10 Best 85 Inch Tv
Please note that we participate in affiliate marketing programs. When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn a commission. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. This comes at no additional cost to you and helps support the resources required to provide valuable content.Advertising Disclosure
Top-rated 85 Inch Tv Comparison
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
Choosing an 85-inch TV
An 85-inch TV is a very large connected display for streaming, broadcast television, movies, sports, gaming, and external devices such as soundbars, receivers, consoles, and computers. At this size, choosing well is less about one headline number than about how the screen performs in the room, how it will be installed, and how clearly the manufacturer documents the exact product.
Start with the room and installation. An 85-inch screen is roughly 74 inches wide in many of the supplied products, and the sets weigh from about 64 to more than 100 pounds depending on the model and whether the stand is included. Check the furniture width, wall structure, cable routes, ventilation space, stand footprint, and the declared VESA pattern. A mount must be compatible with the exact pattern and rated for the complete television and accessories. Anti-tip instructions, secure furniture, and professional installation are especially important where children or pets may climb or pull on furniture.
For picture quality, distinguish independently measured results from manufacturer claims. A stated brightness figure such as 1,000, 3,000, or 5,000 nits does not establish real HDR performance in the delivered 85-inch panel. Independent testing can reveal brightness, contrast, black levels, local-dimming blooming or haloing, viewing-angle loss, reflections, color accuracy, motion blur, and input lag. Results from a smaller version of the same series may be informative, but they do not fully verify the 85-inch screen because panel type, brightness, uniformity, and viewing behavior can vary by size.
Gaming buyers should check the exact HDMI behavior rather than relying on “gaming” language. Look for documented 4K at 120Hz or 144Hz, variable refresh rate, automatic low-latency mode, and the number of HDMI inputs that support those features. Some supplied products provide high refresh rates on only two inputs, while others are limited to 4K at 60Hz. “Motion rate,” frame insertion, interpolation, or a number such as 288Hz may describe processing modes rather than native refresh or actual game input capability.
For health and energy claims, look for a federal EnergyGuide disclosure, measured operating and standby consumption, and active ENERGY STAR certification where applicable. Flicker measurements should identify the test method, and an eye-comfort or flicker certification should be traceable to the exact model in TÜV Rheinland Certipedia or another credible record. Flicker-free operation can matter to sensitive viewers, but it is not proof that a television prevents eye strain, sleep disruption, or disease. Blue-light filtering should not be treated as established medical protection.
For safety and sustainability, an exact-model UL or ETL listing, FCC authorization for wireless functions, and a clean CPSC recall search provide stronger evidence than an unverified badge or a general compliance statement. EPEAT registration can substantiate environmental criteria, while manufacturer repair information, parts support, firmware availability, packaging disclosures, and take-back or recycling arrangements address the television’s longer life and end of life. Smart TVs also deserve privacy review: check viewing-data controls, advertising identifiers, microphone settings, update policies, and whether essential inputs and basic functions remain usable without an account or after software changes.
Recurring cautions in the supplied reviews are substantial installation and tip-over risks, insufficient furniture or improper wall mounts, and the need for more than one person to move or install these screens. Several products also have unverified exact-model electrical listings, energy records, eye-comfort certifications, or independent picture measurements. Motion blur, blooming, reflections, narrow viewing angles, and limited HDR brightness recur among tested sets. No single category-wide contraindication was found, but buyers should not treat a large screen, a high refresh number, or a certification-style claim as a substitute for exact-model documentation and a safe installation plan.
Integrity
The scores below compare the supplied products on the review topics. A higher score reflects stronger evidence and fewer identified gaps for that topic; it does not guarantee that every buyer will experience the same picture, comfort, or installation result.
HHealth & Safety
Electrical and physical safety
This measures credible electrical or fire-safety listing, safe construction, and the absence of unresolved recalls. It matters because an 85-inch television combines mains electricity with a large, heavy structure. Among the supplied products, stronger scores generally accompany clearer safety documentation and no identified safety action, while lower scores reflect missing exact-model UL or ETL confirmation, FCC records, or other public verification.
Safe stand and wall mounting
This measures model-specific weight, VESA pattern, stand, mount, anti-tip, and installation guidance. It matters because a falling 85-inch television can cause serious injury and property damage. Higher-scoring products provide concrete mounting dimensions, hardware, weight, and stability instructions; lower-scoring products have conflicting patterns, incomplete manuals, or less certain installation information. A good score still requires a correctly rated mount and secure structure.
Eye-comfort claims backed by evidence
This measures whether flicker, blue-light, sleep, or eye-comfort language is supported by model-specific testing rather than implied health protection. Higher-scoring examples include independently tested flicker behavior, such as reported high-frequency or flicker-free operation. Lower scores reflect unverified comfort modes or badges. Comfort findings do not establish protection from digital eye strain, sleep disruption, or other medical outcomes.
EEcology
Energy use and efficiency
This measures verified operating and standby consumption, EnergyGuide accuracy, and applicable ENERGY STAR status. It matters because an 85-inch screen can use substantial electricity over years of daily viewing. The supplied products range from a stronger score of 88 for a product with a model-specific 390 kWh yearly EnergyGuide estimate to lower scores where figures conflict, remain unverified, or show high annual use such as 690 kWh.
Materials, repair, and end-of-life responsibility
This measures safer-material practices, packaging, repairability, parts and firmware support, and credible recycling or take-back options. Higher-scoring products combine documented support with recycling or repair pathways; lower-scoring products lack exact-model materials, packaging, parts-duration, or EPEAT information. Recycling access is useful, but it does not by itself prove safer materials or a repairable design.
