10 Best Alpha Lipoic Acid 600mg
Please note that we participate in affiliate marketing programs. When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn a commission. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. This comes at no additional cost to you and helps support the resources required to provide valuable content.Advertising Disclosure
Top-rated Alpha Lipoic Acid 600mg Comparison
1
2
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
Alpha-lipoic acid 600 mg: what to look for
Alpha-lipoic acid is sold as an oral supplement for antioxidant, nerve, energy, and glucose-related support. In the supplied reviews, the most relevant human research concerns possible, generally modest symptom relief in some people with diabetic peripheral neuropathy at oral doses around 600 mg daily. Results are mixed, and the evidence does not establish alpha-lipoic acid as a treatment for diabetes, reliable blood-sugar control, or unexplained nerve symptoms. Intravenous research should not be treated as proof for an oral capsule or softgel.
The number “600 mg” needs careful reading. It may describe the amount per capsule, per serving, or per day. A product may require two or three capsules to reach 600 mg, while another may provide 600 mg in one capsule. Salt-based R-ALA products can list the weight of sodium R-lipoate separately from the amount of actual R-lipoic acid; one supplied product lists 600 mg sodium R-lipoate providing 520 mg R-lipoic acid. A 1,000 mg product is not automatically better suited to research that commonly used 600 mg, and a 100 mg product does not reproduce that studied routine.
Form also matters. “R-ALA,” “S-ALA,” “R-lipoate,” and “mixed” or “racemic” alpha-lipoic acid are not interchangeable label descriptions. A credible label should state whether the product is mixed-form or R-form and give the amount clearly. A claim of R-ALA is still only a claim unless identity and potency are supported by finished-product testing. The strongest supplied examples either appeared in a recognized independent registry or provided a public report for a traceable lot. NSF dietary-supplement certification, NSF/ANSI 173 listings, USP Verified status, or public ConsumerLab testing are materially different from a seller simply saying “third-party tested.”
For a buyer, the useful evidence is specific: a finished-product certificate of analysis should identify the lot, expiration date, laboratory, methods, specifications, and numerical results. For this category, that ideally includes alpha-lipoic-acid identity and amount, R/S composition when claimed, heavy metals, microbiology, and relevant residual solvents. Potency testing on a raw ingredient does not establish what is in the finished bottle. Stability evidence should show that the labeled amount and claimed form remain acceptable through expiry, not merely that the product was tested once.
Formula transparency is another practical separator. Look for every active ingredient, the total daily amount, capsule or softgel material, fillers, flow agents, oils, allergens, and added ingredients such as benfotiamine, B vitamins, chromium, berberine, or black pepper extract. Extra ingredients can create additional interaction or dietary concerns. Vegetarian or vegan claims should be checked against capsule materials: gelatin is not vegetarian, and softgels may include gelatin and coconut-derived ingredients.
Across the supplied products, recurring cautions deserve attention. Alpha-lipoic acid may affect blood sugar, so people using insulin, sulfonylureas, or other glucose-lowering medicines should seek clinician or pharmacist guidance and discuss monitoring. Rare insulin-autoimmune hypoglycemia has been reported in the supplied reviews. Pregnancy, nursing, childhood use, thyroid concerns, planned surgery, multiple medicines, and new or worsening numbness, weakness, burning, or pain also warrant professional advice. These products should not replace diabetes treatment, glucose monitoring, evaluation of neuropathy, or prescribed care. Commonly reported adverse effects include nausea, vomiting, heartburn, and headache. One reviewed combination product also included black pepper extract, which may alter exposure to some medicines. Finally, conflicting serving directions, outdated labels, and “research chemical only” language are reasons to stop and verify the product rather than rely on a headline claim.
Integrity
These topics distinguish a plausible 600 mg label from a product whose dose, form, safety communication, testing, and packaging claims can be checked. The supplied products vary most clearly in independent certification, lot-level documentation, active-form verification, and the usefulness of their warnings.
HHealth & Safety
Likely health benefit
This measures whether the stated use is supported by meaningful human evidence for oral alpha-lipoic acid at the labeled dose and form, without replacing proven care. For this category, a high score reflects modest, qualified neuropathy-symptom claims around studied oral doses; a low score reflects broad glucose, energy, heart, brain, or disease-treatment promises that exceed the evidence.
Medication and blood-sugar safety
This measures whether the label gives practical warnings about hypoglycemia, diabetes medicines, surgery, pregnancy or nursing, thyroid concerns, and adverse effects. A high score among these products includes specific clinician-review language, such as warnings about insulin or antidiabetes drugs. Lower scores rely on a generic “consult a doctor” statement and omit monitoring, low-blood-sugar symptoms, or important interaction context.
Formula simplicity and allergen clarity
This measures whether the product identifies every active and inactive ingredient, daily amount, capsule or softgel material, and relevant allergens. High-scoring products use short, named formulas and clearly disclose vegetarian or vegan capsules and exclusions. Lower-scoring products include undisclosed or incompletely quantified extras, conflicting labels, gelatin, coconut, black pepper, or unclear softgel-shell and excipient information.
What is actually in the capsule
This measures identity, potency, and claimed R-ALA versus mixed-form accuracy through expiry. A high score requires more than a front-label number: it needs credible finished-product analytical support for the labeled alpha-lipoic-acid amount and form. The supplied scores were strongest where R-form or dose claims were independently supported, and weakest where the form was unstated or historical testing found substantial under-potency.
Contaminant control
This measures credible finished-product control of heavy metals, microbes, residual solvents, and other relevant contaminants. High scores reflect independent testing or certification with defined limits; low scores reflect only a manufacturer statement that testing occurs. A public heavy-metal result is useful, but it does not automatically prove microbiology, solvents, or every current bottle meets specification.
