied by a lot-matched certificate of analysis, independent certification listing, or published contaminant results.

What works

  • The recorded supplement label clearly distinguishes 250 mg elemental magnesium from 833 mg magnesium citrate per daily serving.
  • The label gives adult directions, a 100-serving count, storage directions, a safety-seal instruction, and a dietary supplement identity statement.
  • The recorded formula lists magnesium citrate, methylcellulose, and rice flour, with no undisclosed blend.
  • The label includes kidney-disease, medication-use, pregnancy, child-use, gastrointestinal-discomfort, and low-blood-pressure cautions.

What does not

  • The manufacturer’s third-party testing claim is not backed by a current, lot-matched report showing potency, heavy metals, and microbiological results.
  • No active finished-product certification listing from USP or NSF was located during verification.
  • The label’s general two-hour medication separation direction is less specific than NIH guidance for tetracycline and quinolone antibiotics, which calls for taking those antibiotics two hours before or four to six hours after magnesium.
  • Manufacturer claims extend to constipation relief, sleep patterns, heart health, and muscle aches, while the available evidence does not establish those outcomes for this exact product and dose.

Who is it for

This product suits an adult who wants a plainly labeled, single-form magnesium supplement rather than a multi-ingredient sleep or relaxation blend. Its recorded daily serving supplies 250 mg elemental magnesium, below the 350 mg adult upper limit for supplemental magnesium, and the 200-capsule bottle supports a 100-day routine. It is most practical for buyers who can swallow capsules, want a vegan capsule formula, and are not using medicines that need more careful timing around magnesium.

Who is it not for

It is not suited to children, pregnant or nursing people, or anyone with kidney disease or a magnesium-restricted diet, because the product label itself directs these groups to avoid use or seek medical guidance. It is also a poor fit for people using tetracycline or quinolone antibiotics, oral bisphosphonates, diuretics, blood-pressure medicines, heart medicines, or muscle relaxants unless a clinician or pharmacist confirms timing and suitability. Anyone seeking a proven treatment for constipation, insomnia, heart disease, or recurrent muscle pain should not treat this dietary supplement as that treatment.

Integrity

The most useful health detail is the label’s clear elemental-magnesium declaration. Two capsules provide 250 mg magnesium from 833 mg magnesium citrate. NIH notes that citrate is among the more soluble magnesium forms, but magnesium supplements can still cause diarrhea, nausea, and cramping. Risk rises with impaired kidney function. The label includes relevant kidney, medication, pregnancy, child-use, and adverse-reaction cautions, although its two-hour medicine-separation wording is not sufficiently specific for some antibiotics. The manufacturer states that the product is vegan, preservative-free, GMP quality assured, and third-party tested at an ISO 17025-certified facility. No current lot-specific certificate or public USP or NSF finished-product certification was found to independently confirm potency or contaminant control. Packaging is a conventional supplement bottle, and no recycled-content, recyclability, refill, or other substantiated environmental packaging claim was identified.

Magnesium Citrate 500 MG High Absorption Supplement
#2 - Hot Deal

Magnesium Citrate 500 MG High Absorption Supplement

Buyer Score 96/100Integrity Score 73/100Nobi Nutrition

Overview

This is a 120-capsule dietary supplement supplying 500 mg of elemental magnesium per one-capsule serving, labeled as magnesium oxide and magnesium citrate. Independent retailer label information confirms the one-capsule daily direction, the 120-serving bottle, and hypromellose, magnesium stearate, silicon dioxide, and microcrystalline cellulose as other ingredients. The 500 mg labeled daily amount is 119% of Daily Value and exceeds the NIH adult upper limit of 350 mg per day for magnesium from supplements and medicines unless a clinician directs otherwise. The manufacturer markets it for relaxation, muscle and bone support, digestion, and healthy blood pressure. Evidence supports magnesium's essential physiological roles, but human evidence does not establish that this specific oxide-citrate product will reliably improve sleep, calm, or cardiovascular outcomes.

What works

  • The label clearly identifies 500 mg elemental magnesium, rather than only giving a compound weight.
  • One vegetarian capsule is the stated daily serving, with 120 servings per bottle.
  • Both active magnesium forms and the four listed capsule excipients are disclosed.
  • The label includes adult-only use, pregnancy and medication consultation language, storage directions, and a damaged-seal warning.

What does not

  • The labeled 500 mg supplemental dose exceeds the NIH adult upper limit of 350 mg per day without clinician supervision.
  • Warnings do not specifically address diarrhea, cramping, dehydration, kidney impairment, or required spacing from antibiotics and oral bisphosphonates.
  • No current lot-matched certificate of analysis, accredited laboratory identity, contaminant limits, or finished-product potency report was located.
  • No active product-specific USP or NSF finished-product certification listing was located.
  • Marketing references constipation and sleep or calm support, while the product is labeled as a dietary supplement rather than an OTC laxative medicine.