EEvidence
Measured picture and gaming performance
This measures independent brightness, contrast, dimming, color, viewing angle, motion, input lag, and HDMI gaming behavior. It matters because marketing specifications cannot reveal blooming, blur, reflections, or real latency. Higher-scoring products have independent testing supporting several of these outcomes; lower-scoring products rely mainly on manufacturer claims or tests of a different screen size.
Honest, precise specifications
This measures whether the listing clearly distinguishes native performance from processing modes and accurately states the exact panel, refresh rate, HDR formats, ports, audio, and platform. Higher scores reflect fewer material conflicts. Lower scores in the supplied set include contradictory power, Bluetooth, local-dimming, backlight, USB, or VESA information, which can affect both buying decisions and safe installation.
Independent proof, not badges alone
This measures how much of the product’s safety, energy, environmental, wireless, and performance story is confirmed by public registries or accredited third parties. Higher scores reflect more exact-model verification; lower scores reflect reliance on manufacturer statements, general compliance language, or records that could not be matched to the specific product. A badge without a traceable registry entry is limited evidence.
Privacy, security, and update support
This measures privacy choices, viewing-data controls, microphone handling, advertising settings, and transparent security support. It matters because connected TVs can collect device, viewing, voice, or usage information. Higher-scoring products provide clearer controls or update information; lower scores reflect unresolved collection practices or no dated support commitment. Privacy settings should be reviewed before connecting the TV.
Long-term usability without lock-in
This measures whether inputs, accessibility controls, essential settings, and basic TV functions remain usable through updates, outages, or account changes. Higher scores reflect documented firmware access, support, or continued basic operation; lower scores reflect uncertain support periods or dependence on connected services. This matters for an expensive, difficult-to-replace screen intended to remain useful for years.
Full reviews

Hisense U8QG 85" Mini-LED 4K Smart TV
Overview
This product is an 85-inch, 4K LCD television using a Mini-LED backlight and quantum-dot color layer. It runs Google TV, accepts connected consoles and media devices through three HDMI ports, and can also be wall mounted. Hisense states that this size has a 4.1.2-channel, 82 W speaker system, Wi-Fi 6E, a 165 Hz native refresh rate, and a 600 x 400 mm VESA mounting pattern. Independent testing was performed on the 65-inch U8QG, not this 85-inch unit, though the tester expects most findings to apply. That testing found exceptional HDR and SDR brightness, deep blacks, vibrant color, low gaming input lag, and HDMI support for 4K at 165 Hz. It also found slow pixel transitions, limited off-angle consistency, visible direct reflections, and HDR brightness tracking that can make content brighter than intended. The listing's claimed local-dimming figure is not precise for this size, as independent size documentation identifies 3,168 zones for the 85-inch model, not the listed up-to-5,600 figure.
What works
- Independent testing of the U8QG line found unusually strong brightness, deep blacks, and vivid color in both dark and bright rooms.
- Three HDMI ports support HDMI 2.1 bandwidth, and independent testing confirmed responsive 4K 165 Hz and VRR gaming through HDMI.
- The 85-inch size has clearly stated dimensions, weight, dual-leg stand dimensions, and a 600 x 400 mm VESA pattern for installation planning.
- The tested U8QG uses high-frequency 20,000 Hz PWM dimming, which the tester reported was not visibly flickering in normal picture modes.
- Hisense provides an electronics recycling route through MRM and publishes a vulnerability disclosure process.
What does not
- The advertised up-to-5,600 local-dimming claim is not accurate for this 85-inch size. Independent size information identifies 3,168 zones.
- The independently tested 65-inch variant over-brightened much HDR content relative to its intended luminance, which matters for accuracy-focused movie viewing.
- Fast game motion can look less clear because independent testing found slow pixel transitions. VRR and 1080p 288 Hz also do not work through the USB-C display input.
- Independent measurements are from the 65-inch product. Brightness and panel behavior can vary by size, so the 85-inch results are partly extrapolated.
- No exact-model UL or ETL public listing, ENERGY STAR listing, EPEAT registration, or exact EnergyGuide record was located in the checked public registers.
Who is it for
This product suits a buyer with a large, bright family room who wants an 85-inch screen for streaming, sports, console games, or a gaming PC connected by HDMI. The independently tested U8QG platform is especially relevant where high screen brightness is needed to overcome indirect daylight. It also fits an installer who can accommodate the product's 120.4-pound weight with stand, 74.6-inch width, wide two-leg footprint, or a correctly rated 600 x 400 mm wall mount. It is most appropriate for seating concentrated near the center of the screen.
Who is it not for
It is not suited to a household that will place it on a narrow or unstable cabinet, move it without help, or mount it with hardware not explicitly rated for the television's size and installed weight. Wide, side-angle seating is also a weaker fit because independent testing found image quality falls off at more aggressive angles. Accuracy-focused film viewers should account for the reported HDR over-brightening. People highly sensitive to flicker should test it during the return period, despite the measured high-frequency PWM. Privacy-sensitive households should decline the optional viewing-data service and review setup choices carefully.
Integrity
For physical safety, the product is large and heavy, so installation details matter. Hisense specifies a 600 x 400 mm VESA pattern and an approximately 120.4-pound installed weight with the stand. A correctly load-rated mount, secure wall attachment, and careful placement away from edges are important. No exact-product recall was located in the checked CPSC sources. However, an exact public UL or ETL listing was not located, so the electrical certification status could not be independently confirmed from the named public directories. The tested U8QG platform uses 20,000 Hz PWM dimming, reported as not visibly flickering in normal modes, but this is not a health-protection certification. Hisense offers MRM recycling locations for consumer electronics and has a vulnerability reporting process. It also states that some television models receive security updates for at least two years from launch, without confirming a model-specific end date here. No exact-product EPEAT listing, materials disclosure, or public EnergyGuide document was located. The stated 400 W power figure therefore should not be treated as verified typical energy use.