Potency through the expiry date
This measures whether packaging, storage directions, and finished-product stability data support the labeled alpha-lipoic-acid amount and claimed form until expiry. High scores require expiry-dated stability evidence, not just storage advice or a single assay. Among the supplied products, most had storage directions but no public stability report, so buyers could not independently confirm potency at the end of shelf life.
EEvidence
Independent product verification
This measures whether the exact finished product appears in a credible independent registry or public testing program, rather than being described as tested by the seller. High scores came from products listed by NSF or supported by independent testing; low scores reflected no exact-product registry entry or public result. Facility GMP certification alone is not finished-product certification.
Lot-specific test proof
This measures whether a buyer can connect a recent bottle lot to a certificate naming the lot, expiry, laboratory, methods, specifications, and results. The clearest supplied example reported alpha-lipoic-acid potency and heavy metals for a traceable lot. Products with only manufacturer-stated testing, without a public lot-linked report, scored materially lower on this topic.
Honest nerve, glucose, energy, and absorption claims
This measures whether marketing stays within qualified structure-function language and separates oral supplement evidence from intravenous or disease-treatment evidence. High scores use restrained nerve-symptom language and avoid promising glucose control. Lower scores promote broad energy, heart, liver, brain, anti-aging, absorption, or disease benefits without product-specific human evidence, or present a supplement as a treatment substitute.
Regulatory and company accountability
This measures whether the responsible U.S. company, contacts, manufacturing role, and relevant regulatory history are traceable. High scores were associated with identifiable companies, NSF-listed facilities, and no applicable current action in the reviewed material. Low scores reflected misleading certification claims, warning-letter history, unclear responsibility, or contradictions such as selling an orally directed product as a research chemical.
EEcology
Lower-waste packaging with honest green claims
This measures disclosure and credibility around the bottle or pouch, seal, desiccant, outer packaging, recycled content, and U.S. recyclability. High scoring here means packaging claims are specific, qualified, and verifiable. The supplied products generally disclosed little beyond a plastic bottle or flexible pouch; none provided enough resin, recycled-content, or recycling detail to establish a clear environmental advantage.
Full reviews

Nutricost Alpha Lipoic Acid 600mg, 240 Count
Overview
This is a bottle of 240 vegetarian capsules, labeled to provide 600 mg of alpha-lipoic acid from two 300 mg capsules daily. That is 120 labeled servings. The manufacturer lists di-calcium phosphate, hypromellose capsule, microcrystalline cellulose, vegetable-source magnesium stearate, and silica as the nonactive ingredients. The label identifies alpha-lipoic acid but does not state a measured R and S isomer ratio. The manufacturer says its alpha-lipoic acid contains both forms and is third-party tested, but it does not publish a current lot-specific finished-product report. Human evidence for oral alpha-lipoic acid is mixed. It may reduce some diabetic neuropathy symptoms, while it has not shown reliable blood-sugar control benefits and should not replace diabetes care.
What works
- The full daily active amount and all listed capsule ingredients are disclosed, with no proprietary blend.
- The product uses vegetarian hypromellose capsules and is manufacturer-stated gluten-free, soy-free, and non-GMO.
- A 240-capsule bottle provides 120 labeled daily servings at the stated two-capsule use.
- Nutricost Manufacturing has a current NSF/ANSI 455-2 GMP facility listing. This verifies the facility certification, not certification of this specific product.
What does not
- The manufacturer claims third-party testing, but no public lot-specific certificate of analysis was located for this finished product.
- The label does not disclose the R and S alpha-lipoic-acid proportions or provide analytical proof of dose and form through expiry.
- Its general warning to consult a clinician for medicines or medical conditions does not specifically flag diabetes medicines, low blood sugar symptoms, surgery, or thyroid-related concerns.
- Evidence for oral alpha-lipoic acid is not a reliable basis for glucose control, kidney protection, or replacing established neuropathy treatment.
Who is it for
This product suits an adult who has already discussed alpha-lipoic acid with a clinician and wants a simple, single-ingredient capsule format rather than a blended nerve or glucose formula. The 600 mg daily label amount matches a dose studied in diabetic neuropathy research, although benefits remain uncertain and should be judged by a clinician in the context of established care. Its 120-day labeled supply may fit someone seeking a longer routine with vegetarian capsules and avoidance of gluten and soy.
Who is it not for
It is not a self-treatment option for anyone with new numbness, burning foot pain, poorly controlled diabetes, or suspected neuropathy, because those symptoms need clinical assessment and proven care. People using insulin or other glucose-lowering medicines should seek individualized advice and monitor for low blood sugar. Pregnant or nursing people, children, people preparing for surgery, and those with thyroid concerns or multiple medicines should choose a clinician-reviewed plan instead of relying on the bottle's broad warning.
Integrity
The product has a relatively simple disclosed formula. It contains alpha-lipoic acid plus common capsule and tableting excipients, with a vegetarian hypromellose capsule. The manufacturer states that it is gluten-free, soy-free, non-GMO, and tested by an independent accredited laboratory. Those statements were not matched to a public certificate for the exact bottle and lot. Nutricost Manufacturing has an active NSF/ANSI 455-2 GMP facility certification listing in Utah. That is useful facility-level quality evidence, but it is not an independent certification of this product's contents. No current relevant FDA recall or warning letter was located in the reviewed public sources. The brand does not provide specific recycled-content, recyclability, desiccant, or reduced-packaging information for this bottle, so its environmental profile cannot be meaningfully verified.