Who is it for

This product fits an adult who specifically wants a once-daily, high labeled dose of elemental magnesium in a vegetarian capsule and can review the dose with a clinician or pharmacist. It is most concrete for someone whose clinician has recommended supplemental magnesium, who is not combining it with other magnesium products or magnesium-containing antacids or laxatives, and who values a label that names magnesium oxide and citrate rather than using a proprietary blend. The 120-capsule format is intended to cover roughly four months at the stated one-capsule daily direction.

Who is it not for

It is not a routine fit for children, people who are pregnant or nursing without clinician approval, or anyone with kidney impairment or kidney failure. People prone to diarrhea, abdominal cramping, dehydration, or bowel urgency should be cautious because magnesium salts can have laxative effects. Those taking tetracycline or quinolone antibiotics, oral bisphosphonates, diuretics, or long-term acid-reducing medicines should ask a pharmacist about timing and suitability. It is also not an appropriate substitute for an OTC laxative with Drug Facts directions when treating constipation.

Integrity

The product's strongest health transparency point is dose labeling. The independent retailer label lists 500 mg of magnesium per capsule, specifically from oxide and citrate, plus the capsule excipients. It also carries general adult-use, medication consultation, pregnancy, damaged-seal, and storage cautions. However, its daily dose is above the NIH upper limit for supplemental magnesium in adults. Magnesium supplements can cause diarrhea, nausea, and cramping, and kidney impairment increases toxicity risk. No current public, lot-specific independent report was located for potency, heavy metals, or microbiological testing. Likewise, no active USP or NSF finished-product certification listing was located for this formulation. The product information does not provide recycled-content, recyclability, refill, or packaging-material specifications, and it makes no concrete environmental claim that could be assessed. Packaging ecology therefore remains largely undocumented.

Micro Ingredients Pure Magnesium Citrate Powder, 2 Pounds
#3

Micro Ingredients Pure Magnesium Citrate Powder, 2 Pounds

Buyer Score 93/100Integrity Score 73/100Micro Ingredients

Overview

This is an unflavored, single-ingredient magnesium citrate powder sold in a 2-pound container. The current manufacturer page directs users to mix one full scoop into a beverage daily. A current retailer label lists a 3,300 mg approximate scoop, 274 servings per container, and 500 mg of magnesium as magnesium citrate, equal to 119% of the Daily Value. That presentation clearly identifies elemental magnesium rather than only the citrate compound weight. The formula is intended as a dietary supplement for routine mineral intake, not as an OTC laxative drug. The manufacturer states that it contains no additives, preservatives, flavors, soy, fillers, or gluten and that ingredients are third-party tested. Those are manufacturer statements, not current lot-specific independent results available to the buyer. The label information located provides child-storage directions but does not provide dose-specific diarrhea, kidney-function, or medicine-separation guidance.

What works

  • The labeled 500 mg amount is clearly presented as magnesium from magnesium citrate, making the elemental dose readily comparable.
  • The current retailer label lists magnesium citrate as the sole ingredient, with no sweeteners, colors, flavors, or other ingredients.
  • Powder format avoids tablet disintegration uncertainty and the stated scoop provides a repeatable daily serving.
  • A 2-pound package is labeled for 274 daily servings, which suits people who prefer bulk powder over capsules.

What does not

  • One daily scoop provides 500 mg supplemental magnesium, above the NIH adult upper limit of 350 mg from supplements and medications unless a clinician recommends more.
  • Current label information provides no specific warning about loose stools, cramping, dehydration, kidney impairment, or separating magnesium from certain antibiotics and osteoporosis medicines.
  • The manufacturer says ingredients are third-party tested, but no recent lot-matched report identifying an independent accredited laboratory was available for this product.
  • No active USP or NSF finished-product certification listing was identified for this exact powder and formulation.
  • The package material, recycled content, and disposal pathway are not disclosed, so its environmental claims cannot be assessed beyond the bulk format.

Who is it for

This product fits an adult who specifically wants a plain magnesium citrate powder, can tolerate magnesium’s gastrointestinal effects, and prefers to mix a measured scoop into a cold drink, shake, or smoothie. The clearly labeled 500 mg elemental-magnesium serving and 274-serving bulk container make it practical for someone following a clinician-guided supplementation plan or tracking total magnesium intake carefully. It also suits buyers avoiding flavored powders and unnecessary added ingredients. A person using it should account for magnesium from other supplements, antacids, and laxatives.