Hisense 85E7SF Cinema Series 4K Smart TV
Overview
This product is an 85-inch, 4K LCD television with a MiniLED backlight, quantum-dot color layer, full-array local dimming, and Amazon Fire TV software. It is intended for large-room streaming, broadcast viewing, and console or PC gaming. Hisense's US product page confirms the exact 85-inch Fire TV product and describes a native 144Hz panel, Dolby Vision support, AI picture processing, and MiniLED backlighting. The manufacturer’s more detailed exact-product specifications list four HDMI inputs, including two HDMI 2.1 ports, VRR, ALLM, a 600 x 400 mm wall-mount pattern, and a 67.2-pound weight with stand. Those are manufacturer statements, not independent lab measurements. No exact-product RTINGS or Consumer Reports test, public ENERGY STAR record, EPEAT registration, or publicly searchable exact-model NRTL safety listing was located. The catalog’s 320-watt power figure also conflicts with Hisense’s 160-watt figure for the matching product.
What works
- Hisense identifies a native 144Hz panel with VRR and ALLM, which is relevant to responsive console and PC play, manufacturer-stated.
- Four HDMI inputs, including two specified as HDMI 2.1, provide room for multiple connected sources, manufacturer-stated.
- The exact product has a declared 600 x 400 mm VESA pattern, installed dimensions, stand footprint, and weight, which are useful for planning a suitable mount or furniture.
- Fire TV provides documented controls for app permissions and several viewing and advertising data settings.
What does not
- No independent exact-product measurements were found for brightness, contrast, local-dimming behavior, color accuracy, viewing angle, or input lag.
- No public exact-model UL, ETL, ENERGY STAR, EPEAT, or EnergyGuide record was located during the verification work. This is missing proof, not evidence of an unsafe product.
- The catalog record lists 320 watts, while Hisense's matching product specification lists 160 watts. Buyers should confirm the EnergyGuide label on the delivered unit.
- The 85-inch set requires deliberate installation. A compatible mount must support the television's weight and 600 x 400 mm pattern, and the available source material did not provide model-specific anti-tip instructions.
Who is it for
This product suits a buyer furnishing a large viewing room who wants an 85-inch 4K screen for mixed streaming, sports, and gaming, and who can measure the wall, furniture, and viewing distance before delivery. It is particularly relevant for users connecting more than one console or media device, because Hisense specifies four HDMI inputs and two HDMI 2.1 connections. It also suits a household willing to configure Fire TV privacy settings and keep the television connected for firmware updates.
Who is it not for
It is not well suited to households that cannot use a properly rated wall mount or a stable, wide TV stand, especially homes with young children or climbing pets. The screen is 74.4 inches wide and the installed product weighs 67.2 pounds, so improvised furniture placement is a safety concern. It is also not for buyers who require independently measured picture performance, a published security-support end date, third-party environmental certification, or verified low annual energy use before purchase.
Integrity
For physical safety, the manufacturer provides useful installation particulars for this very large television, including its dimensions, stand footprint, installed weight, and 600 x 400 mm VESA mounting pattern. No exact-product recall or public safety action was identified in the sources reviewed. However, a public exact-model UL or ETL listing was not located, so independent electrical-safety confirmation remains incomplete. No TÜV eye-comfort certification or model-specific flicker test report was found, and the product should not be treated as providing a proven eye-health benefit. Hisense operates a US recycling-information program and support channels for parts and firmware, but no exact-product EPEAT registration, material disclosure, repairability score, or verified packaging data was located. Hisense lists 160 watts operating consumption and standby use at or below 0.5 watts for the matching product, but no US EnergyGuide or ENERGY STAR record was found. Fire TV offers opt-outs for app-usage, viewing, and interest-based advertising settings, although its software collects device and app-use data and neither company published an exact-product security-update end date.

Toshiba Z670R 85" 4K UHD Smart TV
Overview
This is an 85-inch, 4K Mini LED LCD television with quantum-dot color, a 144Hz native refresh-rate claim, four HDMI inputs, two USB ports, Ethernet, Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, and Fire TV software. It is intended for large-room streaming, console gaming, broadcast TV, and wall-mounted or stand-mounted home viewing. The 85-inch model's published manual states a 600 x 400 mm VESA mounting pattern, M8 mounting hardware, 86.6-pound panel weight, 2.1-channel 50W audio, and support for Dolby Vision IQ, HDR10+, HLG, VRR, ALLM, and FreeSync Premium. Those are manufacturer-stated specifications. Independent Consumer Reports testing exists for the 65-inch Z670R version, not this exact 85-inch size, and found very good picture quality and sound, excellent motion, and 13.5 ms input lag. No exact-model EnergyGuide, ENERGY STAR, EPEAT, UL, ETL, or FCC public record was located in this review.
What works
- Independent testing of the 65-inch Z670R found very good overall picture quality, excellent motion performance, and 13.5 ms input lag.
- The published model documentation specifies four HDMI ports, two USB ports, Ethernet, and a native 144Hz panel with VRR and ALLM, useful for varied source devices and compatible gaming hardware.
- The stated 600 x 400 mm VESA pattern, M8 hardware, and 86.6-pound panel weight give wall-mount buyers concrete compatibility information.
- Fire TV provides controls to turn off device usage data, app usage data, interest-based ads, and supported-app viewing-data sharing.
- TVS REGZA provides a US recycling route through its linked MRM drop-off program.
What does not
- No exact-model public UL, ETL, ENERGY STAR, EPEAT, FCC, or EnergyGuide record was found. This is missing independent proof, not evidence of a defect.