Alpha Lipoic Acid 600mg Supplement
Overview
This is a 120-capsule, 60-serving oral formula intended for adults. The manufacturer's directions call for two capsules daily, supplying 600 mg alpha-lipoic acid, 25 mg benfotiamine, 5 mg thiamine, and 500 mcg cyanocobalamin. It is sold for antioxidant, nerve, energy, and metabolic support. The formula and excipients are disclosed on the manufacturer's product page, which also identifies standard mixed R- and S-alpha-lipoic acid rather than an R-only ingredient. The company states that batches receive third-party microbiology and heavy-metal testing and are made in a GMP-certified facility, but it does not publish a finished-product, lot-linked certificate of analysis, potency report, stability report, or independently issued product certification. Human evidence for oral alpha-lipoic acid at 600 mg is mixed for diabetic neuropathy and does not establish glucose control or general energy benefits.
What works
- Provides the 600 mg daily alpha-lipoic-acid dose studied in oral diabetic-neuropathy trials, although trial conclusions remain mixed.
- The manufacturer discloses daily amounts for all four active ingredients and names the capsule excipients.
- A vegetable-cellulose capsule makes the stated vegan format practical for buyers avoiding gelatin.
- The manufacturer provides storage directions, tamper-evident seal information, batch identification, and a best-by location on the bottle.
What does not
- The public product page provides no lot-specific certificate of analysis, so the labeled alpha-lipoic-acid amount, R/S composition, heavy metals, microbes, and expiry-date potency cannot be independently checked by a buyer.
- No exact finished-product certification was found in the major independent supplement certification registries searched.
- The pregnancy and nursing language says the product is generally safe while also directing users to consult a clinician. That reassurance is broader than the product-specific safety evidence supplied.
- The directions flag blood-sugar and thyroid medicines but do not give clear instructions for diabetes treatment changes, monitoring for low blood sugar, or stopping before surgery.
Who is it for
This product fits an adult who specifically wants a two-month supply of a standard mixed-form alpha-lipoic-acid formula at 600 mg daily, plus small amounts of benfotiamine, thiamine, and cyanocobalamin. It is also suited to someone who prefers a vegan capsule and values a fully named ingredient list. The most appropriate use is as a clinician-reviewed supplement, not as a replacement for diabetes care or an established treatment for nerve pain. Buyers should be comfortable with manufacturer-stated quality claims rather than publicly available lot testing.
Who is it not for
It is not a good fit for children, pregnant or nursing people without clinician guidance, or anyone using insulin, other glucose-lowering medicines, or thyroid medicine unless their prescriber reviews it. People preparing for surgery should seek individualized advice because the public directions do not address perioperative use. It also does not suit someone who needs an independently certified product, a public certificate of analysis tied to the bottle lot, verified R-only alpha-lipoic acid, or a supplement intended to treat diabetic neuropathy or control blood sugar.
Integrity
The manufacturer states that the product is vegan, non-GMO, made in the United States with globally sourced ingredients, and produced in a GMP-certified facility. It also states that each batch is tested by an ISO 17025 laboratory for microbiology and heavy metals. Those are manufacturer claims, not publicly inspectable finished-product reports. No exact product certification was found in the major independent supplement registries searched, and no lot-specific certificate of analysis was publicly available. The bottle is described as having a safety neckband and undercap seal, with cool, dry storage below 85 F. No recycled-content, recyclability, desiccant, bottle-resin, outer-packaging, or quantified environmental claim was disclosed. FDA recall, health-fraud, and warning-letter searches did not identify a relevant current action for Nutra Harmony LLC or this product. Dietary supplements are not FDA-approved for safety or effectiveness before sale.

Nutricost R-Alpha Lipoic Acid 100mg, 120 Veggie Capsules
Overview
This is a 120-capsule dietary supplement providing 100 mg of R-alpha lipoic acid per vegetarian capsule. The listed direction is one capsule daily with water, giving a 120-day supply. The formula lists rice flour and a hypromellose cellulose capsule, and is labeled gluten-free, non-GMO, and vegetarian. The defining limitation is dose and verification. Human research on oral alpha-lipoic acid for diabetic nerve symptoms has generally evaluated 600 mg to 1,800 mg daily, not this 100 mg daily amount. The product label identifies R-ALA, but no public, lot-specific analytical report was found to confirm the R form, potency, contaminants, or shelf-life performance for a bottle in circulation. Nutricost states that the product is third-party tested.
What works
- One-capsule daily format provides 120 labeled servings per bottle.
- The label gives a concise formula, with 100 mg R-alpha lipoic acid plus rice flour and a cellulose-based vegetarian capsule.
- The stated formula is gluten-free and contains no listed soy-derived ingredient.
- Nutricost Manufacturing is listed by NSF as meeting NSF/ANSI 455-2 dietary-supplement GMP requirements, although that is facility certification rather than certification of this finished product.
What does not
- At 100 mg daily, the labeled amount is well below the 600 mg or greater oral doses commonly studied for diabetic peripheral neuropathy symptoms.
- The warning is broad, but does not specifically call out possible blood-sugar lowering, diabetes medicines, surgery, or thyroid-related considerations.
- The R-ALA identity and 100 mg potency are label claims, not publicly supported by a product-specific analytical report.
- No public lot-specific certificate of analysis was found for finished-product potency, heavy metals, microbiology, residual solvents, or expiry-date stability.
- The finished product is not publicly listed in the NSF dietary-supplement product registry, so the facility GMP listing should not be read as product certification.
