10 Best Hair Growth Supplements
Please note that we participate in affiliate marketing programs. When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn a commission. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. This comes at no additional cost to you and helps support the resources required to provide valuable content.Advertising Disclosure
Top-rated Hair Growth Supplements Comparison
1
2
+
3
4
5
6
+
7
8
9
Hair-growth supplements: what to look for
Hair-growth supplements are dietary products marketed to support hair thickness, strength, shedding, or the normal hair-growth cycle. They may contain vitamins and minerals, amino acids, collagen or keratin, botanicals, oils, or branded ingredient complexes. The important question is not how many ingredients appear on the label, but whether the finished product, dose, target user, and claimed outcome are supported together.
The strongest evidence in this category is a controlled human study that matches the product’s formula, daily amounts, format, intended population, and outcome. A registered trial on ClinicalTrials.gov is useful for checking whether a study was planned and what results were posted; a peer-reviewed randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled report provides stronger independent scrutiny. Even then, one small study is not the same as replicated evidence. Several supplied products have research on an ingredient such as 160 mg Lustriva, 100 mg pea extract, or 500 mg soluble keratin but that does not automatically establish that the complete product works. Studies may also involve narrow groups, such as women with self-perceived thinning or damaged hair, rather than people with every cause of hair loss.
Headline numbers can mislead. A high biotin amount does not prove hair-growth benefit in generally healthy people, and doses such as 5,000 or 10,000 mcg can interfere with some laboratory tests. A collagen number may be presented in micrograms rather than grams, making it much smaller than a buyer may assume. A “20-nutrient” formula may list ingredients without explaining their individual amounts, while a proprietary blend hides the doses that matter for both effectiveness and safety. A two-month supply also describes container duration, not clinical results.
Look for a complete Supplement Facts panel, serving size, individual amounts and ingredient forms, lot or batch information, expiration date, responsible company, and a usable adverse-event contact. Check for clear warnings about pregnancy, breastfeeding, medicines, medical conditions, allergies, and duplicate intake from multivitamins. Recognized finished-product verification is more meaningful than a general GMP or “third-party tested” statement: examples in the supplied reviews include NSF certification, ConsumerLab’s Quality Certification Program, and Clean Label Project certification. A self-issued testing graphic is not equivalent to a public, lot-linked certificate of analysis.
Claims should stay within the evidence. “Supports” language does not establish regrowth, DHT blocking, stopping hair loss, or treatment of a disease. A product-specific study may support a measured hair outcome, but it does not establish treatment for androgenetic alopecia, alopecia areata, scarring loss, sudden shedding, or an underlying medical condition.
Across the reviewed products, high-dose biotin and inadequate blood-test warnings recur. Buyers should tell clinicians and laboratories about biotin before testing. Pregnancy and breastfeeding require particular caution because several products contain saw palmetto, ashwagandha, Fo-Ti, preformed vitamin A, or other botanicals. Fish, marine collagen, bovine ingredients, dairy, egg, gelatin, and shellfish are recurring allergy or dietary issues. Review total vitamin A, zinc, selenium, iodine, iron, chromium, and biotin intake when combining products. Fo-Ti raises a serious liver-injury concern, and one product carried a California lead warning and settlement. Sudden, patchy, scarring, inflammatory, or substantial hair loss warrants clinical assessment rather than self-treatment.
Integrity
These topics show why a hair supplement should be assessed as a complete product: its formula, dose, warnings, evidence, sourcing, packaging, and quality records all affect whether the marketing can be trusted.
HHealth & Safety
Overall safety for the intended user
This measures whether the formula gives clear, responsible guidance for pregnancy, breastfeeding, medical conditions, medicines, and likely interactions. Hair products often combine several botanicals with vitamins, minerals, collagen, or marine ingredients, so risks can be cumulative. Higher-scoring examples pair adult-use directions with relevant cautions; lower scores reflect missing warnings, especially for saw palmetto, ashwagandha, Fo-Ti, medicines, or pregnancy.
Biotin test-interference warning
High-biotin hair products can affect some thyroid, hormone, cardiac, and other laboratory assays. A high score requires a specific, prominent instruction to tell clinicians and laboratories before testing, not merely a general medical disclaimer. The supplied products range from strong warnings in the high 80s and 90s to low scores where 5,000–10,000 mcg doses had no clear testing instruction.
Safe nutrient dosing
This measures whether vitamin and mineral amounts avoid unnecessary high exposure and whether duplication with multivitamins is understandable. It matters because hair formulas may add preformed vitamin A, zinc, selenium, iodine, iron, chromium, or biotin to an already supplemented diet. Higher-scoring products disclose doses and stay below relevant adult upper limits when used alone; lower-scoring products approach limits, use high doses, or provide inadequate duplication guidance.
Allergen and animal-source clarity
Buyers need to know whether a product contains fish, shellfish, marine or bovine collagen, colostrum, dairy, egg, or gelatin. This affects allergy safety, vegan or vegetarian suitability, and dietary choices. Higher scores reflect specific disclosures such as named fish species or bovine, chicken, fish, and egg collagen. Lower scores include conflicting vegan and collagen claims or incomplete source information.
Contaminant and adulteration safeguards
This measures evidence that the finished bottle is checked for heavy metals, microbes, pesticides where relevant, and undeclared drug ingredients. Hair products with botanicals, marine materials, or mineral nutrients need finished-product—not merely facility-level—quality evidence. Higher scores in the supplied set are supported by recognized programs or credible screening records; lower scores rely on generic testing claims without a public lot-linked certificate.