Who is it not for

It is not a good self-directed choice for people with kidney impairment, a history of magnesium-related diarrhea or dehydration, or anyone who needs a lower supplemental dose. It is also unsuitable for children without clinical guidance. People taking oral bisphosphonates or antibiotics need individualized timing advice because magnesium can reduce absorption of those medicines. Pregnant or breastfeeding people, those with a medical condition, and households seeking a product with publicly available current batch testing or USP or NSF finished-product certification should select a product with those safeguards documented.

Integrity

Magnesium is an essential mineral, but the labeled 500 mg daily supplemental dose exceeds the NIH adult upper limit of 350 mg from supplements and medications. Higher supplemental intakes can cause diarrhea, nausea, and abdominal cramping, and toxicity risk rises when kidney function is impaired. Magnesium can also interfere with the absorption of some antibiotics and bisphosphonates. These issues matter here because the available product directions do not spell out those safeguards. The accessible current label is unusually simple, listing magnesium citrate with no other ingredients and claiming freedom from soy, dairy, gluten, and tree nuts. The manufacturer also states that ingredients are third-party tested, but a current lot-matched independent certificate with potency, metal, and microbiology results was not publicly available. No active USP or NSF finished-product listing was identified. The 2-pound bulk powder may reduce packaging per serving, but the package material, recycled content, and recycling instructions are not disclosed.

NatureBell Magnesium Citrate 500mg, 480 Count
#4

NatureBell Magnesium Citrate 500mg, 480 Count

Buyer Score 89/100Integrity Score 69/100NatureBell

Overview

This is a two-bottle magnesium citrate capsule product with 240 capsules per bottle. The manufacturer describes a three-capsule daily serving that provides 500 mg of magnesium and 108 mg of vitamin C as ascorbyl palmitate, or 80 servings per bottle. An independently listed Supplement Facts panel also identifies 500 mg magnesium as magnesium citrate per three-capsule serving. That is a substantial supplemental magnesium dose, above the NIH adult upper limit of 350 mg per day from supplements and medicines. The manufacturer markets broad support for muscle, heart, bone, digestive, energy, and immune health, and says the product is non-GMO, free of several major food allergens, and third-party tested. However, no current lot-matched test report, accredited lab identity, or recognized finished-product certification was located.

What works

  • The serving quantity is comparatively clear, 500 mg of magnesium as magnesium citrate in three capsules.
  • Each bottle provides 240 capsules and an approximately 80-day supply at the stated use.
  • The manufacturer identifies vitamin C as ascorbyl palmitate and publishes a dietary-supplement disclaimer.
  • The manufacturer states that the product is free of soy, dairy, gluten, wheat, eggs, and tree nuts.

What does not

  • A 500 mg supplemental magnesium serving exceeds the NIH adult upper limit of 350 mg, yet the accessible manufacturer page does not provide specific kidney, diarrhea, dehydration, or medicine-spacing safeguards.
  • No public, lot-matched certificate of analysis was found to confirm potency, heavy metals, or microbiological results for a current bottle.
  • No active USP or NSF finished-product certification listing was located for this formulation.
  • Ingredient disclosure conflicts across sources. The current manufacturer page says no fillers, while other product listings identify rice flour, silicon dioxide, magnesium stearate, and a gelatin capsule.
  • The broad heart, joint, energy, and digestive claims are not equally supported by human evidence at this exact product dose.

Who is it for

This product suits an adult who specifically wants a high-dose magnesium citrate routine in capsules rather than a powder or liquid, and who is comfortable taking three capsules daily. The 240-capsule bottle size may suit a person planning a consistent roughly 80-day regimen. It is most appropriate for someone who can verify the current bottle label before use, has no kidney impairment, and is not taking medicines that require separation from magnesium. The added vitamin C may matter to buyers who want both nutrients in one product.

Who is it not for

It is not a casual choice for people with kidney disease, reduced kidney function, recurrent diarrhea, dehydration risk, or a history of sensitivity to magnesium products. People using oral bisphosphonates, tetracycline antibiotics, or quinolone antibiotics should seek pharmacist or clinician guidance because magnesium can reduce absorption when taken too close together. It is also a poor fit for strict vegetarians, vegans, or consumers avoiding gelatin until the current capsule material is confirmed, because ingredient information differs among available sources. Children should not use this adult-dose product without clinical direction.

Integrity

Magnesium citrate is a soluble magnesium form, but a 500 mg supplemental serving can cause diarrhea, nausea, and abdominal cramping. The NIH notes that toxicity risk rises with impaired kidney function and that magnesium can interfere with some antibiotics and oral bisphosphonates. The manufacturer presents this product as a dietary supplement, not an OTC laxative drug, and includes the standard statement that it is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent disease. The manufacturer says its products are third-party tested and free of several allergens, but it does not publish a current product-lot report, laboratory accreditation, contaminant limits, or a recognized finished-product certification. I did not identify a product-specific FDA recall or warning in the sources searched. No recycled-content, recycling instruction, package-material specification, or other substantiated environmental claim was located. The two-bottle format also adds packaging compared with a single bottle.