Who is it for
This product fits an adult who specifically wants a low-dose, single-ingredient R-alpha lipoic acid routine rather than a typical 600 mg alpha-lipoic acid regimen. It may also suit someone who prefers a vegetarian capsule and a short excipient list, and who is comfortable treating the R-ALA designation and third-party-testing statement as manufacturer claims rather than public batch proof. It is intended for general supplement use, not as a substitute for assessment or treatment of nerve symptoms, diabetes, or another diagnosed condition.
Who is it not for
It is not well matched to someone trying to reproduce the oral doses commonly studied for diabetic peripheral neuropathy, because the labeled daily amount is 100 mg. People using insulin or other glucose-lowering medicines, those with unstable glucose, people preparing for surgery, and anyone pregnant or nursing should seek individualized clinician guidance before use. It is also a poor fit for buyers who require public lot-level confirmation of R-ALA identity, contaminant results, potency through expiry, or a finished-product certification registry listing.
Integrity
The product has a short disclosed formula. Independent retailer label information identifies 100 mg R-alpha lipoic acid, rice flour, and a hypromellose cellulose capsule. Nutricost states that it is gluten-free, non-GMO, vegetarian, made in the United States with globally sourced ingredients, and tested by an independent accredited laboratory. Those product-specific testing and sourcing statements were not accompanied by a public finished-product report. Nutricost Manufacturing holds an NSF/ANSI 455-2 GMP listing for dietary-supplement manufacturing operations. That supports oversight of the listed facility, but it is not the same as NSF certification of this product. No public lot certificate was located for this product. The bottle uses conventional supplement packaging, but the reviewed materials did not provide recycled-content, recyclability, desiccant, seal, or other quantified environmental information. No product-specific FDA recall or warning-letter concern was identified in the reviewed FDA searches.

DEAL SUPPLEMENT R Alpha Lipoic Acid 600mg
Overview
This is a 120-capsule vegetarian supplement intended for adults. The manufacturer directs a three-capsule serving, providing 600 mg of R-alpha-lipoic acid and 300 mg of benfotiamine, for up to 40 days. It is marketed for antioxidant, energy, heart, immune, and nervous-system support. The 600 mg alpha-lipoic-acid amount matches a dose examined in oral studies of diabetic peripheral neuropathy. Human findings are mixed, with possible relief of sensory symptoms for some people, but no reliable evidence that alpha-lipoic acid controls blood sugar. The stated R-alpha-lipoic-acid identity, stabilized form, allergen exclusions, and third-party lab testing come from the manufacturer. No public finished-product certificate of analysis, expiry stability report, or recognized independent certification for this exact product was located.
What works
- The manufacturer-stated 600 mg daily alpha-lipoic-acid amount is within the oral dose range studied for diabetic peripheral-neuropathy symptoms.
- It combines alpha-lipoic acid with 300 mg benfotiamine in a simple two-active formula, with rice flour reported by an independent reseller.
- The product is a 120-capsule vegetarian format, which the manufacturer describes as a 40-day supply.
- The manufacturer lists exclusion of gluten, dairy, eggs, peanuts, soy, wheat, yeast, and tree nuts.
What does not
- The claimed R-alpha-lipoic-acid identity and 600 mg potency are not backed by a public independent assay of the finished product.
- No lot-specific certificate of analysis was found for heavy metals, microbes, residual solvents, or potency through expiry.
- No listing was found in recognized USP, NSF, BSCG, or ConsumerLab product-verification registries for this exact product.
- The brand is named in an unresolved California Proposition 65 lawsuit concerning lead or PFOA allegations for three different products. This does not establish contamination in this product, but it weakens company-level quality confidence.
- Marketing suggests broad energy, heart, immune, absorption, and nervous-system benefits that are broader than the mixed human evidence for oral alpha-lipoic acid.
Who is it for
This product is most relevant to an adult who has already discussed alpha-lipoic acid with a clinician and specifically wants a 600 mg daily oral amount plus benfotiamine in vegetarian capsules. It may fit someone seeking adjunctive support for diabetic peripheral-neuropathy symptoms, not glucose control, who can manage three capsules daily and accepts that the R-alpha-lipoic-acid claim and finished-product testing are manufacturer-stated rather than publicly independently verified.
Who is it not for
It is not appropriate as a substitute for diabetes medicines, glucose monitoring, or evaluation of new numbness, burning pain, weakness, or foot wounds. People using insulin or other glucose-lowering medicines should seek clinical guidance because blood-sugar effects may complicate treatment. Pregnant or nursing people, children, people with thyroid concerns, those preparing for surgery, and people with significant kidney disease or multiple medicines should use a clinician-reviewed alternative or avoid self-directed use. It also does not suit buyers who require lot-level contaminant results or independent certification.
Integrity
The label-facing presentation is relatively simple, with two stated active ingredients, rice flour reported by an independent reseller, and a vegetarian capsule. The manufacturer says the formula is non-GMO, free of several major allergens, and third-party lab tested. Those are useful disclosures, but no public report identifies the laboratory, methods, lot number, specifications, or results. No recognized independent certification or public stability evidence for the finished product was located. Packaging appears to be a plastic bottle with a screw cap, but the manufacturer does not disclose bottle resin, recycled content, seal, desiccant, outer-carton use, or recycling instructions. No environmental claim beyond the product presentation was verified. Separately, Deal Supplement is named in an active California Proposition 65 case filed in 2025 over alleged lead or PFOA exposures from three other products. The case does not name this alpha-lipoic-acid product or establish its contamination.