EEvidence
Evidence for this exact formula
The key question is whether human research matches the finished product, dose, format, population, and meaningful hair outcome. Higher scores belong to products with a matching or closely matching randomized controlled study, such as controlled research involving named Viviscal or Women’s Balance formulas. Lower scores reflect ingredient-only research, sponsor-run registry results without a peer-reviewed report, or no controlled human study of the finished formula.
Honest hair-growth claims
This measures whether words such as regrow, stop shedding, block DHT, and clinically proven stay within the evidence and do not imply treatment of disease. Higher-scoring products qualify their claims and connect them to measured study outcomes. Lower-scoring products promise rapid regrowth or disease-like treatment effects despite ingredient-level evidence, small studies, or no trial of the product as sold.
Independent verification of what is in the bottle
A high score requires independently checkable verification of the finished product, not just a brand’s GMP statement or general testing claim. Examples in the supplied reviews include NSF certification, ConsumerLab approval, and product-specific Clean Label Project certification. Lower-scoring products have no recognized listing and no public lot-linked report, leaving label accuracy and contaminant control harder to verify.
Complete, traceable labeling
A transparent hair supplement identifies every active amount and form, serving size, lot or batch code, expiration date, responsible company, and adverse-event contact. This matters when products change formulas or contain proprietary blends. Higher scores reflect full, individually dosed panels and traceability. Lower scores reflect hidden blend amounts, missing dose-by-dose information, conflicting online descriptions, or inconsistent capsule counts and directions.
Regulatory and recall record
This measures whether the product and responsible firm have unresolved FDA warnings, recalls, adulteration alerts, or substantiated advertising concerns. A clean reviewed record is useful but does not prove effectiveness or quality. Higher scores reflect no product-specific action and transparent records; lower scores reflect unresolved concerns, such as a lead-related California notice and settlement, or other checkable regulatory issues.
EEcology
Responsible collagen and marine sourcing
Marine collagen, shark material, oyster extract, bovine collagen, and keratin create sourcing questions beyond allergy disclosure. A high score requires species and origin information plus credible chain-of-custody or responsible-sourcing support. The supplied products generally disclose the animal input more readily than its origin or certification, so scores fall where fishery, farm, cattle, or animal-welfare documentation is absent.
Lower-waste packaging and honest green claims
This measures whether packaging reduction, recycled content, refill or reuse options, and recyclability claims are specific and usable in ordinary U.S. disposal systems. Most reviewed products use conventional bottles, gummies containers, or liquid packaging and provide no verified environmental detail. Higher scores therefore indicate relatively better documented claims or packaging characteristics, not proof that a product has a low overall footprint.
Full reviews

Lunakai Women's Hair Growth Vitamins
Overview
This is a 90-capsule dietary supplement marketed for women concerned about thinning, breakage, or hair density. The stated routine is three capsules daily, making the bottle a 30-day supply. Product materials list biotin at 5,000 mcg, plus hydrolyzed marine collagen, keratin, saw palmetto, zinc, selenium, amino acids, ashwagandha, reishi and other botanicals. The most important independently confirmed fact is quality testing. ConsumerLab reports that it tested this exact product for biotin content, checked it for heavy metals, and approved it through its voluntary quality certification program. That is verification of selected quality attributes, not clinical proof that the complete formula regrows hair. The product's own advertising uses hair-growth language, before-and-after imagery, and references clinically studied ingredients, but no controlled human trial of this finished formula was located.
What works
- ConsumerLab independently tested this exact product for biotin and heavy metals, then approved it for quality.
- The 90-capsule format and stated three-capsule routine provide a defined 30-day supply.
- The formula lists marine collagen, keratin, sulfur-containing amino acids, zinc and vitamin D3, nutrients relevant to hair structure or deficiency correction.
- The ingredient list does not use a proprietary blend, although many individual doses were not available in the materials reviewed.
What does not
- A 5,000 mcg biotin dose can interfere with certain laboratory tests, but a clear tell-your-clinician and laboratory warning was not visible in the product materials reviewed.
- Saw palmetto and ashwagandha create meaningful pregnancy, breastfeeding, medication, thyroid, autoimmune-condition and surgery considerations. Broad marketing that mentions postpartum shedding is not an adequate safety screen.
- No controlled human study of the complete product, dose, and target population was found. Evidence for selected ingredients cannot establish hair regrowth from this finished formula.
- Marine collagen is disclosed, but the species, fish allergen status, sourcing origin, and sustainability certification were not established in the reviewed materials.
- The promotional claims and before-and-after presentation imply stronger hair-growth evidence than the available formula-specific research supports.
Who is it for
This product fits an adult who wants a one-month capsule routine combining biotin, marine collagen, keratin, amino acids and botanical ingredients, and who values the independent ConsumerLab quality check for biotin and heavy metals. It is most relevant for someone addressing cosmetic concerns about strand breakage or perceived fullness while also checking for likely causes of shedding, such as nutrition, illness, stress, thyroid changes, iron status, or medication effects. It is not a substitute for evaluating sudden, patchy, or progressive hair loss.
Who is it not for
It is not suitable without clinician input for anyone pregnant, trying to conceive, breastfeeding, preparing for surgery, managing thyroid or autoimmune disease, or using medicines that may interact with ashwagandha or other botanicals. People with a fish or other marine-ingredient allergy should not rely on the vague marine collagen description. Anyone scheduled for blood testing should tell the clinician and laboratory about the 5,000 mcg biotin dose. It also does not suit buyers seeking a clinically tested treatment for diagnosed alopecia or a fully dose-disclosed formula.