- The exact 85-inch version has not received a public independent picture, brightness, local-dimming, or gaming review located here. The available laboratory evidence is from the smaller 65-inch version.
- The light-sensor eye-strain language is manufacturer-stated, with no exact-model TÜV eye-comfort certification or flicker measurement report located.
- An 85-inch, 86.6-pound panel needs two-person handling and a wall mount rated for both the television and the installed wall structure. The mount is not included.
- Only a one-year manufacturer warranty is stated, and no public software-support end date or repair-parts commitment was located.
Who is it for
It suits a buyer furnishing a large viewing room who wants an 85-inch 4K LCD set for mixed streaming, live TV, and console or PC gaming. The documented 144Hz, VRR, ALLM, four HDMI inputs, Ethernet connection, and large-panel Mini LED format are practical for a multi-device setup. It also fits a household that will use Fire TV features but is willing to review its privacy settings after setup. Wall mounting is appropriate only where the installer can verify the wall structure and mount load rating.
Who is it not for
It is not suited to a one-person installation, a narrow or unstable television stand, or households where young children could pull on accessible furniture. This large panel requires deliberate stand placement or professional wall mounting with a correctly rated mount. It is also a weaker fit for buyers who require independently published exact-model brightness, flicker, energy-use, safety-listing, repairability, or long-term update evidence before purchase. Privacy-sensitive households should avoid relying on default Fire TV settings and should disable unwanted data-sharing options.
Integrity
The installation information is useful but incomplete for a television this large. Published documentation identifies the 600 x 400 mm VESA pattern, M8 hardware, and 86.6-pound panel weight, and advises a VESA-compatible mount and professional installation. No exact-model CPSC recall was located in the review, but no exact public UL or ETL listing was located either. That means the absence of a recall should not be treated as independent certification. There is a manufacturer-linked US recycling path through MRM drop-off locations. However, no exact-product EPEAT registration, materials disclosure, packaging disclosure, repair-parts plan, or verified EnergyGuide and ENERGY STAR record was located. The stated 320W power figure is not a measured annual-energy result. Fire TV offers privacy controls for usage, app, advertising, and participating-app viewing data, but the product has no public software-support end date.

TCL 85 Inch QM8L Mini-LED QLED TV
Overview
This is an 85-inch, 4K Google TV with a 144Hz LCD panel, Mini LED local dimming, Wi-Fi 6, an over-the-air tuner, and four HDMI 2.1 inputs. It weighs 91.7 pounds with its stand and uses a 600 x 500 mm VESA pattern. TCL lists a voice remote, stands, power cable, and a one-year limited warranty in its product documentation. The strongest independently measured evidence comes from testing of the same QM8L series, with results stated to apply to the 85-inch version. Testing found exceptionally high SDR and HDR brightness, deep blacks, limited haloing, and very low input lag. It also found middling direct-reflection handling, rapid image degradation from side seats, slow pixel response for fast games, and poor HDR accuracy. TCL advertises up to 6,000 nits and 4,000-plus zones for the series, while independent size data lists 3,200 zones for this size.
What works
- Independent testing supports very high brightness for daytime and HDR viewing.
- Independent testing found deep blacks and limited haloing around bright objects on dark scenes.
- Four HDMI 2.1 inputs support 4K at 144Hz, according to TCL's product sheet.
- The official documentation provides exact weight, VESA pattern, screw size, and professional-installation guidance.
What does not
- Independent testing found poor HDR accuracy and said HDR cannot be fully calibrated, which matters for viewers focused on creative intent.
- Independent testing found slow pixel response, so fast competitive games can look blurrier than the low input lag suggests.
- Picture quality declines quickly from side seating, which is a real limitation for wide living-room layouts.
- TCL's exact product sheet leaves EnergyGuide and annual kWh fields as TBD, so operating energy use is not independently verifiable.
Who is it for
This product suits a household that needs an 85-inch screen in a bright, front-facing living room and expects to connect several modern sources. The measured brightness, strong local dimming, deep blacks, and four high-bandwidth HDMI inputs fit daytime sports, HDR films, consoles, and a gaming PC. It also suits an owner who can plan professional wall installation or use a furniture base that is broad, level, and structurally capable of supporting a 91.7-pound television with stand.
Who is it not for
It is not well suited to homes with broad sectional seating or frequent off-angle viewing, because independent testing found the image degrades rapidly from the sides. It is also a poor fit for buyers who require highly accurate HDR out of the box or after calibration, and for fast competitive players sensitive to motion blur. Households with young children, climbing risks, unstable furniture, or no secure wall structure should not treat installation as a casual one-person task.
Integrity
TCL's US manual provides electrical, heat, ventilation, water, cable, and mounting warnings. TCL also states that the series meets ETL/UL and FCC requirements, but an exact-model record in the public UL or ETL directories was not located during verification. The documentation calls for professional wall installation. At 85.8 pounds without the stand, it needs a compatible mount, correctly selected fasteners, and a properly anchored wall structure. The manual includes Eye Health Protection settings with adaptive brightness and a blue-light filter, including language that it can protect eyes. No exact-model TÜV eye-comfort or flicker record was located. Human systematic-review evidence has not shown meaningful digital-eye-strain relief from blue-light filtering, so this is best treated as a viewing-preference setting. TCL offers a US recycler lookup and packaging recycling labels, but the official sheet still lists EnergyGuide and kWh fields as TBD, apart from a claimed below-0.5-watt standby figure.