Magnesium Gummies Sugar-Free for Kids & Adults
#5

Magnesium Gummies Sugar-Free for Kids & Adults

Buyer Score 87/100Integrity Score 63/100DR. MORITZ

Overview

This is a raspberry flavored, pectin based magnesium citrate gummy sold as a 60-count dietary supplement. The marketplace description presents 400 mg magnesium citrate per serving. The manufacturer’s current product page offers 200 mg and 400 mg options, and directs adults to take one 400 mg gummy daily, or two 200 mg gummies, preferably with a meal. That is manufacturer-stated use information, not independent confirmation of the finished product’s contents. The central limitation is dose clarity. The available material does not establish the elemental magnesium amount, which is the amount used to compare supplemental magnesium intake. The manufacturer page lists gummy ingredients but does not clearly include the active magnesium salt in that list, while elsewhere on the same page it refers to 100 mg magnesium citrate. Those conflicting figures make the actual active dose and formulation difficult to verify.

What works

  • The manufacturer gives a simple adult-use direction, one 400 mg gummy daily or two 200 mg gummies, preferably with food.
  • The disclosed gummy base uses pectin and agar rather than gelatin, which supports the manufacturer’s vegetarian-friendly positioning.
  • The manufacturer identifies fructo-oligosaccharides, pectin, agar, tapioca starch, black-carrot color, and other nonactive ingredients.
  • No active FDA recall or warning-letter result matching this brand was located in the records checked for this review.

What does not

  • The product information does not clearly state elemental magnesium per serving, despite elemental magnesium being the relevant label amount for intake comparisons.
  • Public manufacturer information is internally inconsistent about strength and does not clearly place magnesium citrate in its ingredient list.
  • The caution is generic and does not specifically address diarrhea, kidney impairment, or timing around antibiotics and oral bisphosphonates.
  • No current lot-matched independent certificate of analysis was made available, and no active USP or NSF finished-product certification listing was located.
  • The manufacturer promotes relaxation, sleep, stress, cognitive, immune, and ADHD-related benefits more broadly than the available human evidence supports for this clearly identified product and dose.

Who is it for

This format may suit an adult who strongly prefers a chewable, gelatin-free gummy and wants a manufacturer-directed once-daily routine rather than capsules or powder. It is most appropriate for someone using magnesium as general nutritional support, who can verify the current bottle’s Supplement Facts panel before use and who does not need a third-party certified product. The 60-gummy package is also a practical size for people who want to assess flavor and gastrointestinal tolerance over a limited period.

Who is it not for

It is not well suited to anyone who needs a reliably quantified elemental-magnesium dose, a lot-specific independent test report, or a USP or NSF certified finished product. People with kidney disease or impaired kidney function, recurrent diarrhea, dehydration risk, or significant gastrointestinal sensitivity should consult a clinician before using magnesium. People taking tetracycline or quinolone antibiotics, oral bisphosphonates, diuretics, or long-term acid-reducing medicines should seek medication-specific advice. It is also not an appropriate substitute for evidence-based ADHD care or treatment of insomnia.

Integrity

The manufacturer states that the gummy uses a pectin and agar base, is vegetarian-friendly, and contains no synthetic FD&C dyes. Its ingredient listing names fructo-oligosaccharides, tapioca starch, black-carrot color, citric acid, trisodium citrate, flavoring, and carnauba wax. However, the active magnesium information is not presented consistently across the available product material, so the dietary and allergen claims do not resolve the more important question of elemental-magnesium content. No current lot-specific certificate of analysis was available for potency, heavy metals, or microbiological results. No active USP or NSF finished-product certification listing was located. No product-specific environmental packaging details, recycled-content disclosure, recycling instructions, or substantiated green claims were found. The container may be conventional single-use supplement packaging, but its material and disposal pathway were not specified. No matching FDA recall or warning-letter result was located in the sources checked.