Integrity
Independent quality verification is the standout. ConsumerLab reports testing this exact product for biotin content and heavy metals, with approval through its voluntary quality certification program. The product also carries manufacturer claims of third-party testing, GMP-facility production, and made-in-USA status, but the publicly reviewed materials did not provide a batch-specific certificate covering the complete formula. Health cautions matter because this is more than a basic vitamin. It contains 5,000 mcg of biotin, which can distort some lab results, plus saw palmetto and ashwagandha, ingredients that warrant extra caution in pregnancy, breastfeeding, and some medical settings. Marine collagen is an animal-derived ingredient, but species and origin were not established. No credible marine chain-of-custody certification, recycled-content disclosure, refill system, or specific packaging recyclability claim was found. No product-specific FDA recall, warning letter, or tainted-product alert was located in the reviewed searches.

Lunakai Super Hair Growth Vitamins
Overview
This is a 60-count, mixed-berry gummy supplement intended for adult hair, skin, and nail support. The verified product panel sets a serving at two gummies, providing 30 servings. Each serving lists 5,000 mcg biotin, 100 mg saw palmetto, 75 mg horsetail extract, 2.7 mg zinc, 42 mcg iodine, plus vitamin A from beta-carotene, vitamins D3 and E, folate, B6, B12, pantothenic acid, and inositol. Its most defining fact is the very high biotin dose, roughly 167 times the adult adequate intake. The label image does not show a warning about possible interference with blood tests. The formula is fully dose-disclosed rather than hidden in a proprietary blend. Claims are framed as support for hair growth and appearance, not as treatment for a medical hair-loss condition. No controlled human trial of this exact gummy formula was located.
What works
- The visible Supplement Facts panel identifies each listed active ingredient and amount, with no proprietary blend.
- Vitamin A is supplied as beta-carotene, not preformed retinol or a retinyl ester.
- The ingredient information identifies a pectin-based gummy and states it is vegan, gelatin-free, gluten-free, soy-free, lactose-free, peanut-free, and preservative-free.
- The listed two-gummy daily serving gives a defined 30-day bottle capacity.
What does not
- The 5,000 mcg biotin dose lacks a visible instruction to tell clinicians and laboratories before blood testing, despite FDA-recognized risk of interference with some assays.
- No human trial was located for this exact combination, doses, gummy format, or intended population. Evidence for biotin in people without deficiency is limited.
- Saw palmetto may be unsafe during pregnancy or breastfeeding. The generic consult-a-clinician warning is less specific than an avoidance warning for those groups.
- The product imagery claims third-party testing, GMP, ISO 22000, kosher status, and an FDA-inspected facility, but no batch certificate or matching certification-register record was located for this product.
Who is it for
This product is most suited to an adult who wants a chewable, plant-based hair, skin, and nail supplement with a completely listed formula rather than a proprietary blend. It fits people avoiding gelatin and the listed dairy, gluten, soy, peanut, and lactose ingredients. The 60-gummy bottle is a straightforward 30-day format for someone willing to use two gummies daily. It is better framed as nutritional support, particularly where a clinician has identified a relevant nutrient shortfall, rather than as a proven treatment for thinning or pattern hair loss.
Who is it not for
It is not appropriate for people who are pregnant, breastfeeding, or trying to conceive without clinician direction, because the formula includes saw palmetto. People with upcoming blood work, thyroid monitoring, cardiac testing, or other laboratory testing should not use it without first telling their clinician and laboratory about the 5,000 mcg biotin dose. It also warrants clinician review for people taking prescription medicines or managing thyroid conditions. Anyone seeking treatment for sudden shedding, patchy loss, scalp disease, or diagnosed androgenetic alopecia needs medical assessment rather than relying on this supplement.
Integrity
The label lists beta-carotene as its vitamin A source, which avoids adding preformed vitamin A from retinol or retinyl esters. It also identifies a pectin gummy base and states that the product is vegan and free of gelatin, dairy, gluten, soy, peanuts, lactose, preservatives, artificial colors, and artificial flavors. These are manufacturer-stated dietary and allergen claims, not third-party dietary certifications. Biotin is the main safety issue. At 5,000 mcg per serving, it can interfere with some laboratory assays, yet the visible panel does not carry a test-interference warning. Saw palmetto is another important consideration for pregnancy and breastfeeding. Public FDA recall, tainted-product, and warning-letter searches did not identify a specific action for this product or brand. No public lot-linked certificate of analysis, verified testing record for this exact gummy, recycled-content disclosure, recycling guidance, refill option, or substantiated packaging environmental claim was located.

NUTRAHARMONY Hair Growth Support Supplement 25000 mcg
Overview
This is a 60-capsule, 30-day hair, skin, and nails supplement taken as two capsules daily. The manufacturer’s current product page lists vitamin A, vitamin D3, B vitamins, 5,000 mcg biotin, a 400 mg proprietary blend, 310 mg fish collagen, and 10 mg hyaluronic acid. It uses a vegetable cellulose capsule. The most consequential labeling detail is its high biotin dose. FDA and NIH materials document that supplemental biotin can distort some laboratory results, including thyroid and cardiac assays. A sponsor-funded 90-day placebo-controlled trial is registered for a related Nutra Harmony formula, but the studied formula listed 10,000 mcg biotin and a different 710 mg blend. That mismatch limits how directly its findings apply to the product currently described by the manufacturer.
What works
- The manufacturer specifically identifies fish collagen, several fish species, and coconut, which gives unusually usable allergen and animal-source information.
- The listed 1,200 mcg RAE of preformed vitamin A is below the 3,000 mcg RAE adult upper intake level.
- A completed, registered placebo-controlled human study exists for a closely related Nutra Harmony hair formula.
- The label identifies named vitamins, fish collagen, hyaluronic acid, botanical components, and a vegetable capsule rather than hiding the whole formula in a blend.
What does not
- The manufacturer’s current formula does not match the formula in the registered clinical study, including the stated biotin amount and blend size.