Hisense U6SF Pro 85" Mini-LED 4K Fire TV
Overview
This is an 85-inch, 4K Mini-LED LCD television with a quantum-dot color layer, full-array local dimming, Fire TV software, four HDMI inputs, and a built-in 2.1-channel speaker system. It is intended for room-scale streaming, broadcast viewing, and console or PC gaming. The panel measures 74.4 inches wide and weighs 68.3 pounds without its stand, according to retailer specifications independently matching the product identity. Hisense states that this exact product has a native 144Hz refresh rate, 48Hz to 144Hz variable refresh rate, automatic low-latency mode, two HDMI 2.1 inputs, Dolby Vision IQ, HDR10+ Adaptive, and a glare-reducing screen treatment. Those picture and gaming claims have not yet been corroborated by a published laboratory review of this exact 85-inch unit. Its exact EnergyGuide label is independently available and estimates 390 kWh of electricity use per year.
What works
- The exact product has a federal EnergyGuide label estimating 390 kWh yearly electricity use and $63 annual energy cost at the label assumptions.
- The 600 by 400 mm VESA pattern, 68.3-pound bare-TV weight, and stand dimensions are documented by an independent retailer, helping buyers select a properly rated mount and furniture.
- Hisense documents native 144Hz operation, variable refresh rate from 48Hz to 144Hz, automatic low-latency mode, and two HDMI 2.1 inputs for compatible gaming equipment.
- A two-year limited manufacturer warranty is stated in Hisense documentation.
- Hisense offers consumer electronics recycling information through MRM collection programs.
What does not
- No exact-product UL, ETL, ENERGY STAR, EPEAT, or TÜV eye-comfort registry record was located in the public registries reviewed. This is missing independent proof, not evidence that the product is unsafe.
- No independent lab measurements were located for brightness, contrast, blooming, color accuracy, input lag, viewing angle, or flicker on this exact 85-inch product.
- At 85 inches and about 69 pounds with the stand, fall prevention matters. Use the wider leg position where practical, stable furniture, or a VESA mount rated for the TV and its installation surface.
- The smart TV privacy policy says connected-device information can include audio information used with automated content recognition and programming or app-usage data for analytics and marketing. Controls and support duration are not model-specific in the reviewed material.
- Hisense provides firmware support and parts access pathways, but does not publish a defined security-update or software-support end date for this product.
Who is it for
It suits a buyer furnishing a large living room, game room, or dedicated media space who needs an 85-inch 4K screen and can safely accommodate a 74.4-inch-wide television. It is particularly relevant for users with a compatible console or PC who value the manufacturer-stated 144Hz mode, variable refresh rate, automatic low-latency mode, and two HDMI 2.1 ports. It also fits households that want Fire TV built in and can accept connected-TV data practices after reviewing the available privacy settings.
Who is it not for
It is not suited to a household without a stable, sufficiently wide media console or a correctly rated wall mount installed into an appropriate wall structure. Young children, climbing risks, narrow furniture, and unsecured cords raise the importance of professional installation or robust anchoring. It is also a poor fit for users who require published third-party measurements before relying on glare, contrast, color, flicker, or gaming-lag claims. Privacy-sensitive households should avoid it unless they are comfortable configuring Fire TV and connected-device data controls.
Integrity
The concrete energy evidence is strong for this screen size. The exact federal EnergyGuide label estimates 390 kWh per year and $63 per year using 16 cents per kWh and five hours of daily use. Actual energy use will rise or fall with brightness settings, HDR viewing, gaming, and daily hours. No exact-product ENERGY STAR listing was located in the registry review, so the EnergyGuide label should not be read as an ENERGY STAR certification. For physical safety, the product has a documented 600 by 400 mm VESA pattern and a roughly 69-pound installed weight, but it needs a mount with adequate load rating and wall compatibility or stable furniture. No recall for this exact television was located. Hisense provides an MRM recycling pathway for consumer electronics, including televisions, and links to collection locations. No exact-product EPEAT registration, materials disclosure, repairability score, or TÜV eye-comfort certification was located.

Sony 85-Inch 4K Ultra HD BRAVIA LED Smart TV (K-85S30)
Overview
This is an 85-inch, direct-lit LED 4K television for large-room viewing, streaming, broadcast reception, and basic console use. It uses Google TV, includes a stand and voice remote, supports HDR10, HLG, and Dolby Vision, and accepts 4K signals at up to 60 Hz. Sony also specifies four HDMI inputs, 20 W total speaker output, 0.5 W standby draw, and a 400 x 400 mm wall-mount pattern. Independent testing of the BRAVIA 3 series confirms it is a basic 60 Hz design without HDMI 2.1 bandwidth, variable refresh rate, or local dimming. The independently reviewed 85-inch version is identified as a VA-panel variant, although the laboratory review was performed on the 75-inch model. That testing found adequate SDR brightness for ordinary lit rooms, but weak HDR impact, limited direct-reflection handling, and restricted modern gaming support.
What works
- Sony provides model-specific dimensions, stand information, 400 x 400 mm mounting compatibility, and a 96.1 lb screen-only weight for installation planning.
- The supported 4K 60 Hz HDMI formats, Dolby Vision, HDR10, HLG, Google TV, and four HDMI inputs are documented in Sony's exact-product specifications.
- Sony support published a North American firmware update on April 7, 2026, which is concrete evidence of continuing software maintenance.
- The federal EnergyGuide label reports 690 kWh per year and $111 estimated annual electricity cost, giving buyers a standardized operating-energy figure rather than a vague efficiency claim.
What does not
- This is not a modern high-frame-rate gaming display. Independent testing reports no HDMI 2.1 bandwidth or variable refresh rate, and Sony specifies 4K input only up to 60 Hz.
- Independent testing found no local dimming, weak black levels, and sub-par HDR brightness, so dark-room HDR movies will not show strong highlight contrast.
- Energy use is disclosed, but 690 kWh per year is substantial in absolute terms for one household television. Sony does not list this model as ENERGY STAR compliant in its specifications.