Geronova R-Lipoic Acid 600 mg
Overview
This is a capsule-form R-lipoic-acid product sold as a 60-capsule, one-month supply. The catalog presents 600 mg, while GeroNova's own specification for its 600 mg Bio-Enhanced capsule identifies 600 mg sodium R-lipoate, providing 520 mg R-lipoic acid, plus 60 mg sodium. The manufacturer lists vegetable cellulose capsule and non-GMO rice flour as the other ingredients. The active form is described by the manufacturer as stabilized sodium R-lipoate, intended to improve the handling of otherwise unstable R-lipoic acid. That identity and the active-equivalent amount have not been confirmed through a public independent test of this finished product. Human evidence for oral alpha-lipoic acid is limited and mixed. It may reduce symptoms in some people with diabetic neuropathy, but it has not shown reliable blood-sugar control benefits and should not replace diabetes care.
What works
- The manufacturer discloses a relatively short formula, sodium R-lipoate, vegetable cellulose capsule, and non-GMO rice flour.
- The stated 600 mg sodium R-lipoate amount is specified by the manufacturer as providing 520 mg R-lipoic acid, rather than leaving the R form unspecified.
- The manufacturer states that the formula excludes wheat, gluten, corn, yeast, soy, egg, dairy, artificial colors, artificial sweeteners, and artificial flavors.
- Oral alpha-lipoic acid has some human evidence for modest symptom relief in diabetic peripheral neuropathy, although results across reviews are mixed.
What does not
- No public, lot-specific certificate of analysis was found for this finished product, including R and S isomer testing, heavy metals, microbes, or residual solvents.
- No current independent finished-product certification or public product-specific test result was found in the major verification programs checked.
- The manufacturer's 600 mg product page says there are no known adverse interactions, which is not sufficiently cautious for people using glucose-lowering medicines or with thyroid concerns.
- FDA issued GeroNova Research a November 18, 2021 warning letter over disease-treatment claims for its R-lipoic-acid products. The company's current broad health language warrants careful interpretation.
- The package materials, recycled content, disposal instructions, and environmental claims are not specifically disclosed.
Who is it for
This product fits an adult who specifically wants a single-active R-lipoic-acid capsule and can use it with clinician awareness, particularly when diabetic neuropathy symptoms are already being medically evaluated. Its disclosed formula may also suit someone avoiding dairy, gluten, soy, egg, artificial colors, and artificial sweeteners. The relevant evidence is for alpha-lipoic acid as a possible adjunct for neuropathy symptoms, not for general anti-aging, heart, immune, or blood-pressure treatment. The exact finished product lacks public independent verification.
Who is it not for
It is not a suitable self-treatment for diabetes, numbness, burning foot pain, thyroid disease, or unexplained neurologic symptoms. People taking insulin or other glucose-lowering medicines need clinician guidance because glucose effects and medication adjustment may be relevant. Pregnant or nursing people, children, people preparing for surgery, and anyone taking thyroid medication should seek individualized medical advice before use. It is also not suited to buyers who require a publicly available lot-specific certificate of analysis, third-party certification, or documented contaminant testing before taking a supplement.
Integrity
GeroNova describes the active as Bio-Enhanced sodium R-lipoate, a stabilized salt form intended to address the physical instability of isolated R-lipoic acid. Its manufacturer specification lists 600 mg sodium R-lipoate per capsule, supplying 520 mg R-lipoic acid, with vegetable cellulose and rice flour as added ingredients. The manufacturer also states that the formula excludes several common food allergens and artificial additives. Safety communication is the major concern. FDA's November 18, 2021 warning letter found disease-treatment claims connected to GeroNova R-lipoic-acid products. The present product's broad health positioning should therefore not be treated as proof of treatment benefit. No public lot certificate, independent finished-product certification, or detailed contaminant results were found. No specific bottle-material, recycled-content, recyclability, or disposal claim was found, so its environmental profile cannot be meaningfully verified.

Alpha Lipoic Acid Nerve Support Supplement
Overview
This is a 90-capsule combination supplement intended for nerve-health support. The manufacturer directs adults to take two capsules daily before a meal, but the product record describes three capsules per serving and 30 servings. That conflict makes the actual daily dose and bottle duration unclear. Manufacturer materials identify eight actives, including alpha-lipoic acid, NAC, acetyl-L-carnitine, benfotiamine, thiamine, vitamins B6 and B12, and black pepper extract. The bottle image states 600 mg alpha-lipoic acid per serving. Independent human evidence for oral alpha-lipoic acid at 600 mg is mixed and applies specifically to diabetic peripheral neuropathy, not general nerve symptoms, energy, cognition, or blood-sugar control. Public evidence was not found for finished-product certification, lot-specific testing, contaminant results, or stability testing through expiry.
What works
- The formula lists individual active ingredients rather than hiding them in a proprietary blend, according to manufacturer materials.
- Its stated 600 mg alpha-lipoic acid serving matches a dose studied in adults with diabetic peripheral neuropathy, although clinical results are mixed.
- The manufacturer discloses rice flour and bovine gelatin, which helps identify that this is not a vegetarian capsule.
- The company provides a public product page, contact form, directions, and an FDA structure-function disclaimer. No directly relevant FDA recall or warning letter was located in the checked public sources.
What does not
- The daily-use information conflicts. The manufacturer directs two capsules daily, while the product record states a three-capsule serving and 30 servings.
- No publicly accessible finished-product certificate of analysis, independent certification registry entry, or lot-linked laboratory report was located.
- The product page makes blood-sugar, absorption, cellular-energy, and cognitive-support claims that extend beyond the limited and mixed oral alpha-lipoic-acid evidence for diabetic neuropathy.