- The 400 mg proprietary blend does not disclose individual amounts of MSM, keratin, bamboo, coconut oil, nettle, or grape seed extract.
- A readily located, product-specific warning to tell clinicians and laboratories about high-dose biotin was not found, despite a 5,000 mcg daily biotin listing.
- No publicly checkable finished-product certification, lot-specific certificate of analysis, or batch-linked contaminant results were located.
- The product contains fish and coconut. It is not suitable for people avoiding fish-derived ingredients, and no responsible fishery or source certification was located.
Who is it for
This format may suit an adult who wants a one-month capsule product that combines biotin, B vitamins, fish collagen, hyaluronic acid, and several beauty-oriented botanicals, and who can safely consume fish and coconut. It is most straightforward for someone whose priority is a labeled multi-ingredient hair, skin, and nails routine rather than a single-nutrient product. They should not be relying on it to diagnose or treat a cause of hair loss, and should disclose it before laboratory testing.
Who is it not for
It is not appropriate for people with fish allergy, those avoiding animal-derived marine ingredients, or anyone with coconut allergy or sensitivity. Pregnant or breastfeeding people, people with liver disease or other medical conditions, and those taking medicines should review the formula with a clinician before use. Anyone scheduled for blood work should tell the ordering clinician and laboratory about the high biotin dose. It is also a poor fit for buyers who require a fully disclosed dose for every botanical or publicly available batch testing.
Integrity
The manufacturer identifies the collagen as fish-derived and names pangasius, tilapia, catfish, cod, haddock, and Nile perch. It also declares coconut. That is useful safety information, although it does not establish fishery origin, species-specific sourcing for the collagen, or a marine chain-of-custody standard. The vegetable capsule does not remove the product’s fish-derived ingredient. The current manufacturer page says the capsules are non-GMO, gluten-free, and made without corn syrup, but no recognized finished-product certification or lot-specific independent test report was located. No matching FDA recall, warning letter, or tainted-product alert was located in the checked federal databases. Packaging material, recycled content, refill options, and disposal claims were not substantively disclosed, so there is no verified lower-waste packaging benefit to report.

NUTRAHARMONY Liquid Biotin & Collagen Drops 60000 mcg
Overview
This is a 2 fl oz liquid beauty supplement for adults, supplied with a marked dropper. The manufacturer directs a 2 mL daily serving, about 58 to 60 drops, and states that the bottle provides 30 servings. Each serving is stated to contain 20,000 mcg of d-biotin and 40,000 mcg, or 40 mg, of bovine collagen, plus water, glycerin, raspberry flavor, citric acid, potassium sorbate, and stevia. The defining issue is the very high biotin dose. The manufacturer gives a thyroid-test warning and advises stopping use three days before testing, but biotin can affect more than thyroid assays. The hair-growth rationale is also weak for this exact product. Independent reviews and NIH materials find little high-quality evidence that biotin improves hair in people without a documented deficiency, and no controlled human trial of this precise liquid formula was located. The manufacturer states that batches undergo heavy-metal and microbiology testing, but did not provide public lot-specific results or a recognized finished-product certification listing.
What works
- The online product information identifies bovine collagen rather than leaving the animal source unclear.
- The full stated formula, serving size, drop count, storage guidance, batch location, and best-by location are disclosed online.
- A measured glass dropper can make the 2 mL serving easier to portion than an unmarked liquid.
- The manufacturer states that the formula is sugar-free, alcohol-free, gluten-free, and non-GMO.
What does not
- The 20,000 mcg biotin dose can interfere with laboratory testing, while the warning specifically names thyroid testing rather than plainly covering all blood tests and clinician notification.
- Hair-growth support is unproven for this exact formula, dose, and target population. Evidence for biotin in people without deficiency is limited.
- The collagen amount is only 40 mg per serving, far below the gram-level quantities commonly studied for oral collagen outcomes.
- Third-party testing is manufacturer-stated only. No public batch certificate, accredited laboratory report, or recognized finished-product certification listing was located.
- Bovine origin is disclosed, but cattle origin, welfare standards, and supply-chain certification are not disclosed.
Who is it for
This product fits an adult who specifically wants a small, flavored liquid supplement rather than capsules or gummies, values a marked dropper, and understands that it is a biotin-focused beauty supplement rather than a proven hair-loss treatment. It may also suit someone avoiding gluten, alcohol, and added sugar, based on the manufacturer’s statements. The 30-serving, 2 fl oz format is practical for a one-month routine. It is most appropriate where a clinician has identified a possible nutritional reason to consider biotin.
Who is it not for
It is not appropriate for children, or for people who are pregnant, breastfeeding, taking medicines, or using prenatal vitamins without clinician input. Anyone with upcoming blood work, especially thyroid or cardiac testing, should not rely on the limited thyroid-only warning and should tell the clinician and laboratory about the 20,000 mcg biotin dose. It is also unsuitable for people avoiding bovine ingredients, people with a relevant cattle-derived ingredient sensitivity, and those seeking an evidence-backed treatment for patterned hair loss, sudden shedding, or unexplained hair loss.
Integrity
The central health consideration is high-dose biotin, not ordinary nutrient toxicity. NIH notes that biotin has no established tolerable upper intake level, but high intakes can generate falsely high or low results in some laboratory assays. FDA has specifically highlighted the risk of incorrect troponin results. The manufacturer’s online warning names thyroid testing and advises a three-day pause, but users should disclose this product before any laboratory test rather than treating that instruction as universal. The manufacturer identifies the collagen as bovine and states that the bottle is dark amber glass with a glass dropper. Glass can reduce direct plastic contact and is widely recyclable where local systems accept it, but the product provides no recycled-content figure, refill option, packaging life-cycle data, or animal-source certification. The manufacturer also states that each batch is tested for heavy metals and microbiology through ISO 17025 laboratories, yet no lot-linked public certificate was located. No product-specific FDA recall, tainted-product notice, or warning letter was located in the public resources reviewed.