- Sony's specifications refer to UL and cUL power requirements, but an exact product listing could not be independently confirmed in the public UL or ETL directories reviewed. No exact-model EPEAT registration was located.
Who is it for
It suits a household that needs an exceptionally large screen for cable, broadcast, streaming, and casual 60 Hz console play, and that can plan a two-person installation or use qualified installers. It is also practical for buyers who want Google TV, Dolby Vision compatibility, four HDMI inputs, and clear Sony-published wall-mount dimensions. The best fit is a moderately lit family room where screen size and ordinary SDR viewing matter more than high-impact HDR, wide seating angles, or advanced PC gaming features.
Who is it not for
It is not well suited to competitive console or PC players who need 4K at 120 Hz, variable refresh rate, or HDMI 2.1 bandwidth. It is also a poor fit for dark-room movie viewers who are sensitive to gray-looking blacks and limited HDR highlight impact. Households with narrow furniture, unstable stands, small children, climbing risks, or no safe wall-mount plan should not treat the large screen as a casual setup. At 96.1 lb without its stand, it needs a mount rated for the load and the specified pattern.
Integrity
For physical safety, Sony provides a product-specific support page, safety documents, installation material, a 400 x 400 mm VESA pattern, and the screen-only weight. Those details are useful for reducing avoidable lifting and mounting mistakes. Sony's specifications reference UL and cUL electrical-market requirements, but the exact product's safety listing was not independently confirmed through the public certification directories reviewed. No current exact-model CPSC recall was located in the review. The federal EnergyGuide label gives this large television a 690 kWh annual electricity estimate, based on five hours of daily use, with an estimated yearly cost of $111 at 16 cents per kWh. Standby is manufacturer-stated at 0.5 W. Sony reports zero mercury content and operates a U.S. recycling-location program using R2 or e-Stewards certified recyclers. Repair support, manuals, replacement-parts access, and recent firmware updates exist, but no public long-term update commitment or exact-model environmental certification was found.

iFFALCON 85-Inch U85 Series QD-Mini LED 4K TV
Overview
This is an 85-inch, 4K Mini LED LCD television with Google TV, a supplied tabletop stand, four HDMI inputs, two USB ports, and a 2.1-channel 50 W speaker system. It is intended for very large living rooms, games rooms, offices, or commercial displays, although commercial warranty coverage is shorter than household coverage. Its US quick-start guide independently confirms that HDMI inputs 1 and 2 accept up to 4K at 144 Hz, while inputs 3 and 4 are limited to 4K at 60 Hz. The manufacturer also states 1,000-nit HDR brightness, a VA panel, 93% DCI-P3 color coverage, local dimming, Dolby Vision IQ, and 50 W audio, but exact-model laboratory picture measurements were not found. The documentation provides unusually concrete instructions for handling and mounting this large screen.
What works
- The US guide documents two inputs capable of 4K at 144 Hz, useful for a high-refresh gaming device or PC.
- The supplied US installation guide gives model-specific stand, stability, VESA, screw, and professional-installation instructions for the 85-inch screen.
- The guide identifies a 600 x 400 mm wall-mount pattern, M8 x 20 mm mounting screws, and a mount capacity of at least five times the television's net weight.
- Manufacturer documentation describes local recycling options in many areas and How2Recycle packaging labels.
- The brand privacy notice says automatic content recognition data collection can be controlled in the TV settings.
What does not
- No exact-model UL or ETL product listing, ENERGY STAR record, US EnergyGuide label, EPEAT registration, or FCC equipment-authorization record was located in the checked public registries.
- No independent exact-model review with measured brightness, contrast, local-dimming behavior, viewing angle, color accuracy, or input lag was found.
- The manufacturer frames low-blue-light and related modes as eye-health protection, while also disclaiming medical use. Human evidence does not establish blue-light filtering as prevention for digital eye strain.
- A Google Account, iFFALCON or TCL account, and broadband are stated as requirements for smart features. The brand does not publish a defined security-update support period.
- The documentation describes warranty repair and recycling, but does not provide parts availability, repair manuals, hazardous-material disclosures, or verified recycled-content information.
Who is it for
This product suits a household, meeting room, or game room that has space for an 85-inch screen and can arrange careful installation. It is particularly relevant where one or two consoles or a gaming PC need documented 4K at 144 Hz capability through HDMI inputs 1 and 2. It also fits users who want Google TV streaming and are comfortable managing account setup, network access, and privacy settings. Wall mounting should be planned with a professional installer and an appropriately rated 600 x 400 mm mount.
Who is it not for
It is not suited to homes with climbing children, unstable furniture, or no practical way to anchor or professionally mount a very large screen. The supplied guide warns that unsecured televisions can cause severe injury or death in a fall. It is also a poor fit for buyers who require independently measured picture performance, an independently listed US electrical-safety certification, verified low operating energy, or a published multi-year security-update commitment. Privacy-sensitive users who do not want connected viewing-data collection should avoid smart setup unless they can review and change the relevant settings.
Integrity
The US guide includes a detailed stability warning, stand-installation directions, a specific 600 x 400 mm mounting pattern, and a professional-installation instruction. It also states FCC Part 15 Class B compliance for the U85 series. Public searches did not identify an exact-model UL or ETL listing or a relevant CPSC recall, but the absence of a public record is not equivalent to a safety certification. The manufacturer says its eye-care modes include low blue light and are meant for comfort, not medical treatment. That qualification matters because systematic reviews do not show that blue-light filtering prevents digital eye strain. For end of life, the guide says local drop-off recycling may be free in many areas and points to packaging recycling labels. No US EnergyGuide, ENERGY STAR, EPEAT, materials disclosure, or repair-parts commitment was located. Use an R2 or e-Stewards certified recycler when the television reaches end of life.