Clean Nutraceuticals Magnesium Complex 2285mg with Vitamins & Minerals
#6

Clean Nutraceuticals Magnesium Complex 2285mg with Vitamins & Minerals

Buyer Score 85/100Integrity Score 67/100Clean Nutraceuticals

Overview

This is a 90-capsule dietary supplement intended for adults, with a labeled routine of three capsules daily, making the bottle a 30-day supply. The manufacturer and an independent retailer listing identify 500 mg of elemental magnesium per daily serving. The formula combines magnesium glycinate, citrate, malate, oxide, taurate, aspartate, gluconate, orotate, and chloride, plus vitamin C, B vitamins, zinc, copper, manganese, and black pepper extract. The main defining fact is the disclosed 500 mg elemental-magnesium daily amount, rather than only a compound-weight claim. The manufacturer presents the formula for sleep, relaxation, muscle recovery, and regularity support, and says every batch is independently tested. However, no current lot-matched certificate naming an independent laboratory was publicly available during this review. The three-capsule dose also exceeds the NIH adult upper limit of 350 mg per day for magnesium from supplements and medicines.

What works

  • The 500 mg elemental-magnesium amount and three-capsule daily serving are clearly stated by the manufacturer and corroborated by a retailer listing.
  • The product names nine magnesium forms rather than using an unspecified magnesium blend.
  • A 90-capsule bottle corresponds to a simple 30-day routine at the stated three-capsule use.
  • The formula lists additional nutrients, including B vitamins, zinc, copper, manganese, and vitamin C, rather than presenting them as an unnamed proprietary blend.

What does not

  • The labeled 500 mg supplemental magnesium dose exceeds the NIH adult upper limit of 350 mg per day, yet the product page frames the formula as gentle and daily-safe without dose-specific diarrhea, kidney-risk, or medicine-separation directions.
  • Magnesium oxide, chloride, and gluconate are among forms more commonly associated with diarrhea, but the available product directions do not provide a stop-use or hydration instruction.
  • The manufacturer claims every batch is third-party tested, but a recent lot-specific report showing magnesium potency, heavy metals, and microbiological results was not publicly available.
  • No active USP or NSF finished-product certification listing was located for this exact formula. NSF also issued a January 12, 2026 public notice that Clean Nutraceuticals had distributed an unauthorized NSF GMP certificate.

Who is it for

This product fits an adult who specifically wants a high, clearly stated elemental-magnesium amount in capsules and prefers one formula over managing several separate magnesium products. It may also suit someone who values seeing the named magnesium salts, B vitamins, zinc, copper, manganese, and vitamin C together on the product description. The 90-capsule bottle is structured as a one-month supply at three capsules daily. Because the serving is 500 mg supplemental magnesium, this use case is most appropriate when a clinician has reviewed the person’s total magnesium intake and medicines.

Who is it not for

It is not well suited to people with kidney impairment, a history of magnesium-related diarrhea, unexplained abdominal cramping, dehydration risk, or a need for a low-dose magnesium supplement. It also warrants clinician or pharmacist review for people using tetracycline or quinolone antibiotics, oral bisphosphonates, diuretics, or long-term acid-reflux medicines, because magnesium can affect absorption or magnesium balance. People seeking independently certified finished-product quality, a public lot-matched certificate of analysis, precise amounts for each individual magnesium form, or verified allergen disclosure should choose a product that publishes those records.

Integrity

The label-level composition is relatively concrete about total elemental magnesium and the nine named magnesium forms. The 500 mg daily serving is important safety context because NIH sets a 350 mg adult upper limit for magnesium from supplements and medicines. High supplemental intakes can cause diarrhea, nausea, and abdominal cramping, and reduced kidney function increases toxicity risk. Evidence for magnesium as a sleep aid remains limited and mixed, so sleep and relaxation claims should not be read as established treatment effects. The manufacturer states that batches receive independent purity and potency testing, but no current public lot-specific report for this product was found. No active USP or NSF finished-product certification listing was found. NSF published a January 12, 2026 notice stating that Clean Nutraceuticals had distributed an unauthorized NSF GMP certificate. No packaging material, recycled-content figure, recycling instruction, or substantiated environmental claim was found for this product, so its packaging impact cannot be meaningfully assessed.

Klaire Labs Magnesium Citrate Supplement
#7

Klaire Labs Magnesium Citrate Supplement

Buyer Score 83/100Integrity Score 73/100SFI Health

Overview

This is a 90-capsule dietary supplement providing 150 mg of elemental magnesium per vegetarian capsule, as magnesium citrate complex. The NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database records the product label, including its one-capsule serving size, full inactive ingredient list, and suggested use of one capsule one to three times daily. That means the labeled daily range is 150 to 450 mg of supplemental magnesium. Magnesium citrate is a soluble supplemental form. NIH notes that citrate generally has greater bioavailability than less-soluble forms such as magnesium oxide. The product is sold as a supplement, not an OTC laxative drug. Its label provides general medical-use cautions, but it does not give specific diarrhea, kidney-impairment, or medicine-separation instructions. Publicly accessible lot-matched independent test results and exact finished-product USP or NSF certification were not located.