Nutrafol Women's Balance Hair Growth Supplements
Overview
This is a 120-capsule, 30-day oral supplement for women age 45 and older with thinning hair. The labeled use is four capsules daily. Its formula combines vitamins and minerals with a 1,875 mg proprietary botanical complex and a 480 mg proprietary supporting blend, including marine collagen, saw palmetto, ashwagandha, curcumin, maca, selenium, zinc, iodine, and 2,500 mcg biotin. The strongest product-specific evidence is a published six-month randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled trial in 70 peri-, menopausal, and postmenopausal women with self-perceived thinning hair. It reported greater terminal and total hair counts than placebo. Separately, the exact Women’s Balance product is listed by NSF as Certified for Sport, an independent certification that includes label review and testing for banned substances and specified contaminants. The label still uses proprietary blends, so buyers cannot see the dose of each botanical.
What works
- A published randomized placebo-controlled trial tested Nutrafol Women’s Balance in its intended menopausal-age population and found improved hair-count outcomes over six months.
- The exact product is listed in NSF’s Certified for Sport directory, providing independently checkable finished-product quality oversight.
- The formula’s vitamin and mineral amounts are disclosed, including 20 mg zinc, 200 mcg selenium, 62.5 mcg vitamin D, and 2,500 mcg biotin.
- The product uses a vegetable cellulose capsule and is labeled gluten-free, dairy-free, soy-free, and gelatin-free by the manufacturer.
What does not
- The 2,500 mcg biotin dose is far above usual dietary needs, and the available label does not give a specific warning to notify clinicians and laboratories before blood testing.
- Ashwagandha and saw palmetto add meaningful contraindication and medication-interaction considerations, especially for pregnancy, breastfeeding, thyroid or autoimmune disease, surgery, and medication use.
- Marine collagen is present. Salmon origin has been disclosed in product materials, but readily available sourcing documentation does not establish a marine sustainability certification or chain of custody.
- Two proprietary blends obscure the individual doses of most botanicals, limiting a dose-by-dose assessment and making formula matching harder if the product changes.
Who is it for
This product fits an adult woman age 45 or older with gradual, self-perceived thinning during perimenopause, menopause, or postmenopause, who can take four capsules daily for several months and wants a supplement whose exact product has both a published six-month placebo-controlled trial and NSF finished-product certification. It is most appropriate when a clinician has already considered common contributors to shedding, such as iron deficiency, thyroid disease, medication effects, abrupt weight loss, or scalp disease. It also suits buyers comfortable with a marine-collagen formula.
Who is it not for
It is not appropriate for pregnancy, breastfeeding, or people planning pregnancy, because saw palmetto and ashwagandha are not appropriate choices in those settings. People with fish allergy should avoid it because it contains marine collagen. Those with thyroid or autoimmune disorders, liver concerns, upcoming surgery, or use of thyroid medicine, immunosuppressants, sedatives, blood thinners, diabetes medicines, anticonvulsants, or multiple supplements should seek clinician or pharmacist review first. It is also a poor fit for anyone needing imminent blood testing unless their clinician and laboratory know about the biotin dose.
Integrity
The most concrete quality strength is independent verification. Nutrafol Women’s Balance is listed in NSF’s Certified for Sport program. NSF states that the program evaluates formulation and label claims, manufacturing practices, banned substances, and specified contaminant risks including lead and arsenic. This is stronger evidence than a manufacturer-only GMP statement, although it is not a public, lot-specific certificate of analysis. Health cautions remain important. The label provides 2,500 mcg biotin, which can distort some laboratory results, including certain hormone and cardiac assays. It contains ashwagandha, saw palmetto, iodine, selenium, zinc, black pepper extract, and marine collagen, creating interaction, thyroid, fish-allergy, and pregnancy-related considerations. Salmon-derived collagen is disclosed in product materials, but no readily checkable MSC, ASC, or comparable marine-source certification was found. No product-specific recycled-content, refill, or widely usable recyclability claim was substantiated.

Clean Nutraceuticals Collagen Biotin Keratin Saw Palmetto Complex
Overview
MultiMane is a 90-capsule, 30-day hair, skin, and nail supplement taken as three capsules daily. Public product information identifies 1,000 mg of multi-collagen, 10,000 mcg of biotin, a 500 mg keratin blend, and saw palmetto represented as 2,500 mg from 250 mg of 10:1 extract. Independent retail listings corroborate the serving format and core formula description, but no current lot-specific certificate of analysis was publicly available. The formula includes bovine, chicken, marine, and egg-shell collagen alongside botanical and antioxidant ingredients. It is therefore not plant based and requires allergy and dietary screening. Accessible safety directions advise pregnant or nursing people, minors, and people with medical conditions to consult a clinician. At 10 mg daily, the biotin dose can interfere with some blood tests, yet accessible product information did not show a specific laboratory-test warning.
What works
- Provides a defined 30-day supply with a three-capsule daily routine.
- Public ingredient information identifies the major collagen animal sources, which helps users screen for dietary restrictions and egg or fish concerns.
- The formula combines collagen, biotin, saw palmetto, keratin, hyaluronic acid, vitamin C, vitamin E, and folate in one product, according to manufacturer-derived public information.
What does not
- The 10,000 mcg biotin dose lacks a specific accessible warning to tell clinicians and laboratories before blood testing.
- No recognized independent finished-product certification or public lot-linked certificate of analysis was identified.