Samsung 85" Mini LED M70H 4K Smart TV
Overview
This is an 85-inch, 4K LED LCD smart television with a Mini LED backlight, three HDMI inputs, Wi-Fi 5, Bluetooth 5.3, Tizen software, a basic two-foot stand, and a 20 W two-channel speaker system. Samsung documents a 60 Hz native panel, 4K input capped at 60 Hz on every HDMI port, 400 x 300 mm VESA mounting, and a 63.7 lb installed weight with its stand. Independent testing of the same M70H series, stated to apply to the 85-inch version, found very low input lag but poor brightness, no local dimming, blurry motion, and no true 120 Hz display mode. Its claimed DLG 120 Hz setting accepted a 1080p 120 Hz signal but dropped every second frame in testing. Samsung publishes a 0.5 W standby figure, while the product EnergyGuide documentation reports 412 kWh annual energy use.
What works
- Very low input lag was independently measured, which helps responsiveness for 60 Hz console or casual PC play.
- The TV retains HDMI-device and over-the-air television use without a Samsung account, according to Samsung's exact-model documentation.
- The manufacturer provides exact mounting data, including the 400 x 300 mm VESA pattern, stand footprint, and set weight.
- Samsung states that 2026 smart TVs receive up to seven years of One UI Tizen upgrades and seven years of security updates from launch.
What does not
- Independent testing found that the advertised 120 Hz DLG mode does not display 120 distinct frames, it drops every second frame.
- The Mini LED description does not mean local dimming here. Independent testing found no local-dimming feature, with washed-out dark scenes and weak HDR impact.
- The panel flickers at 120 Hz in most picture modes below maximum brightness, which may be uncomfortable for flicker-sensitive viewers.
- The connected-TV privacy experience warrants caution. Texas filed a pending lawsuit alleging Samsung's smart-TV consent and opt-out paths for viewing-data collection are deceptive and excessively difficult.
- Annual energy use is listed as 412 kWh, a substantial operating load for a home display. California retail listings also carry a Proposition 65 warning, without identifying the relevant chemical in the accessible listing.
Who is it for
It suits a buyer who specifically needs an 85-inch screen for a dim or light-controlled room, watches ordinary streaming or broadcast television, and wants a conventional HDMI-connected display that can still work without a Samsung account. It also fits installations where the furniture or wall mount can safely accommodate a 74.4-inch-wide, roughly 64 lb television and the documented 400 x 300 mm VESA pattern. Casual 60 Hz gaming can benefit from the independently tested low input lag, provided crisp fast motion is not the priority.
Who is it not for
It is not suited to competitive console or PC players expecting genuine 4K 120 Hz output, because all HDMI inputs are specified for 4K 60 Hz and independent testing found the DLG 120 Hz mode discards alternate frames. Avoid it for bright, sunlit rooms, movie viewing centered on deep blacks, or wide-group seating, because independent testing found weak brightness, poor reflection handling, no local dimming, and a narrow viewing angle. Flicker-sensitive viewers should be cautious because most nonmaximum-brightness modes used 120 Hz backlight flicker in testing. Homes with children should use a correctly load-rated wall mount or stable furniture and follow the installation instructions.
Integrity
For physical setup, Samsung documents the 400 x 300 mm VESA interface, stand dimensions, and weight, which are useful facts for selecting a mount that is rated for the television and installed into suitable wall structure. No exact-model UL, ETL, FCC, or ENERGY STAR registry record was located in the verification work, and no exact-model CPSC recall was identified. The available California retail listings carry a Proposition 65 warning, but the accessible warning did not specify a chemical or exposure route. The television's EnergyGuide documentation reports 412 kWh per year and Samsung states 0.5 W standby consumption, with Eco Sensor, auto power saving, and auto power-off features. There was no exact-model EPEAT registration found. Samsung offers long software support, including a stated seven years of security updates for smart TVs launched from 2023 onward, which can reduce premature replacement. Privacy remains a health-adjacent concern, since the smart features require consent choices and a pending Texas action alleges that viewing-data and ad-tracking opt-outs are unnecessarily difficult.

TCL 85 Inch T7 Series 4K QLED TV
Overview
This is an 85-inch, 4K QLED smart television with Google TV, Wi-Fi and Bluetooth connectivity, four HDMI inputs, and a stated 2.1-channel, 40-watt speaker system. It is intended for large-room streaming, console use, and PC gaming. Independent product-index and retail records corroborate the 85-inch 4K format, Google TV platform, QLED display type, and 144Hz refresh-rate claim, but no exact-model laboratory picture or input-lag testing was located. The manufacturer-stated feature set includes Dolby Vision, HDR10+, HLG, AirPlay 2, Google Cast, and Game Accelerator 288. Its documentation trail is unusually thin for a current U.S. television. TCL's present U.S. catalog does not list this T7 model, and no exact-model EnergyGuide, ENERGY STAR, EPEAT, UL, or ETL public record was located. Mount specifications also conflict across sources, so installation details need confirmation from the product's supplied manual and rear-panel labeling.
What works
- The 85-inch 4K QLED format and 144Hz refresh-rate claim are corroborated by independent product and retailer records.
- Four HDMI inputs, including a stated eARC connection, support a console, media player, receiver, and other wired equipment.
- Google TV provides mainstream app access, Google Cast, and AirPlay 2 according to the stated product specifications.
- TCL offers a U.S. electronics recycling locator and How2Recycle guidance for its television packaging.
- TCL documents TV-level advertising-ID controls and automatic security or safety updates in its privacy policy and software terms.
What does not
- No exact-model laboratory measurements were found for brightness, contrast, local dimming, color accuracy, input lag, or HDMI bandwidth behavior.