What works

  • The elemental magnesium amount is explicit, 150 mg per capsule, making dose comparisons practical.
  • The active form is magnesium citrate, which NIH identifies among forms that tend to be more bioavailable than magnesium oxide.
  • The recorded label fully identifies the capsule materials and ascorbyl palmitate, with no proprietary blend.
  • The label states that it is free of milk, eggs, fish, shellfish, tree nuts, peanuts, wheat, gluten, soy, yeast, artificial colors, flavors, and preservatives.
  • The recorded label identifies the responsible firm, storage directions, tamper-evident shrinkwrap check, and a healthcare-professional caution.

What does not

  • The maximum labeled use, three capsules daily, provides 450 mg of supplemental magnesium. This exceeds NIH's adult supplemental upper limit of 350 mg per day without a product-specific warning about diarrhea or cramping.
  • The label does not specifically advise people with kidney impairment to seek medical guidance, despite increased magnesium-toxicity risk when renal clearance is impaired.
  • It gives no timing directions for tetracycline or quinolone antibiotics, or oral bisphosphonates, whose absorption magnesium can reduce.
  • No current lot-specific certificate from an identified independent accredited laboratory was publicly available for potency, heavy metals, or microbiology.
  • No exact finished-product listing was found in the public USP Verified or NSF dietary-supplement certification directories.

Who is it for

This product suits an adult who wants a straightforward, single-mineral capsule with a clearly stated 150 mg elemental magnesium dose and a short ingredient list. It may be practical for someone whose clinician has suggested magnesium supplementation and who prefers to adjust intake in 150 mg increments. The vegetarian capsule and manufacturer-stated avoidance of many common food allergens may also matter for people screening supplements for those dietary restrictions. Use at the higher labeled range deserves clinician or pharmacist input.

Who is it not for

It is not a good self-directed choice for people with kidney disease, reduced kidney function, recurrent diarrhea, dehydration risk, or an unexplained heart-rhythm concern. It also needs medication review for people taking tetracycline or quinolone antibiotics, oral bisphosphonates, diuretics, or long-term proton-pump inhibitors. Children should not follow the adult dose range without professional direction. Anyone seeking a magnesium product with publicly available lot-specific contaminant testing or verified finished-product certification should choose a product that supplies that documentation.

Integrity

The NIH label record supports the product's identity as a dietary supplement and confirms 150 mg elemental magnesium from magnesium citrate in each vegetarian capsule. It also records tamper-evident shrinkwrap directions, the responsible SFI USA firm, and the manufacturer's free-from statement. Magnesium citrate is a form NIH describes as generally more bioavailable than less-soluble magnesium forms. The key safety limitation is dose guidance. Three labeled capsules provide 450 mg daily, above NIH's 350 mg adult upper limit for magnesium from supplements and medicines. Higher supplemental intakes can cause diarrhea, nausea, and cramping, and kidney impairment increases toxicity risk. SFI Health describes company quality and traceability practices, but this review did not locate a public, lot-matched independent certificate for this product or an active exact-product USP or NSF certification. No package recycled-content, recyclability, or disposal claim was identified, so its environmental profile cannot be independently assessed beyond its small bottle format.

BiOptimizers Magnesium Breakthrough 4.0 Supplement
#8

BiOptimizers Magnesium Breakthrough 4.0 Supplement

Buyer Score 81/100Integrity Score 75/100BIOptimizers

Overview

This is a 60-capsule dietary supplement intended for two capsules daily, commonly with an evening meal. Its current label states 500 mg of elemental magnesium per serving from a 1,701 mg proprietary blend of chelate, bisglycinate, sucrosomial magnesium, malate, orotate, taurate, and citrate. It also provides 2 mg vitamin B6, 1 mg manganese, and 10 mg humic and fulvic blend. The 500 mg elemental-magnesium amount and full other-ingredient list are corroborated by current retailer label records and the manufacturer. The manufacturer states that the vegetable capsule is vegan, gluten-free, dairy-free, soy-free, and made in the USA with globally sourced ingredients. Amounts of the individual magnesium forms are not disclosed. The product has no identified clinical trial of its finished seven-form formula.

What works

  • The label clearly distinguishes 500 mg of elemental magnesium from the larger proprietary-blend weight.
  • Seven named magnesium forms, vitamin B6, manganese, capsule material, and other ingredients are disclosed.
  • Manufacturer directions identify a two-capsule daily serving and advise stopping use if adverse effects occur.
  • Informed Sport records show testing of identified historical batches, including some batches with 2027 expiry dates.