- No controlled human study of this exact finished formula was identified. Evidence for saw palmetto and collagen ingredients does not establish the performance of this combination.
- The keratin blend and additional antioxidant blend do not disclose individual component amounts, which limits dose assessment.
- Marine collagen is named without fish species, origin, or sourcing certification details.
Who is it for
This product suits adults who want a one-month, capsule-based routine instead of separately managing collagen, biotin, and saw palmetto products. It is most relevant for people seeking broad hair, skin, and nail nutritional support who can take three capsules with a meal and have reviewed the bovine, chicken, marine, and egg-derived collagen sources. It also fits users who understand that the ingredient list is broader than the evidence for hair growth, and who will disclose the 10 mg biotin dose before laboratory testing.
Who is it not for
It is not suited to pregnant or breastfeeding people, people under 18, or anyone with an allergy to egg, fish, chicken, or bovine-derived ingredients. People with scheduled blood work, especially thyroid or cardiac testing, need to disclose the 10 mg biotin dose to their clinician and laboratory. Those taking prescription medicines, managing a medical condition, or considering saw palmetto for hormone-related concerns need clinician input. It is also not appropriate as a substitute for evaluation of sudden, patchy, rapidly progressive, or otherwise unexplained hair loss.
Integrity
The key health issue is the 10 mg daily biotin dose. NIH and FDA materials warn that supplemental biotin can produce misleading results in certain laboratory tests, including some thyroid and troponin assays. The accessible product information contains general consultation language for pregnancy, nursing, medical conditions, and adverse effects, but no equally specific blood-test warning was found. Saw palmetto is generally well tolerated in research, although federal complementary-health guidance cautions that it may be unsafe during pregnancy or breastfeeding. The formula publicly identifies bovine, chicken, marine, and egg-shell collagen, which is more useful than an unspecified collagen claim. It does not identify marine species, geographic origin, chain-of-custody standards, or animal-welfare standards. No product listing was identified in USP, NSF, Informed Sport, or ConsumerLab verification records, and no public batch-specific independent testing was located. Searches of FDA warning, recall, and health-fraud resources did not identify a product-specific action, which is not the same as independent quality verification. No product-specific lower-waste packaging or substantiated environmental claim was found.

Hair and Beard Growth Vitamins for Men
Overview
This is a 120-capsule dietary supplement marketed for adult men who want hair and beard growth support. The labeled direction is two capsules daily, making the bottle a 60-day supply. A label record in the NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database lists 10,000 mcg biotin, 2,700 mcg preformed vitamin A, 15 mg zinc, 400 mg OptiMSM, 200 mg hydrolyzed bovine collagen, and 100 mg medium-chain triglycerides per serving. The same label places saw palmetto, ginkgo, Panax ginseng, fo-ti, aloe, nettle, bamboo, and horsetail together in a 300 mg proprietary complex, without individual doses. The manufacturer describes the product as a DHT blocker that can stop hair loss, regrow hair, address gray hair, and show results in 45 days. No controlled human trial of this finished formula was identified, and the doses of its hair-focused botanicals cannot be matched to clinical studies.
What works
- The NIH label record gives specific doses for major vitamins, zinc, OptiMSM, bovine collagen, and medium-chain triglycerides.
- The two-capsule daily direction and 60 servings make the intended use period clear.
- Bovine collagen is named on the label, which helps buyers identify a non-vegan animal-derived ingredient.
- Vitamin A at 2,700 mcg and zinc at 15 mg remain below adult tolerable upper intake levels when considered in isolation.
What does not
- The 300 mg proprietary botanical complex does not disclose individual doses of saw palmetto, fo-ti, ginkgo, ginseng, aloe, nettle, bamboo, or horsetail.
- No human trial of this exact formula was identified. Evidence for individual saw palmetto products does not establish that this blend regrows hair or beard hair.
- The 10,000 mcg biotin dose is high enough to warrant a specific laboratory-test warning, but the label warning reviewed does not tell users to inform clinicians or laboratories before blood testing.
- Fo-ti has been linked to clinically apparent liver injury, while several included botanicals and vitamin A can create medication or condition-specific safety concerns.
- The manufacturer claims third-party testing and GMP facility production, but no public batch-linked certificate or recognized finished-product certification was located.
Who is it for
This product is most relevant to an adult man who specifically wants a two-month, capsule-based nutritional supplement and understands that it is not a proven treatment for androgenetic hair loss or beard gaps. The disclosed vitamin, mineral, MSM, collagen, and medium-chain triglyceride amounts may be useful to someone checking a supplement stack for duplication. It is better suited to a person who is not pregnant or breastfeeding, has no liver condition, is not taking prescription medicines, and can confirm the current bottle label before use.
Who is it not for
It is not appropriate for people who are pregnant or breastfeeding, under 18, or managing liver disease, because the formula includes fo-ti and multiple botanicals with limited safety data in those groups. People taking anticoagulants, antiplatelet drugs, diabetes medicines, heart medicines, retinoid drugs, or other prescriptions should not treat the generic label caution as sufficient interaction screening. It also does not suit vegans, buyers avoiding bovine ingredients, or anyone with upcoming blood work who needs a product with a clear high-biotin laboratory warning.
Integrity
The label identifies hydrolyzed bovine collagen, but no cattle origin, animal-welfare standard, or chain-of-custody documentation was found. The capsule itself is hypromellose, yet the product is not vegan because it contains bovine collagen. No marine ingredient was identified. The manufacturer states that the product is made in the United States from globally sourced ingredients and produced in a GMP facility, but these statements were not matched to a public, recognized finished-product certification or a batch-specific independent certificate of analysis. The major health concern is formulation complexity. A 10,000 mcg biotin serving can interfere with some laboratory tests, including certain thyroid and troponin assays, and the reviewed label lacks a direct testing warning. The product also contains fo-ti, an herb associated with potentially severe liver injury. No FDA recall, warning letter, tainted-product alert, or FTC action specific to this product or brand was located in the checked U.S. databases. No meaningful packaging-material, recycled-content, refill, or recyclability documentation was found.