- No exact-model EnergyGuide, ENERGY STAR, EPEAT, UL, or ETL public listing was located during verification.
- Mount information is inconsistent. One source reports 400 by 300 mm VESA, while catalog-derived listings report 600 by 400 mm.
- The product documentation does not state a defined security-update period or long-term app-support commitment.
- TCL's standard 2025 television warranty is one year for non-commercial parts and labor coverage.
Who is it for
It suits a household that has a genuinely large viewing space, can place an 85-inch screen about 74 inches wide on a stable stand or properly engineered wall mount, and wants one display for streaming, sports, console gaming, and PC use. The stated 144Hz panel and VRR-oriented gaming mode are most relevant to players with compatible sources. It also fits buyers comfortable using Google TV, Google account services, and connected-TV privacy settings, rather than treating the screen as a disconnected display.
Who is it not for
It is not suited to a household that cannot verify the wall-mount pattern from the unit itself before installation. An 85-inch panel should not be mounted from conflicting web specifications, or lifted and installed by one person. It is also a poor fit for viewers who need independently measured HDR brightness, black level, wide-angle behavior, calibration accuracy, or gaming latency before choosing a screen. Privacy-sensitive users who do not want connected-TV data collection, voice-assistant processing, or account-based services should prefer a simpler disconnected display setup.
Integrity
No exact-product recall or CPSC safety warning was located in the U.S. search performed. A compatible Wi-Fi module is associated with an FCC authorization, but that does not substitute for a publicly verifiable, exact-product electrical-safety listing. No UL or ETL record for this television was found. The lack of a located exact-model EnergyGuide or ENERGY STAR record also leaves operating and standby electricity use unverified. There is no exact-model eye-comfort or flicker certification in the evidence reviewed, and the product should not be treated as providing proven eye-health or sleep protection. TCL does provide a U.S. electronics recycling locator and says its television packaging uses How2Recycle labels. Those are useful end-of-life provisions, although no exact-product EPEAT registration, repair-parts commitment, material disclosure, or stated software-support lifespan was found.

Roku Smart TV 2026 – 85-Inch QLED Television
Overview
This is an 85-inch class 4K smart television with a QLED panel, direct-lit backlight, Roku OS, Wi-Fi, Ethernet, Bluetooth, antenna input, and built-in streaming. Roku lists a 84.5-inch viewable diagonal, HDR10+ and HLG support, Dolby Audio, Bluetooth headphone mode, and four HDMI inputs including eARC. These are manufacturer-stated specifications, not independent laboratory results. The product is designed for a large living room or dedicated viewing area. Roku’s model-specific information confirms a 500 by 400 mm wall-mount pattern. Its setup guide instructs owners to assemble the supplied stands on a stable, flat surface, or follow the separate mounting instructions. Setup, streaming, and automatic software updates require internet access, and activation links the TV to a Roku account.
What works
- Roku specifically identifies this product as an 85-inch class 4K QLED model with a 84.5-inch viewable diagonal.
- The manufacturer documents four HDMI inputs, including eARC, plus Ethernet, USB, antenna, optical audio, Wi-Fi, and Bluetooth.
- A clearly stated 500 by 400 mm mounting pattern helps a buyer match a suitably rated wall mount.
- Bluetooth headphone mode can support private listening, according to Roku’s product documentation.
- Roku provides a settings control to disable Automatic Content Recognition for TV inputs.
What does not
- No independent exact-product picture or gaming laboratory review was located, so brightness, contrast, input lag, motion handling, and viewing angles remain unverified.
- The display uses direct lighting rather than a documented local-dimming system, which limits the evidence for strong dark-scene contrast.
- The product’s stated annual energy use is 405 kWh, but an exact-product EnergyGuide, DOE compliance record, or ENERGY STAR listing was not located in the checked public sources.
- No exact-product EPEAT registration, repair-parts commitment, recycled-material disclosure, or end-of-life program documentation was located.
- Turning off Automatic Content Recognition does not stop Roku’s collection of all streaming and interaction data, according to Roku’s privacy policy.
Who is it for
This product suits someone furnishing a large room who wants a very large screen, straightforward streaming, conventional cable or antenna access, and common external-device connections. It is also suited to households that value headphone listening after bedtime, provided the user is comfortable pairing Bluetooth headphones. A careful wall-mount buyer can use the documented 500 by 400 mm pattern, but should select a mount independently rated for the television’s weight and install it into suitable structural support. It also fits users willing to set up a Roku account and connect the TV to the internet.
Who is it not for
It is not well suited to households with young children or unstable furniture if the large screen cannot be securely placed or professionally mounted. The setup material does not provide a detailed anti-tip plan, so installation deserves particular care. It is also a weaker fit for privacy-sensitive users who want streaming use with minimal platform data collection, because disabling input-based recognition does not eliminate other Roku collection. Competitive gamers and critical movie viewers should consider that independent testing was not located for this exact product, and its direct-lit design has no documented local-dimming capability.
Integrity
For physical safety, Roku’s quick-start guide tells owners to build the stand on a stable, flat surface and routes wall mounting to separate instructions. Roku also specifies the 500 by 400 mm mounting pattern. No current CPSC recall matching this product was located in the checked public recall sources. However, no exact-product UL or ETL public listing was located, so independent electrical-safety certification could not be confirmed from a registry. There is no substantiated eye-health or flicker certification for this exact product in the materials checked. Roku’s Smart Picture feature is presented as picture optimization, not medical protection. The stated annual energy use is 405 kWh, but a public EnergyGuide, ENERGY STAR entry, and exact EPEAT registration were not located. Roku does provide Automatic Content Recognition controls, yet its policy says disabling that feature does not stop all collection associated with streaming activity and device use.




