What does not

  • The 500 mg supplemental magnesium serving exceeds the NIH adult upper limit of 350 mg per day unless a clinician recommends otherwise.
  • The label gives general medication and medical-condition cautions, but does not specify kidney-risk precautions or medicine separation times for antibiotics and oral bisphosphonates.
  • Individual amounts of citrate, glycinate, malate, and the other magnesium forms remain hidden within a proprietary blend.
  • Informed Sport withdrew the product from its program on August 10, 2025, so batches produced after that date are not tested through that program.
  • Evidence for magnesium supplements improving insomnia or sleep quality is limited and low quality, and no finished-product sleep trial was identified.

Who is it for

This product fits an adult who has discussed supplemental magnesium with a clinician, wants a capsule rather than a powder, and specifically wants a clearly stated 500 mg elemental-magnesium serving split across multiple named forms. It is most practical for someone able to check their bottle lot against the remaining Informed Sport batch records and who is not already getting substantial magnesium from other supplements, antacids, or laxatives. The two-capsule serving also allows a buyer to use the manufacturer-stated 250 mg-per-capsule increment with professional guidance.

Who is it not for

It is not a routine choice for children, or for pregnant or breastfeeding people without clinician direction. People with kidney impairment, recurrent diarrhea, bowel conditions that worsen with osmotic laxatives, or a history of high magnesium levels should seek medical advice first. It also needs careful scheduling or medical review for people taking tetracycline or quinolone antibiotics, oral bisphosphonates, diuretics, or long-term acid-reducing medicines. Anyone seeking a proven treatment for chronic insomnia, heart disease, or a diagnosed magnesium deficiency needs clinical evaluation rather than relying on this product.

Integrity

The product is sold as a dietary supplement, not an OTC laxative drug. Its elemental-magnesium dose is clearly disclosed, but 500 mg is above the NIH supplemental upper limit for adults. Magnesium can cause diarrhea, nausea, and cramping, and kidney impairment raises toxicity risk. The manufacturer acknowledges digestive disruption at higher use. Public FDA recall and warning-letter searches did not identify a product-specific action located during this review. Historical Informed Sport records provide traceable, batch-specific testing dates and lot numbers, but the product was voluntarily withdrawn from that program on August 10, 2025. No current public, lot-matched certificate covering potency, heavy metals, and microbiology was located. The manufacturer lists a capsule, cellulose, ascorbyl palmitate, coconut-derived MCT, and acacia gum, but does not provide bottle-resin, recycled-content, recyclability, or package-reduction details. No specific environmental certification or disposal claim was verified.

DR. MORITZ Sugar-Free Calm Magnesium Gummies
#9

DR. MORITZ Sugar-Free Calm Magnesium Gummies

Buyer Score 78/100Integrity Score 64/100DR. MORITZ

Overview

This is a two-bottle, 120-gummy raspberry magnesium citrate supplement marketed mainly for children, though the manufacturer also gives adult directions. Its website says children ages 2 to 3 take one gummy daily, while those 4 and older take one or two. It is a pectin and agar gummy, rather than a gelatin gummy, with fructooligosaccharides, tapioca starch, citric acid, color, flavor, sodium citrate and carnauba wax listed as other ingredients. The defining limitation is dose clarity. The manufacturer promotes 100 mg of magnesium citrate, but its pages conflict on whether that amount is per gummy or serving, and do not clearly declare elemental magnesium. This matters because supplement labels should report elemental magnesium, not the weight of the citrate compound. The brand supplies medical-condition, medication and choking cautions, but no publicly available lot-matched independent test report was located.

What works

  • Age-based directions include a supervised-chewing warning for younger children.
  • The manufacturer provides a concrete ingredient list using pectin and agar instead of gelatin.
  • The manufacturer states that the formula is sugar-free, vegetarian, non-GMO, gluten-free and free of the top nine allergens.
  • The official directions limit use to one or two gummies daily, depending on age.

What does not

  • The stated 100 mg amount is magnesium citrate, not a clearly declared elemental-magnesium dose, and manufacturer pages conflict about the serving basis.
  • The directions do not specifically address diarrhea, kidney impairment, or timing around interacting antibiotics and other medicines.
  • No public, current lot-specific certificate of analysis was located for potency, heavy metals or microbiological testing.
  • No active exact-product listing was located in the USP Verified or NSF Certified Dietary Supplements registers.
  • Claims that the product reduces anxiety, improves focus, boosts energy and ensures restful sleep go beyond the limited and mixed human evidence, especially for children.

Who is it for

This product fits a household seeking a sugar-free, vegetarian gummy magnesium product for a child who can reliably chew gummies under adult supervision. The clearest use case is a caregiver who wants a simple, age-based routine and is comfortable treating the product as general nutritional support rather than a proven sleep or anxiety treatment. It is also relevant for families avoiding gelatin and the major food allergens the manufacturer says are absent. Dose ambiguity should be discussed with a pediatric clinician before regular use.