Rainbow Nutrients Hair Growth Support Formula
Overview
This is a 120-capsule, 60-day hair, skin, and nail supplement for adults. The labeled use is two capsules daily. The manufacturer states that it is made in the United States, uses vegetarian capsules, and combines biotin, collagen, OptiMSM, goMCT, saw palmetto, vitamins, zinc, and a botanical blend. The NIH Dietary Supplement Label Database records 10,000 mcg of biotin, 400 mg of OptiMSM, 200 mg of hydrolyzed bovine collagen, 100 mg of medium-chain triglycerides, 15 mg of zinc, and 2,700 mcg of vitamin A per daily serving. Eight botanicals, including ginkgo, Panax ginseng, fo-ti, saw palmetto, and horsetail, share a 300 mg proprietary blend, so their individual doses are not disclosed. No controlled human trial of this finished formula was identified.
What works
- The current NIH label record provides a detailed serving size, 60 servings, and quantities for most vitamins and several core ingredients.
- Hydrolyzed bovine collagen is explicitly identified, which gives people avoiding bovine ingredients a usable screening detail.
- The label includes a pregnancy, nursing, under-18, and medical-condition consultation caution.
- Vitamin A and zinc amounts are listed, allowing users to account for overlap with multivitamins or other supplements.
What does not
- The 10 mg biotin dose has no specific instruction to tell clinicians and laboratories before blood testing, despite established risk of assay interference.
- The formula combines several herbs with medication-interaction potential, while the product warning is broad rather than naming anticoagulants, diabetes medicines, retinoids, or other relevant drug classes.
- The 300 mg proprietary botanical blend does not disclose individual doses of ginkgo, ginseng, fo-ti, saw palmetto, horsetail, aloe, nettle, or bamboo.
- The manufacturer claims third-party testing and GMP-facility production, but no independently checkable finished-product certification or batch-linked certificate of analysis was located.
- Marketing that says it can address or fight hair loss reaches beyond the identified evidence for this exact formula.
Who is it for
This product fits an adult who specifically wants a two-month capsule format, can review a dense multinutrient label, and is seeking nutritional support rather than a demonstrated treatment for hair loss. It is most practical for someone who is not pregnant or breastfeeding, is not taking prescription medicines with interaction concerns, and can coordinate the 10 mg biotin dose with upcoming laboratory testing. It also suits people who need bovine collagen to be identified rather than hidden under a general collagen label.
Who is it not for
It is not suited to pregnancy, breastfeeding, children, or anyone trying to conceive without clinician guidance. People using anticoagulants or antiplatelet medicines, diabetes medicines, hormone therapies, retinoids, diuretics, seizure medicines, or multiple supplements should seek pharmacist or clinician review because of the vitamin A and multi-herb formula. It is also a poor fit for vegans, people avoiding bovine ingredients, those who need individually disclosed botanical doses, and anyone with scheduled blood work who cannot ensure that the laboratory knows about their biotin use.
Integrity
The label filed in the NIH database identifies hydrolyzed bovine collagen, while the capsule itself is described as vegetarian. That clarity is useful for dietary screening, but the cattle source, geographic origin, welfare standards, and chain-of-custody documentation were not found. The label also states that the product has no added shellfish, dairy, soy, wheat, gluten, antibiotics, preservatives, stearates, or dioxides. The manufacturer states that the product is non-GMO, made in the United States with globally sourced ingredients, made in a GMP facility, and third-party tested for purity and potency. Those are manufacturer statements, not independently verified finished-product certification or batch testing. No product-specific recall, FDA warning letter, or tainted-product alert was identified in the checks performed. No recycled-content, refill, recyclability, or other substantiated packaging environmental claim was found.

Happy Head Hair Growth Supplement
Overview
This is a 60-capsule oral hair supplement marketed for adults of any sex. Happy Head directs users to take two capsules daily with a meal, making each bottle a 30-day supply. The manufacturer says it is drug-free and intended to support healthier hair and scalp, with visible thickening claims over three to six months. Its unusually broad formula is disclosed by ingredient and form. An independent product summary reports 6,000 mcg biotin, 25 mg zinc, 200 mcg selenium, 1,500 mcg vitamin A, 62.5 mcg vitamin D3, bovine collagen, ashwagandha, probiotics, amino acids, and 30 mg saw palmetto. No controlled human trial of this exact finished formula was identified.
What works
- The formula is unusually transparent, with named vitamin forms, botanicals, amino acids, probiotics, and stated daily quantities available from an independent product summary.
- The product page gives a clear daily direction, two capsules with a meal, and a defined 60-capsule monthly format.
- Bovine collagen is specifically identified as types I and III, rather than being described only as collagen.
- The manufacturer tells people who are pregnant, nursing, or planning pregnancy to consult a clinician before use.
What does not
- The 6,000 mcg biotin dose is very high relative to dietary needs, and the available product page does not provide a specific warning to tell clinicians and laboratories before blood testing.
- Ashwagandha can interact with medicines and is not recommended during pregnancy, breastfeeding, or for some people with thyroid or autoimmune disorders. The product's general pregnancy consultation language does not fully communicate those boundaries.
- No public, lot-linked certificate of analysis or recognized independent certification for this finished supplement was identified.
- The manufacturer says hair can grow back faster and stronger, but no controlled human study of this exact formula was identified. Ingredient evidence, where it exists, does not establish the performance of this blend.