- The manufacturer page does not provide prominent, product-specific cautions for diabetes medicines, possible hypoglycemia, surgery, pregnancy or nursing, thyroid concerns, or the cumulative vitamin B6 exposure.
- The 50 mg vitamin B6 amount stated by the product listing is substantial for daily long-term use, and excessive supplemental B6 can itself cause neuropathy.
Who is it for
This product is most relevant to an adult who has discussed diabetic peripheral-neuropathy symptoms with a clinician and wants a multi-ingredient oral formula containing a manufacturer-stated 600 mg alpha-lipoic acid serving. It may also suit someone who specifically accepts bovine gelatin and prefers several disclosed nutrients in one bottle rather than separate capsules. Use should be viewed as adjunctive support, not a substitute for diabetes management, diagnostic evaluation, foot care, or prescribed neuropathy treatment. Confirm the serving size on the physical bottle before using it.
Who is it not for
It is not well suited to people using insulin or other glucose-lowering medicines without clinician guidance, because alpha-lipoic acid may affect blood glucose and the product page lacks prominent tailored precautions. It is also unsuitable for pregnancy or nursing unless a clinician approves it, for children, for people avoiding bovine gelatin, and for anyone with unexplained numbness, weakness, burning pain, or rapidly changing symptoms. People already taking vitamin B6 or multiple supplements should calculate total B6 intake, because long-term excess can contribute to neuropathy.
Integrity
The health-relevant strength is a plainly named multi-ingredient formula, with alpha-lipoic acid, NAC, acetyl-L-carnitine, benfotiamine, B vitamins, and black pepper identified by the manufacturer. However, the evidence base is narrower than the marketing. Oral alpha-lipoic acid has mixed evidence for symptoms of diabetic peripheral neuropathy and has not been shown to control blood sugar. The manufacturer also gives conflicting two-capsule and three-capsule use information, which matters for dose-sensitive ingredients. The company states that products are made in GMP-certified facilities, undergo testing, and use sustainably sourced ingredients. Those are manufacturer statements, not publicly verifiable finished-product certification or lot-level proof. No quantified recycled-content, recyclability, bottle-material, desiccant, or packaging-reduction information was found. No directly relevant FDA recall or warning letter was located in the checked public sources, but no public lot-specific contaminant or stability report was found either.

Alpha Lipoic Acid Softgels 600mg by Micro Ingredients
Overview
This is a 120-softgel R-alpha-lipoic-acid supplement. The labeled daily use is three softgels with food, providing 600 mg R-alpha-lipoic acid and 1 g total fat from the softgel formula, for 40 daily servings. An independent retailer’s label record confirms that dose, serving size, and the coconut-oil softgel format. The manufacturer describes R-ALA as the active R-isomer and says coconut oil is included to support absorption. It also says its products are third-party tested. Those are manufacturer statements, not publicly available finished-product test results. Human evidence for oral alpha-lipoic acid is mixed. It may reduce diabetic neuropathy pain for some people, but evidence is inconsistent, and it has not shown reliable blood-sugar benefit or a role replacing diabetes care.
What works
- The labeled 600 mg daily amount is independently corroborated by a retailer label record.
- The formula is focused on one active ingredient rather than a multi-ingredient nerve or glucose blend.
- The manufacturer provides a concrete three-softgel daily direction and recommends taking it with food.
- The company publicly identifies a California address, email contact, phone contact, and U.S. manufacturing claim.
What does not
- No public, lot-specific certificate of analysis was found for the finished product, including R-isomer identity, potency, heavy metals, microbes, or shelf-life results.
- No listing was found in USP, NSF, BSCG, or similar independent finished-product certification registries.
- Retailer ingredient records conflict. One lists zinc oxide in the softgel, while another lists added color and beeswax, which weakens confidence that non-active ingredients are consistently disclosed online.
- The warning is generic for pregnancy, nursing, and medications. It does not specifically flag blood-sugar monitoring, diabetes medicines, surgery, thyroid concerns, or the rare autoimmune hypoglycemia reports linked to alpha-lipoic acid.
- Broad manufacturer statements about nerve, heart, liver, brain, and energy support extend beyond the mixed human evidence available for this oral product.
Who is it for
This product fits an adult who specifically wants a straightforward R-alpha-lipoic-acid softgel regimen at a labeled 600 mg daily amount, rather than a combination formula. It may be relevant for someone discussing adjunctive symptom support for diabetic peripheral neuropathy with a clinician, because that is the area with some, though inconsistent, human evidence. The 120-softgel package supplies 40 days at the stated use. It is not presented as a treatment for diabetes or a replacement for prescribed neuropathy care.
Who is it not for
It is not suited to people who use insulin or glucose-lowering medicines without clinician guidance, people with unexplained low blood sugar, or anyone with a history of insulin autoimmune syndrome. Pregnant or nursing people, people preparing for surgery, and people managing thyroid disease or multiple medicines need individualized professional review. Avoid it with coconut allergy. It is also unsuitable for vegetarians, vegans, or anyone avoiding bovine gelatin, because the manufacturer says its softgel gelatin is bovine-derived.
Integrity
The product has a simple active-ingredient concept, but its quality claims are not matched by public finished-product documentation. Micro Ingredients says it uses third-party laboratory testing for heavy metals and microorganisms, sources ingredients globally, and manufactures products in the United States. However, no traceable test report for a bottle lot was publicly located, and no recognized independent certification registry entry was found for this product. Coconut oil is a declared ingredient and coconut is identified as a tree-nut allergen by one retailer. The bovine-gelatin softgel is not vegetarian. Online retailer records do not consistently list the same non-active softgel ingredients, so purchasers should rely on the physical label. No product-specific recycled-content, recyclability, package-material, or lower-waste claim was substantiated. No relevant FDA recall or warning letter was identified in the searches performed, but that does not independently validate product quality.