Who is it not for

It is not well suited to children under age two because the manufacturer warns of choking risk, or to any child unable to fully chew a gummy with adult supervision. Children with kidney disease, ongoing diarrhea, bowel problems, or medically managed conditions need clinician guidance because excess supplemental magnesium can cause gastrointestinal effects and kidney impairment raises toxicity risk. It is also a poor fit when a precise elemental magnesium dose, medication-separation instructions, or independently verified batch testing is required. Do not use its calm, sleep or focus marketing as treatment for persistent anxiety, insomnia or behavioral concerns.

Integrity

The manufacturer identifies magnesium citrate as the active form and lists a plant-gelling gummy base of pectin and agar. It also states that the formula is sugar-free, vegetarian, non-GMO, gluten-free and free of dairy, eggs, nuts, fish, soy and gelatin. These are manufacturer statements, not independent finished-product certification. The online composition information is internally inconsistent, however, including whether the promoted 100 mg amount applies per gummy or per serving. No publicly available lot-matched report from an identified independent accredited laboratory was located for this product's magnesium potency, heavy metals or microbial results. No active exact-product certification listing was located in the USP or NSF supplement registers during this review. No product-specific FDA recall or warning-letter result was located in the searches performed. The packaging is sold as two conventional plastic gummy bottles, and the manufacturer provides no recycled-content, recyclability or other substantiated environmental packaging claim.

SonoHealth Magnesium Complex Spectrum 5
#10

SonoHealth Magnesium Complex Spectrum 5

Buyer Score 76/100Integrity Score 65/100SonoHealth

Overview

Spectrum 5 is a 60-capsule dietary supplement intended for adults, with a stated serving of two capsules daily and 30 servings per bottle. SonoHealth markets it for sleep, calm, muscle recovery, energy, and digestion. The manufacturer describes 500 mg per serving and 72 marine trace minerals, but calls the amount both magnesium and a magnesium complex in different materials. The public formula information is internally inconsistent. SonoHealth’s product page lists glycinate, malate, citrate, taurate, and L-threonate, while its documentation lists glycinate, malate, citrate, oxide, and hydroxide. The company also claims every batch receives third-party purity and potency testing, but no public, lot-matched certificate of analysis was located. It is presented as a dietary supplement, not a laxative drug.

What works

  • Two-capsule daily directions and a 30-serving bottle are clearly stated by the manufacturer.
  • The manufacturer identifies a hypromellose vegetable capsule, which avoids gelatin.
  • The product page specifically says it is not for people with kidney disease and advises medication users to consult a clinician.
  • The company states that every batch is third-party tested for purity and potency, although it does not publish the supporting reports.

What does not

  • Public formula descriptions conflict on two of the five magnesium forms, so the precise product composition is unclear.
  • The 500 mg statement is presented inconsistently as magnesium and as a magnesium complex, making elemental-magnesium dose comparison difficult.
  • No current lot-specific certificate was found that identifies the laboratory, methods, potency result, heavy-metal limits, or microbiological results.
  • The directions do not give separation timing for antibiotics or bisphosphonates, and do not address diarrhea, cramping, or dehydration despite a stated 500 mg serving.

Who is it for

This product is most relevant to an adult who prefers capsules over powders or gummies, wants a one-month magnesium product, and values a manufacturer-stated vegan capsule with no gelatin. It may fit someone who has discussed magnesium use with a clinician and is comfortable treating the company’s testing and trace-mineral statements as manufacturer claims rather than publicly documented batch evidence. The two-capsule routine also suits people who prefer a simple once-daily schedule.

Who is it not for

It is not a good fit for children without medical guidance, people with kidney disease, or anyone pregnant, nursing, or using medicines without first consulting a clinician. Magnesium supplements can cause diarrhea, nausea, and cramping, and can reduce absorption of some antibiotics and oral bisphosphonates when taken too close together. It also does not suit buyers who need an exact elemental-magnesium amount, exact amounts of each magnesium form, or a publicly available lot-matched independent test report.

Integrity

SonoHealth presents Spectrum 5 as a dietary supplement, not a drug, and says it should not be used by people with kidney disease. That precaution matters because the stated 500 mg serving exceeds the NIH adult upper limit of 350 mg per day for magnesium from supplements and medicines unless a health professional recommends otherwise. The product page advises people taking medication to speak with a clinician, but it does not provide practical spacing instructions for antibiotics or bisphosphonates. The company claims GMP manufacturing, third-party batch testing, vegan capsules, and marine-sourced minerals. These are manufacturer statements, not independently confirmed finished-product certifications. No public lot-specific test report, USP listing, NSF finished-product listing, or detailed packaging recyclability or recycled-content information was located. No specific FDA recall or warning letter for this product was identified in the searches performed.