- The formula uses bovine collagen and wild-harvested marine algae that may carry trace fish or shellfish residue, so it is not suitable for vegan users and warrants care for relevant allergies.
Who is it for
This product fits an adult who wants a one-month, two-capsule routine and values seeing a long ingredient list with individual nutrient amounts rather than a proprietary blend. It is most relevant to someone seeking nutritional support for hair appearance who has reviewed their existing multivitamin, vitamin D, zinc, selenium, iodine, and vitamin A intake. A buyer should also be comfortable with bovine collagen and should not treat the supplement as a proven standalone treatment for a diagnosed hair-loss condition.
Who is it not for
It is not well suited to people who are pregnant, breastfeeding, trying to conceive, managing thyroid or autoimmune disease, preparing for surgery, or using thyroid medicines, sedatives, diabetes medicines, blood-pressure medicines, immunosuppressants, or anticonvulsants without clinician review. It also does not fit vegans or people with bovine collagen concerns, or those with fish or shellfish allergies who need an unequivocally allergen-free product. Anyone having blood tests should disclose the high biotin intake to their clinician and laboratory.
Integrity
The formula has several disclosure strengths. Happy Head identifies hydrolyzed bovine collagen types I and III, uses a vegetable capsule, and names the bacterial strains in its probiotic blend. It also states that its Atlantic kelp source is wild-harvested and may contain trace amounts of small fish or shellfish residue. That is useful source and allergy information, although it is not the same as a certified marine chain-of-custody claim. The main health concern is the combination of 6,000 mcg biotin with no specific lab-test interference notice on the available product page. High supplemental biotin can distort certain laboratory results. Ashwagandha adds medication, thyroid, autoimmune, pregnancy, and liver-safety considerations. No public batch-specific laboratory results, recognized finished-product certification, or environmental packaging specification was identified. No supplement-specific FDA recall, warning letter, or FTC enforcement action was identified in the checked records.

Pronexa Propidren Hair Growth
Overview
Propidren is a 60-capsule oral hair supplement intended for adults, with directions in the independently archived label to take two capsules daily with food or water. That supplies 30 days. The archived label identifies 10 individually dosed actives, including 200 mg saw palmetto, 25 mg iron, 2 mg biotin, 5 mg zinc, and 50 mg each of Fo-Ti, beta-sitosterol, pygeum, horsetail, and nettle, plus 30 mg green tea extract. Its hair-growth positioning rests mainly on a manufacturer-stated DHT-blocking mechanism. Human research on saw palmetto for hair loss is limited and does not test this exact multi-ingredient product. The presence of Fo-Ti is especially important because this herb has a well-established association with clinically apparent liver injury. The archived label gives pregnancy, breastfeeding, age, medication, and iron-overdose cautions, but does not show a specific biotin laboratory-test warning.
What works
- The independently archived label lists all 10 active ingredients and their individual daily amounts, with no proprietary blend.
- Two vegetable capsules per day provide a defined 30-day course from the 60-capsule bottle.
- The capsule shell is identified as vegetable capsule, which avoids gelatin for buyers avoiding that ingredient.
- The label includes an iron accidental-overdose warning and directs users taking medicines to consult a health professional.
What does not
- Fo-Ti, also called Polygonum multiflorum, is a well-established cause of clinically apparent liver injury, which can be severe.
- The 2 mg biotin dose is far above usual dietary need, yet the archived label does not show a specific warning to disclose use before laboratory testing.
- At 25 mg daily, iron is substantial for a general hair supplement and can add to iron from multivitamins, food, or prescribed supplements.
- No controlled human trial of this exact formula was identified. Evidence for oral saw palmetto in hair loss remains limited.
- Claims that it prevents hair loss, stimulates follicles, or regrows hair are stronger than the evidence available for this finished formula.
Who is it for
This product is most specifically suited to a nonpregnant adult who has already discussed unexplained hair shedding with a clinician, understands that the supporting evidence is limited, and wants a 30-day capsule format with every listed ingredient and dose visible. It may be easier to evaluate than a proprietary-blend supplement because the label identifies its 25 mg iron, 2 mg biotin, and botanical components. It is not a substitute for testing and treating an identified cause of hair loss, such as iron deficiency or thyroid disease.
Who is it not for
It is not appropriate for pregnancy, breastfeeding, people under 18, or households where children could access iron-containing capsules. People with liver disease, prior supplement-related liver problems, hemochromatosis, unexplained abnormal liver tests, or a history of reactions to Fo-Ti should choose a formula without Fo-Ti. Those taking prescription or over-the-counter medicines should obtain pharmacist or clinician review first. Anyone having blood work should tell the clinician and laboratory about the 2 mg biotin dose, because biotin can distort some test results.
Integrity
The independently archived label identifies a vegetable capsule, magnesium stearate, and silicon dioxide as other ingredients. No fish, shellfish, collagen, gelatin, or other obvious marine or animal-derived ingredient is listed. However, no public species, origin, supplier chain-of-custody, organic certification, or packaging-material documentation was identified, so environmental and sourcing claims cannot be substantiated. The key health concern is Fo-Ti. NIH LiverTox classifies Polygonum multiflorum, the ingredient listed on the product label, as a well-established cause of clinically apparent liver injury, with published severe and occasionally fatal cases. Saw palmetto may also be unsafe in pregnancy or breastfeeding. The product's 25 mg iron warrants caution around duplicate iron intake and child access. FDA also warns that biotin in supplements can interfere with some laboratory assays, including certain troponin tests. No product-specific third-party certification or public batch-linked contaminant report was identified.




