NatureBell Alpha Lipoic Acid Complex 600mg
Overview
This is a gelatin-capsule alpha-lipoic-acid supplement. Its official Supplement Facts image lists a three-capsule daily serving with 300 mg R-alpha-lipoic acid, 300 mg S-alpha-lipoic acid, 100 mg thiamine mononitrate, and 25 mg benfotiamine. It lists silicon dioxide, magnesium stearate, rice flour, and gelatin as other ingredients. The pictured label gives 100 servings per bottle. The 600 mg ALA dose matches doses studied for diabetic neuropathy, but human evidence for oral ALA is mixed and does not support using it for glucose control or instead of medical care. The manufacturer states that the formula is third-party tested, packaged in a UV-protective amber bottle, and double sealed. No public lot certificate, accredited laboratory report, or recognized finished-product certification was located. The official product page also contains inconsistent supply text, stating 250 capsules and 125 days while its current product image and Supplement Facts show 300 capsules and 100 servings.
What works
- The active formula and all listed excipients are disclosed, including the separate 300 mg R-ALA and 300 mg S-ALA amounts.
- The three-capsule serving delivers 600 mg ALA, a dose used in some human diabetic-neuropathy studies.
- The capsule material is identified as gelatin, which is important for dietary suitability and allergen review.
- The manufacturer states that the bottle is amber, UV protective, and double sealed.
What does not
- The product page carries a California Proposition 65 warning for chemicals associated with cancer and reproductive harm, without naming the chemical or providing a lot-specific exposure result.
- No public finished-product certificate of analysis was found to verify potency, R and S composition, heavy metals, microbes, or residual solvents for the bottle a buyer receives.
- No USP, NSF, BSCG, or publicly located ConsumerLab verification for this exact product was found.
- The product does not present clear, product-specific precautions for diabetes medicines, low blood sugar, surgery, pregnancy, nursing, or thyroid concerns.
- The official page conflicts on bottle count and duration, with text stating 250 capsules and 125 days while the product image states 300 capsules and 100 servings.
Who is it for
This product fits an adult who specifically wants a high-count, gelatin-capsule formula that states both R and S alpha-lipoic-acid amounts and also includes substantial thiamine. It is most relevant to someone discussing a 600 mg daily ALA trial with a clinician for neuropathy symptoms, while continuing established diabetes care. The 100-serving label is practical for a person who already tolerates ALA and prefers not to reorder frequently. Its label is not vegan, because the capsule is gelatin.
Who is it not for
It is not suitable for people who need independently certified potency or public lot-specific contaminant results, because neither was located. People with diabetes who use insulin or other glucose-lowering medicines should not self-start it for blood-sugar management, since ALA is not proven to control glucose and may complicate monitoring. Avoid unsupervised use during pregnancy or nursing, before surgery, or with complex medication regimens. It also does not fit vegetarians, vegans, or anyone avoiding gelatin. The California reproductive-harm warning warrants extra caution for those trying to conceive or pregnant.
Integrity
The label clearly identifies the two ALA enantiomers and the added B1 ingredients. It also identifies gelatin, rice flour, silicon dioxide, and magnesium stearate, rather than hiding them in a proprietary blend. The manufacturer describes the formula as non-GMO and free of several major food allergens, but those claims were not independently certified in a public registry. The manufacturer also lists California office addresses, providing a route for product questions. The manufacturer states that the bottle is amber, UV protective, and double sealed, which is directionally appropriate for a light-sensitive ingredient. However, no finished-product stability study through the expiry date was publicly available. No recycled-content, resin code, recyclability instruction, or quantified environmental claim was found. More importantly, this product itself carries a California Proposition 65 warning for cancer and reproductive harm. Public testing details that would identify the chemical and quantify exposure were not located.

Micro Ingredients Alpha Lipoic Acid Supplement
Overview
This is a 300-softgel alpha-lipoic-acid supplement. The labeled adult serving is three softgels daily, providing 600 mg alpha-lipoic acid and 100 servings. An independent retailer reproduces the Supplement Facts and lists MCT oil from coconut, plus gelatin, glycerin, and purified water in the softgel. It also identifies coconut as a tree-nut allergen. The 600 mg daily amount corresponds to doses studied for diabetic peripheral neuropathy, but human results are mixed and do not establish blood-sugar control or broad general-health benefits. The manufacturer describes the MCT oil as improving absorption and says ingredients undergo third-party laboratory testing. No public, lot-linked results, named laboratory, or recognized finished-product certification registry entry was located in this review.
What works
- The clearly stated 600 mg daily serving matches an oral dose used in diabetic-neuropathy studies, although benefits remain inconsistent.
- The 300-softgel pouch supplies 100 labeled daily servings, which reduces the need for frequent reordering.
- The independently reproduced ingredient list identifies the active ingredient, MCT oil, gelatin, glycerin, purified water, and coconut allergen.
- The product page carries the required dietary-supplement disease disclaimer and advises consultation with a physician.
What does not
- The label does not state whether the alpha-lipoic acid is R-only or the common R and S mixture, and no assay result confirms either identity or potency.
- The manufacturer's third-party testing claim is not backed by a public certificate of analysis for a purchasable lot, named laboratory, methods, or contaminant limits.
- Pregnancy, nursing, and medication cautions appear in the retailer listing, but prominent product-specific guidance on blood-sugar monitoring, diabetes medicines, thyroid issues, and surgery was not verified.
- Marketing claims for energy, liver, heart, brain, aging, and enhanced absorption are much broader than the established oral human evidence.
Who is it for
This format fits an adult who has specifically discussed alpha-lipoic acid with a clinician and wants a relatively simple, gelatin-based softgel supply at the studied 600 mg daily amount. It may be practical for someone using it as an adjunct for diabetic peripheral-neuropathy symptoms, not as treatment for diabetes itself, and who can tolerate three small softgels daily. The ingredient disclosure is also useful for a buyer who avoids soy, dairy, and gluten but does not avoid coconut or gelatin.
Who is it not for
It is not suited to people with coconut allergy, vegans, or those avoiding gelatin. People who use insulin or other glucose-lowering medicines should not start it without clinician and glucose-monitoring guidance because alpha-lipoic acid can add to hypoglycemia risk. Pregnant or nursing people, people preparing for surgery, and those managing thyroid disease or taking several medicines need individualized advice. It is also unsuitable as a substitute for prescribed diabetes care or for self-treating new numbness, pain, weakness, or other nerve symptoms.
Integrity
The most useful health disclosure is the externally reproduced label. It identifies 600 mg alpha-lipoic acid per three-softgel serving, with MCT oil from coconut and a gelatin, glycerin, and purified-water shell. Coconut is specifically identified as an allergen. Evidence supports only a possible, inconsistent adjunct benefit for diabetic neuropathy symptoms at oral doses including 600 mg daily. It does not support replacing diabetes treatment or expecting reliable glucose control. The manufacturer states that ingredients are third-party tested and calls its operations eco-certified, but this review did not locate a named certifier, a recognized finished-product certification listing, a current lot certificate, or quantified packaging claims. The pouch is a flexible, likely mixed-material package, with no verified recycled-content or U.S. recyclability guidance. Searches of FDA recall and warning-letter material did not identify a matching product-specific action, but public quality documentation remains limited.

Designs for Health Lipoic Acid Supreme - 300mg Alpha Lipoic Acid with Taurine
Overview
This is a 60-count vegetarian capsule supplement intended for once-daily use with a meal. Designs for Health states that each capsule supplies 300 mg alpha-lipoic acid and 500 mg taurine, for antioxidant status, metabolic support, and healthy glucose metabolism. The brand also states it is vegan, non-GMO, and free of gluten, dairy, and soy. Human evidence for oral alpha-lipoic acid is mixed and mainly concerns diabetic peripheral neuropathy at 600 mg daily or more, not this 300 mg daily product. NCCIH reports no demonstrated blood-glucose control benefit in type 2 diabetes. An older NIH label record lists 4 mg biotin per capsule, while a current distributor panel does not, so buyers should verify the Supplement Facts panel on the bottle they receive.
What works
- The one-capsule daily directions make the 60-capsule bottle a 60-day supply when used as labeled.
- The manufacturer clearly states 300 mg alpha-lipoic acid and 500 mg taurine per capsule, without a proprietary blend.
- The manufacturer states the capsule is vegetarian and the formula avoids gluten, dairy, and soy.
- The label identifies Designs for Health as the responsible distributor and provides an adverse-reaction contact number.
What does not
- The 300 mg alpha-lipoic acid dose is below the 600 mg daily dose most often studied for diabetic neuropathy symptoms, and evidence for glucose control is not convincing.
- The product materials do not prominently provide practical warnings for diabetes medicines, low blood sugar, thyroid concerns, surgery, or pregnancy and nursing.
- Current product information conflicts with an older NIH label record on whether 4 mg biotin is included. This matters because biotin can interfere with some laboratory tests.
- No public, lot-specific finished-product certificate of analysis, expiry stability report, or independent certification record for this exact product was located.
Who is it for
This product fits an adult who specifically wants a once-daily alpha-lipoic acid and taurine capsule, prefers a vegetarian formula, and can confirm the actual bottle label before use. It is most suitable as a general supplement for antioxidant or metabolic support expectations that remain modest. A buyer should be comfortable with manufacturer-stated allergen and non-GMO claims, rather than treating them as independent finished-product certification. Its 60-capsule size also suits someone who wants roughly two months of labeled use without a large bottle.
Who is it not for
It is not a substitute for diabetes treatment, glucose monitoring, or evidence-based treatment of nerve pain. People using insulin or other glucose-lowering medicines, those with unexplained low blood sugar, thyroid disease, planned surgery, or autoimmune conditions should discuss alpha-lipoic acid with a clinician first. Pregnant or nursing people should seek clinical advice before using dietary supplements. Anyone having blood tests should show the bottle label to the clinician or laboratory, especially if their bottle lists biotin. Buyers requiring a publicly available lot test report or independently certified potency should choose a product with that documentation.
Integrity
The responsible company and contact information are identified on the label record, and the manufacturer states that this formula is produced in an NSF GMP registered facility. That is a facility-quality claim, not certification of this specific finished product. Searches of the relevant public certification registries did not identify this product as USP Verified, NSF certified, or Certified for Sport. The company states that ingredients are tested through external ISO-certified laboratories, but it does not publicly connect a current bottle lot to assay, contaminant, microbiology, or stability results. Alpha-lipoic acid can cause gastrointestinal effects and may lower blood sugar. Rare insulin autoimmune syndrome with hypoglycemia has also been linked to alpha-lipoic acid. The historical label also lists 4 mg biotin, which can interfere with some laboratory tests. No quantified recycled-content, recycling, refill, or reduced-packaging claim was found for this product, so the environmental profile of its bottle and accessories cannot be verified.




















